Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 01:26 PM   #1
DollaTwentyFive
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Parts Unknown
iP5: Call issues while in Verizon LTE coverage

I am having an intermittent problem and I was hoping to get some advice.

A little background - I have had Verizon as a carrier since the company was formed in 2000. Prior to that I was a subscriber of one of their legacy carriers. I mention this because, although I have tested the other carriers occasionally, where I live, work and travel, I find Verizon to be the best carrier for me hands-down.

Up until the iP5 launch day, I had a 4S and a 4 before that. My wife now has the 4S. When the iPhones were 3G only, I never had a signal issue. I never missed calls and I never dropped calls and I never had an issue placing calls.

Since having the iP5, I have been having missed call issues and, at times, have been unable to place calls. What I mean is that the phone will not ring and I will just receive a voicemail notification. People tell me that when they call me, the call goes straight to voicemail. This even though the phone is on, not in airplane mode and in a good signal area.

Also, there are times when I go to place a call and the call will not complete. When I press Call, it switches to the call screen, where it stays for about 30 seconds, the call fails and my signal indicator switches to "Searching" and it takes about another 30 seconds to pick up a signal before I am able to place a call again. This can happen when my wife is standing right next to me with 5 bars of 3G signal.

Here I what I have done/researched/attempted so far.
- These issues only happen when the phone is on LTE. The LTE signal is good and not marginal. By that I mean at least 4 bars.
-If I turn LTE off, this issue never happens. I tested this for two weeks. The problem here is why have an iP5 if I have to shut off LTE?
-This never happens with my wife's 3G-only 4S
-I went to the Apple store and they replaced the phone. Still continues to happen.
-I have reset the network settings multiple times
-I have factory reset and reinstalled iOS several times.
-I never drop calls. Only miss them outright or can't place them.

The only thing left that I can think of is potentially a SIM card problem? Does anyone have any experience with a similar issue?

I hesitate to have the phone replaced again because I find it hard to believe I would have the same hardware issues on two separate devices.

With Verizon, LTE is currently used on the iPhone for data only and the voice is handled by the CDMA side of things. So when placing or receiving a call, maybe there is some kind of radio handoff that happens behind the scenes. For example, if I am using LTE to browse the web and I receive a call - the LTE radio has to shut down, allowing for the voice side to deliver the call to me. I can't help but wonder if this handoff is causing the issue in my phone. Perhaps, for some reason, my phone is not managing this properly.

This is why I am thinking SIM card issue. Although - in a Verizon LTE iPhone - what would the SIM card have to do with the voice side of things? Alternately, there could be a problem in the switch with my line. Back in the BlackBerry days, there was in issue in the switch and it caused me many data problems.

Anyway - if anyone has any similar experiences or suggestions, I would love to hear them.
DollaTwentyFive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 02:39 PM   #2
Browns2212
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Seems odd.

I have LTE on my Verizon iPhone 5 and have no calling issues what-so-ever.

What did they tell you when you took the phone in? It seems odd that two different phones would do this, but I would try a 3rd just to be safe.

Outside of that, I don't know, especially if other iPhone 5 owners in your same location are not having the same issues.
Browns2212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:12 PM   #3
corys00
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I know you replaced the phone but did you replace the sim?
corys00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:48 PM   #4
DollaTwentyFive
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Parts Unknown
Apple said that the phone shouldn't be doing that.

Have not replaced my SIM. Actually, that is kind of the theme of the post. I think that will be my next option. The issue is the hour I have to spend on the phone with customer service to talk them into sending me a new SIM. Their first step is always to power the phone off then back on
DollaTwentyFive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:32 PM   #5
corys00
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DollaTwentyFive View Post
Apple said that the phone shouldn't be doing that.

Have not replaced my SIM. Actually, that is kind of the theme of the post. I think that will be my next option. The issue is the hour I have to spend on the phone with customer service to talk them into sending me a new SIM. Their first step is always to power the phone off then back on
I'd make it real simple for them. You've replaced the device, you've done restores, the only thing that hasn't been swapped is the SIM.

How close are you to an Apple store or a corporate store?
corys00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:06 PM   #6
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Turn off LTE and see if that works
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 05:07 PM   #7
corys00
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Turn off LTE and see if that works
He mentioned in the OP that turning off LTE fixes it. Interesting enough LTE is not used for voice, so no idea what's going on there. I still vote for a SIM swap.
corys00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:01 AM   #8
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
If date over LTE is working fine, then it's not the SIM card. The SIM is all or nothing: if it's busted, nothing over LTE will work, not even data.

Since everything else has been ruled out, the issue has to be with Verizon's LTE network in that area. However, good luck in getting them to admit that. Considering they've successfully gotten their users to never consider that the network could be the issue (clearly evidenced in this thread), why would they think of that?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by corys00 View Post
Interesting enough LTE is not used for voice, so no idea what's going on there.
LTE is not used for voice currently, but it still has to be used for initial call setup and device paging. The phone has to know somehow that it's time to switch to CDMA to receive a voice call, and the network has to be informed that the user wants to make a call over CDMA, and that notification initially has to happen on LTE if the phone is currently connected that way.

If that link isn't working, then calls will be missed, and outgoing calls won't go through. Exactly the problem the OP is experiencing.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.

Last edited by scaredpoet; Jan 1, 2013 at 09:08 AM.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:51 AM   #9
DollaTwentyFive
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaredpoet View Post
If date over LTE is working fine, then it's not the SIM card. The SIM is all or nothing: if it's busted, nothing over LTE will work, not even data.

Since everything else has been ruled out, the issue has to be with Verizon's LTE network in that area. However, good luck in getting them to admit that. Considering they've successfully gotten their users to never consider that the network could be the issue (clearly evidenced in this thread), why would they think of that?

----------



LTE is not used for voice currently, but it still has to be used for initial call setup and device paging. The phone has to know somehow that it's time to switch to CDMA to receive a voice call, and the network has to be informed that the user wants to make a call over CDMA, and that notification initially has to happen on LTE if the phone is currently connected that way.

If that link isn't working, then calls will be missed, and outgoing calls won't go through. Exactly the problem the OP is experiencing.
Yes, yes, yes. This is what I was worried about. I was hesitant about the SIM card because data works fine and it shouldn't really impact the CDMA voice side.

I think it is a network issue. Now the struggle is going to be finding out if it is an issue with others in my area or if there is a problem with my MDN/MIN in the switch. As mentioned, Verizon typically has exceptional service and the reps are very slow to acknowledge any network issues.

Maybe it's time to go back to the 4S and just carry an iPad mini around with me. I don't have the patience or the time for a several month tech support battle.
DollaTwentyFive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:20 AM   #10
ReallyBigFeet
macrumors 68030
 
ReallyBigFeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I'm not experiencing this issue myself, but as you'll see from this thread on Verizon's forums, you aren't alone.

Posters who got it fixed all required a back-end Verizon system setting change apparently. You can't fix this yourself, nor does it impact all iP5 owners.
__________________
13.3" MBA 15" MBP Retina Verizon iPhone 6 64gb iPadAir 128g WiFi
ReallyBigFeet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:43 AM   #11
DollaTwentyFive
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReallyBigFeet View Post
I'm not experiencing this issue myself, but as you'll see from this thread on Verizon's forums, you aren't alone.

Posters who got it fixed all required a back-end Verizon system setting change apparently. You can't fix this yourself, nor does it impact all iP5 owners.
Interesting link. Glad to know I am not alone. I will call VZW tech support today or tomorrow.

Funny though when early on in the post there was a Verizon tech support person helping, his first suggestion was to power cycle the phone. Ha ha ha.
DollaTwentyFive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:45 AM   #12
smithrh
macrumors 68020
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
If you call 611 from your phone, you should get pretty good technical support from Verizon.

Be polite but insistent and you *should* get some progress.

Best time to call would be during the day, during the week.
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:11 AM   #13
avanpelt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DollaTwentyFive View Post
Interesting link. Glad to know I am not alone. I will call VZW tech support today or tomorrow.

Funny though when early on in the post there was a Verizon tech support person helping, his first suggestion was to power cycle the phone. Ha ha ha.
Take note of whether the people having the issue are in roughly the same area as you -- even if it's states away. Also, you may want to go to a Verizon or Apple Store in your area to see if you can replicate the problem on other Verizon iPhone 5 handsets.

Starting on the Friday the iPhone 5 was launched, there were people from Texas to South Carolina on Verizon with iPhone 5 handsets reporting that the phones would take about 10 seconds to move data over LTE after coming off an idle (locked) state.

I initially thought I had a defective phone until I saw several others reporting the issue. Then I thought maybe we all had defective handsets until someone reporting the issue in Florida flew to New York and the issue disappeared. People were going to their local Verizon stores to test other iPhone 5 handsets and they all had the same issue. Interestingly, none of Verizon's other LTE handsets had the problem.

Verizon was silent on the issue the entire weekend despite receiving multiple tweets to their support account reporting the problem. The issue started being resolved for some people about 11 AM the Monday following the iPhone 5 launch. It wasn't instantly fixed for everyone at the same time; but everyone reported that the issue was resolved for them by 2:00 or 3:00 PM that day.

So it could very well be a Verizon network issue that they're just not aware of. Get their attention on Twitter and open trouble tickets on the phone and encourage everyone else with the issue to do the same.
avanpelt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:14 AM   #14
The Bogeyman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Under your stairs
Must be a network issue. My phone has excellent call quality. Beats my old BlackBerry hands down.
__________________
Hmmmmmm.....beef with Apple........sounds delicious

Customised Macbook Air 2014 8GB, 512GB, i7, iPad (3rd Generation), Apple TV (3rd gen) iPod Classic 160GB and iPhone 5 in delicious black.
The Bogeyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manhattan Verizon 4G LTE Coverage/Speed prizm iPhone 1 Nov 23, 2012 10:44 PM
AT&T iP5 switches to 4G from LTE when placing a phone call soulvoid iPhone 28 Oct 14, 2012 06:30 PM
Metro PCS 4G LTE on an iP5 Verizon Phone? apierrec iPhone 10 Oct 4, 2012 10:42 AM
Verizon ip5 when making a call ChadRClaussen iPhone 3 Sep 25, 2012 07:18 PM
Verizon lte coverage frunkis54 iPhone 0 Sep 25, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC