Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:12 AM   #1
Samadams12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
RAM won't seat properly....

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and registered to ask this question, sine I've googled and seached a ton and haven't found anything helpful.

I tried upgrading to 8GB ram last night, but the top one won't seat properly. The slot won't pop up, and can't slide it in at a 40 degree angle. The bottom one slid in like it should and I was able to press down and heard the click. But the top one will only go straight in lying flat down, and the gold connectors are still visible, it won't go all the way in.

Any suggestions? I tried pushing it in as hard as I dared without risking a break.
Samadams12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:14 AM   #2
Luis2004
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samadams12 View Post
Hi,

I'm new to the forum and registered to ask this question, sine I've googled and seached a ton and haven't found anything helpful.

I tried upgrading to 8GB ram last night, but the top one won't seat properly. The slot won't pop up, and can't slide it in at a 40 degree angle. The bottom one slid in like it should and I was able to press down and heard the click. But the top one will only go straight in lying flat down, and the gold connectors are still visible, it won't go all the way in.

Any suggestions? I tried pushing it in as hard as I dared without risking a break.
I had a similar problem upgrading. All I can tell you is unless that little slot divider is broken (the part where the gold connectors insert), just use a bit of elbow grease. My bottom slot was a bit hard to push in, but I finally got it.

Last edited by Luis2004; Jan 1, 2013 at 10:19 AM.
Luis2004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:14 AM   #3
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samadams12 View Post
Hi,

I'm new to the forum and registered to ask this question, sine I've googled and seached a ton and haven't found anything helpful.

I tried upgrading to 8GB ram last night, but the top one won't seat properly. The slot won't pop up, and can't slide it in at a 40 degree angle. The bottom one slid in like it should and I was able to press down and heard the click. But the top one will only go straight in lying flat down, and the gold connectors are still visible, it won't go all the way in.

Any suggestions? I tried pushing it in as hard as I dared without risking a break.
Does the original module get into place without problems?
Have you tried swapping the modules? (I mean, trying to put the one that sits properly in the lower slot into the upper one).

Try putting the original modules again. Both of them. You know they'll fit so keep trying until you get it. I can recall finding it a little more difficult to put the second ram module.

The 45 angle isn't that obvious and you end up with several attempts. I also recall having to press a little harder than expected.

But yes, don't press too hard. Be gentle. It'll eventually get in.
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:18 AM   #4
Samadams12
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks guys, got it in finally. I just had to push harder. I was a little hesitant because it looks so fragile, but that's all it needed. Both slots are now recognized in Mac.

Samadams12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:42 AM   #5
donlab
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post

But yes, don't press too hard. Be gentle. It'll eventually get in.
That's what she said.
donlab is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:32 AM   #6
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by donlab View Post
that's what she said.
lol

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samadams12 View Post
Thanks guys, got it in finally. I just had to push harder. I was a little hesitant because it looks so fragile, but that's all it needed. Both slots are now recognized in Mac.

Enjoy now!
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 03:59 PM   #7
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Glad you got it fixed. I had the same problem when I put my new ram in. That top slot... need a lot of elbow grease to go in.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 04:36 AM   #8
Westyfield2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bath, UK.
Mine was a bit harder than most laptops I've opened up, but went in eventually .
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB on 4GEE
iPad 3G+WiFi 64GB
13" MacBook Air (2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB) - 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz, 4GB)
Mac Mini (2.6GHz quad i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD)
Westyfield2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8.1 - why won't it install properly? Dorsey Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Nov 16, 2013 01:17 AM
Screen won't fit properly? pixeldude Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 11, 2013 02:45 AM
iPhone 4s won't charge properly or boot up ninjistics iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Apr 12, 2013 01:03 PM
Why won't Apple properly educate their 'geniuses'? Minhimalism iPhone 31 Nov 29, 2012 06:12 PM
iMac won't boot up properly anymore rhuarc3 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Oct 19, 2012 12:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps