Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:00 PM   #451
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Works for me on my unlimited plan and on my dad's iP5 with the 3gb plan.
__________________
rMBP 15| MBA| riPad| TV| AEBS| 5S|Galaxies
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:05 PM   #452
Astec
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I was told my the chat reps that its not available for grandfathered unlimited plans... FWIW
Astec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:06 PM   #453
shigatashway
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I remember seeing a thread on this a few months back, and was able to get facetime working on my unlimited plan for about a day. As I recall the rollout of FT on unlimited was an error on AT&T's part and they ended up correcting it.
shigatashway is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 03:16 PM   #454
iMas70
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
For some reason, some people can use it over their unlimited plans and others can't. I called AT&T a little while ago. The rep told me that it can't be used if you have an unlimited data plan. But, some people here are able to use it over theirs. Strange...
__________________
iPhone 5 (32GB), iPad 4 (32GB), Apple TV, 2.3 GHz i7 Mac Mini - 16 GB RAM!
iMas70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:39 AM   #455
vietalogy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Not working here on unlimited iPhone 5.
vietalogy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 10:44 AM   #456
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Working on 3gb plan iPhone 5.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:59 PM   #457
saving107
macrumors 603
 
saving107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Jose, Ca
I first noticed this feature started working around Thanksgiving and then the option went away right after. It seems to have returned right before Christmas, so my guess is this is just some gesture by AT&T for the holidays and I don't expect it to last much longer
saving107 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:51 AM   #458
BarryL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
No go on iPad 4 6.0.1. Tried hard reset.

AT&T sucks!!
BarryL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:31 PM   #459
trvsglr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munkypoo7 View Post
Since you're on a tiered data plan, you're capable.

The ones without it seem to be those of us with the grandfathered Unlimited data plans.
I've always had a tiered data plan with my iPhone 5, and Facetime without wifi just started working recently. I tried it a millions times before and when I tried to switch it on I got a pop up message saying to activate it I would have to call AT&T or visit the website.
__________________
16 GB White iPhone 5
16 GB Black iPad mini
Apple TV3
trvsglr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:25 AM   #460
iMrNiceGuy0023
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
This back working for anyone?
iMrNiceGuy0023 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:18 PM   #461
iMas70
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Mine still says to contact AT&T. I have the grandfathered unlimited plan.

Can't FaceTime but can use Skype, OoVoo and other programs. Doesn't make sence.
iMas70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:16 PM   #462
ae82gtm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I'm in the Detroit metro area...my girlfriend's tiered iPhone 5 has facetime over cellular. My unlimited iPhone 4S does not. I'm not happy about that at all.
ae82gtm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:53 PM   #463
CandieB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I'm in Houston on a iP5 with unlimited and it doesn't work for me.
CandieB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:44 PM   #464
ladysman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMas70 View Post
Mine still says to contact AT&T. I have the grandfathered unlimited plan.

.
Same here.
ladysman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:08 PM   #465
Dkorda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladysman View Post
Same here.
Is in working for anyone with Unlimited anymore???
Dkorda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:57 PM   #466
cheezeit
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Still patiently waiting for it to work over cellular
cheezeit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:12 AM   #467
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Image


AT&T appears to be quietly extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular capabilities to all their iPhone customers. Earlier this month, AT&T announced that they would allow any customer "with an LTE device" on a "tiered data plan" to use iOS 6's FaceTime over Cellular feature.

This, however, excluded a number of customers, including those with grandfathered unlimited data plans as well as those with the iPhones 4S. (Note, iOS 6, itself, can only supports FaceTime-over-Cellular on the 4S, 5 and iPad 3rd Gen or higher)

Tonight, Forum user kre62 noticed that both his iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 with unlimited AT&T data plans now support FaceTime over cellular.This finding has been confirmed by a number of users in this discussion thread -- though some users have been unable to activate it so it may still be rolling out to some areas. AT&T had said the original rollout for tiered plans could take 8-10 weeks. Most of the positive responses have been those with the iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited data, but the original poster also had luck with an iPhone 4S.

Some users have had to completely restart their phones for the service to go into effect. There still remains a possibility that this is an oversight on AT&T's part. We are reaching out to AT&T for clarification on their policy.

Article Link: AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers

Why not? the more data you use, the more $ AT&T will make charging for extra data, this is a no brainer to me...
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:18 AM   #468
c1phers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have the 2GB plan, it works sometimes and others doesn't. When I flip the switch it says I have to call ATT to have the proper rate plan. Power cycling the phone turns the setting back on. So anytime I can't facetime over cellular, I have to powercycle and then it works. Very odd, I don't know if its an issue when the phone associates with a different tower or what but its hit or miss. Very frustrating sometimes.
c1phers is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 09:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Access to More Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 163 Nov 24, 2012 11:35 AM
If FaceTime is gone Cellular - is Skype Cellular too? dinapea iPhone 9 Sep 17, 2012 12:09 PM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 12:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC