Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:00 AM   #1
Cjshino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Is it possible to install windows 7 on a 64gb MBA?

also is it hard to get windows 7 in iso form and use the usb method to install it on a MBA?

can i buy windows 7 in iso form already?

Last edited by Cjshino; Jan 1, 2013 at 11:33 AM.
Cjshino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 12:46 PM   #2
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Possible yes, but of course you'll have to manage your storage very carefully to not run out of space. If you have not done it already, try using Monolingual to remove languages you don't use from OS X and save space.

You can download Windows 7 ISOs legally directly from Microsoft's servers. Links are here. You will of course need a valid serial number for activation, which you can get when you buy a boxed copy of Windows 7.
pgiguere1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 02:13 PM   #3
Cjshino
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiguere1 View Post
Possible yes, but of course you'll have to manage your storage very carefully to not run out of space. If you have not done it already, try using Monolingual to remove languages you don't use from OS X and save space.

You can download Windows 7 ISOs legally directly from Microsoft's servers. Links are here. You will of course need a valid serial number for activation, which you can get when you buy a boxed copy of Windows 7.
wow thanks a lot for the info. So basically with that link you gave me i can already download windows 7 but i just need the product key from a boxed version to activate it correct? Then I can transfer the iso from the link to my usb then start the bootcamp app on my mba since i dont need to extract the iso from the dvd from the boxed version i am going to get?
Cjshino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 02:46 PM   #4
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjshino View Post
wow thanks a lot for the info. So basically with that link you gave me i can already download windows 7 but i just need the product key from a boxed version to activate it correct? Then I can transfer the iso from the link to my usb then start the bootcamp app on my mba since i dont need to extract the iso from the dvd from the boxed version i am going to get?
Exactly. You don't need the Windows 7 DVD, just the serial number that comes with it. The Boot Camp Assistant will let you transfer the ISO to your thumb drive along with the latest MacBook Air drivers for Windows 7.

You will simply have to check all 3 checkboxes in this Boot Camp Assistant window:

Then it will ask you to locate the Windows 7 .ISO file, and then you're all set!
pgiguere1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:09 PM   #5
Cjshino
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgiguere1 View Post
Exactly. You don't need the Windows 7 DVD, just the serial number that comes with it. The Boot Camp Assistant will let you transfer the ISO to your thumb drive along with the latest MacBook Air drivers for Windows 7.

You will simply have to check all 3 checkboxes in this Boot Camp Assistant window:
Image
Then it will ask you to locate the Windows 7 .ISO file, and then you're all set!
i need about 5-10gb for windows so how much gb does windows take up? Since i have such limited space. I'll be using more on osx
Cjshino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:24 PM   #6
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjshino View Post
i need about 5-10gb for windows so how much gb does windows take up? Since i have such limited space. I'll be using more on osx
Windows itself is around 6GB, but it depends on your settings.
pgiguere1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:19 PM   #7
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cjshino View Post
i need about 5-10gb for windows so how much gb does windows take up? Since i have such limited space. I'll be using more on osx
Once you install all the updates, drivers, a couple of programs and factor in the pagefile and temporary files you'll eat up space very quickly. I wouldn't even attempt it with less than 32GB even then space will be very tight.

Just my Windows folder takes up 20GB. That doesn't include user or program folders.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 07:03 AM   #8
Quad5Ny
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
If you shrink the Page File, than disable Hibernation and System Restore you can manage with 20GB for Windows (you'll have about 9GB free of the 20).

My Current Boot Camp (Windows 7) Partition:
Quote:
Quad5Ny is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using VirtualBox to install Windows XP on the MBA erutpar MacBook Air 4 Nov 28, 2013 04:24 PM
New 2013 MBA can't install windows 8, partition error jasonj566 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 Nov 15, 2013 01:09 PM
64GB MBA with Bootcamp & Windows XP SP3 - Help please MacWinDual Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Sep 18, 2013 10:59 AM
How to Install Windows 7 on MBA w/ Superdrive Alveezy MacBook Air 2 Jun 27, 2013 07:10 AM
Cannot install Windows 7 via VMWare on MBA mr jnvii Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Jun 25, 2012 05:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC