Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:11 PM   #1
strausd
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Nexus 4 Stock ROM?

Does anyone know where I can find the stock 4.2 or 4.2.1 ROM for the Nexus 4? I tried searching for it but it looks like Google may have taken it off.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:21 PM   #2
Explicitic
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Undecided
You can find them here - http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...nexus-4/occam/
And yes, Google pulled the images off their site a few weeks ago.
Explicitic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:57 PM   #3
onthecouchagain
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explicitic View Post
You can find them here - http://www.randomphantasmagoria.com/...nexus-4/occam/
And yes, Google pulled the images off their site a few weeks ago.
Any reason why? Update coming soon?
onthecouchagain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:23 PM   #4
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by onthecouchagain View Post
Any reason why? Update coming soon?
Because it was a badly written release, filled with bugs would be my guess. I think the only reason Google put it out when they did was because of the Nex4 an Nex10 release dates. They should have shipped with 4.1.2, because 4.2 still isn't ready to this day.
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 08:41 PM   #5
Explicitic
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Undecided
Quote:
Originally Posted by siiip5 View Post
Because it was a badly written release, filled with bugs would be my guess. I think the only reason Google put it out when they did was because of the Nex4 an Nex10 release dates. They should have shipped with 4.1.2, because 4.2 still isn't ready to this day.
Actually, most of the articles regarding the issue think it's to disable LTE connectivity.
Explicitic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:30 PM   #6
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explicitic View Post
Actually, most of the articles regarding the issue think it's to disable LTE connectivity.
If an update is coming soon it needs to be to fix poor battery life.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:12 PM   #7
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
What happened to CM10.1?
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:17 PM   #8
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
What happened to CM10.1?
Had some trouble getting it to work at first. A few installation problems and freezes. Then when I finally got it to work, I realized I had accidentally deleted my stock ROM backup. So now I am just making sure I have an easy backup plan.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:19 PM   #9
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Had some trouble getting it to work at first. A few installation problems and freezes. Then when I finally got it to work, I realized I had accidentally deleted my stock ROM backup. So now I am just making sure I have an easy backup plan.
Oh good that's smart. You should check out AOKP. Just as stable but has more features. You can make a nandroid of CM10.1 just in case you wanna go back.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2025939
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:30 PM   #10
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Oh good that's smart. You should check out AOKP. Just as stable but has more features. You can make a nandroid of CM10.1 just in case you wanna go back.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2025939
What are some of the features it has that CM doesn't? And are there any features that CM has that AOKP doesn't? And I really like the expanded desktop feature on CM. Great when browsing on Chrome and playing games.

----------

And will CWM see a .tgz? Or will I need to convert the image in the link in the second post to a .zip? If so, what is the best way to do that?
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:33 PM   #11
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
What are some of the features it has that CM doesn't? And are there any features that CM has that AOKP doesn't? And I really like the expanded desktop feature on CM. Great when browsing on Chrome and playing games.
AOKP has expanded desktop too. Things off the top of my head that are in CM but not AOKP are:
- no sound + vibrate toggle
- no toggles above the notifications, just the quick toggles but the quick toggles are more configurable
- not all keys on the keyboard have shortcuts just the numbers are shortcuts by pressing and holding

AOKP has:
- configurable nav bar which for me is a HUGE plus
- configurable boot animation
- configurable nab bar ring which is awesome too. It's how I turn my screen off without having to reach for the button.
Those are the major ones I can think of. You have nothing to lose by making a nandroid and trying it for yourself.

I think you can only use zip files with CWM. Why do you have a tgz file? I haven't seen any for the Nexus 4 yet.
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:34 PM   #12
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
This is why i don't bother to install other rom than stock ones!
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:37 PM   #13
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
I think you can only use zip files with CWM. Why do you have a tgz file? I haven't seen any for the Nexus 4 yet.
Well I clicked on the link in the second post. On there, you can download the images for 4.2 or 4.2.1. The problem is that when I download them, it downloads a .tgz and CWM won't recognize it.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:42 PM   #14
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by aziatiklover View Post
This is why i don't bother to install other rom than stock ones!
This is why you're missing out on extra features and even stabler phone + better battery life sometimes

Devs have incorporated Qualcomm fixes for the Nexus 4 kernel which was causing excessive drain while on data. Who knows when Google will incorporate that. Don't really know about the technical details so I can't explain it any further.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Well I clicked on the link in the second post. On there, you can download the images for 4.2 or 4.2.1. The problem is that when I download them, it downloads a .tgz and CWM won't recognize it.
I haven't had to go back to stock yet but I have a nandroid if I ever choose to. I do however have this page bookmarked in case anything goes wrong. Check it out http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010312
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:44 PM   #15
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
This is why you're missing out on extra features and even stabler/better battery life

Devs have incorporated Qualcomm fixes for the Nexus 4 kernel which was causing excessive drain while on data. Who knows when Google will incorporate that. Don't really know about the technical details so I can't explain it any further.

----------



I haven't had to go back to stock yet but I have a nandroid if I ever choose to. I do however have this page bookmarked in case anything goes wrong. Check it out http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010312
No thanx rather have my freetime doing something else than looking to fix bugs for google! This is why my daily driver is an iphone and other os would be for my other numbers.

Funny how battery life/stabler should be there in the first place out of the box!
__________________
ppleholic

Last edited by aziatiklover; Jan 1, 2013 at 10:51 PM.
aziatiklover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:47 PM   #16
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
I haven't had to go back to stock yet but I have a nandroid if I ever choose to. I do however have this page bookmarked in case anything goes wrong. Check it out http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010312
Unfortunately that guide is based on Google hosting the factory image. Their backup, a mirror site, is the same one linked earlier in the post.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:48 PM   #17
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Well I clicked on the link in the second post. On there, you can download the images for 4.2 or 4.2.1. The problem is that when I download them, it downloads a .tgz and CWM won't recognize it.
tgz files are used for Titanium Backup, and I think Odin recognizes them. CWM can only use zip files.

3bs,
Which ROMshave you been using because most AOKP ROMs have toggles in NC and 4.2 allows for toggles in both the NC and when you swipe down from the right side of the screen?

Also no sound+vibrate? Is this just a Nex4 issue? I do not have this issue with the S3. And I assume you are discussing the stock JellyBean Keyboard with alt key settings?

JJust curious if what you are discussing is ROM specific or Nex4 specific. Thanks in advance.
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:50 PM   #18
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by siiip5 View Post
tgz files are used for Titanium Backup, and I think Odin recognizes them. CWM can only use zip files.
So how do I get ROM manager or CWM to recognize the factory images?

EDIT: And all my TitaniumBackup stuff is .tar.gz or .apk.gz. No .tgz.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:53 PM   #19
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Unfortunately that guide is based on Google hosting the factory image. Their backup, a mirror site, is the same one linked earlier in the post.
here: http://forums.androidcentral.com/nex...e-restore.html

damn, nevermind. This thread was linking to google server as well.
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:56 PM   #20
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by siiip5 View Post
tgz files are used for Titanium Backup, and I think Odin recognizes them. CWM can only use zip files.

3bs,
Which ROMshave you been using because most AOKP ROMs have toggles in NC and 4.2 allows for toggles in both the NC and when you swipe down from the right side of the screen?

Also no sound+vibrate? Is this just a Nex4 issue? I do not have this issue with the S3. And I assume you are discussing the stock JellyBean Keyboard with alt key settings?

JJust curious if what you are discussing is ROM specific or Nex4 specific. Thanks in advance.
AOKP has mods for the quick toggles but not the old style CM10 toggles which appear in the main section above the notifications. CM10.1 still has those + the newer style quick toggles.

CM 10.1 Also has one toggle for sound/sound+vibrate/vibrate/silent. AOKP has two toggles, one for silent and one for vibrate. Of course you can still go into settings and turn on sound + vibrate.

Yep I'm discussing the stock jellybean keyboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
So how do I get ROM manager or CWM to recognize the factory images?
Did you have a look at this? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2010312
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:58 PM   #21
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Ya. Take a look at step 3 on C.

They link to Googles servers. Their backup is the same place as post #2 on here, which gives a .tgz instead of a .zip.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:02 PM   #22
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Ya. Take a look at step 3 on C.

They link to Googles servers. Their backup is the same place as post #2 on here, which gives a .tgz instead of a .zip.
Did you keep going through the steps? I don't actually know if there's a way to flash the stock ROM using CWM.

This might be the closest to what you want but I don't think it's completely stock http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2019243
3bs is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:15 PM   #23
siiip5
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by strausd View Post
Ya. Take a look at step 3 on C.

They link to Googles servers. Their backup is the same place as post #2 on here, which gives a .tgz instead of a .zip.
I looked and this was the closest thing I could find, but since it is an OTA zip file, it may just link back to Google servers?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1971169

Google did a pretty good job of wiping the net clean of the stock ROM.
siiip5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:33 PM   #24
strausd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
strausd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
Did you keep going through the steps? I don't actually know if there's a way to flash the stock ROM using CWM.

This might be the closest to what you want but I don't think it's completely stock http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2019243
I am downloading that now to try it out.

EDIT: Reading some of the comments it looks like it is not actually a stock ROM and OTA updates will not work with that. It is slightly modified. The good news is that I remembered I have an old backup saved on my other computer from my first Nexus 4 before it broke and before I rooted. So I should be able to get that. The bad news is that it still doesn't help people who don't already have a backup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by siiip5 View Post
I looked and this was the closest thing I could find, but since it is an OTA zip file, it may just link back to Google servers?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1971169

Google did a pretty good job of wiping the net clean of the stock ROM.
Looks like those are just the update zips and not the actual stock ROMs, unfortunately.
strausd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:40 PM   #25
Explicitic
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Undecided
You have to extract the .tgz file to get another ZIP file which contains the boot, recovery, system, and userdata images. The bootloader image is in the .tgz archive, while the other images are in the ZIP included with the .tgz.
Extract these and follow the directions while making sure your N4 is in fastboot mode (Power + Vol. Down buttons while phone is off):

"1) Make sure your computer recognizes your device by typing: fastboot devices
2) Unlock your bootloader (if you have not already done so): fastboot oem unlock
3) You will see a prompt on your device. This will wipe your entire device (including the /sdcard folder). Accept. Note: you use the volume keys to change the option and the power button to accept. You cannot use the touch screen.
4) Reboot by typing: fastboot reboot-bootloader
5) Flash the bootloader: fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-mako-makoz10l.img (or whatever the name of the bootloader image that you downloaded).
6) Reboot: fastboot reboot-bootloader
7) Flash the radio: fastboot flash radio radio-mako-m9615a-cefwmazm-2.0.1700.33.img (or whatever the name is of the radio image that you downloaded).
8) Reboot: fastboot reboot-bootloader
9) Flash the system partition: fastboot flash system system.img
10) Optional (NOT optional for n00bs) -- Flash the data partition: fastboot flash userdata userdata.img Note: this command will wipe your device (including /sdcard), EVEN if your bootloader is already unlocked. See note 2 below.
11) Flash the kernel/ramdisk: fastboot flash boot boot.img
12) Optional (NOT optional for n00bs) -- Flash the recovery partition: fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
13) Erase the cache partition: fastboot erase cache
14) Reboot: fastboot reboot
15) Done! The first boot will likely take quite a bit longer than you are used to, as Android builds the Dalvik cache. "

Don't skip steps 10 and 12, though. You'll need fastboot to flash the images and and the correct drivers installed.
Explicitic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rumor: Motorola Nexus 6, Asus Nexus 8 and HTC Nexus 10 kenypowa Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 4 Feb 10, 2014 03:57 AM
Resolved: Help: Nexus 7 back to stock confusion gkarris Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 11 Jan 2, 2014 01:54 PM
Nexus 4 back in stock in Australia - 2 to 3 weeks wait though :) NbinHD Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 1 Jan 30, 2013 09:55 PM
Nexus 7 16GB UK Stock Dan14 Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 1 Oct 29, 2012 08:39 AM
Google Announces $199 Nexus 7 Tablet, $299 Nexus Q Media Streamer MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 553 Oct 23, 2012 10:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC