Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:21 PM   #1
webitorgal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Airport Extreme Blocking/Timing Out Website?

We use Airport Extreme as our router and for one particular website, we are getting this message in Firefox:

The connection has timed out

The server at _____.com is taking too long to respond.


I know that the site is NOT down because I can access it from my iPhone when it isn't connected to the Wi-fi. The site is not accessible on either Firefox nor Safari on my desktop or my Macbook Air.

Tips?
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 05:10 PM   #2
lexvo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Have you tried restarting the Airport Extreme? This solved a similar problem for me recently.
__________________
27" iMac i5 8GB - iPod 80GB - iPhone 5s 64GB - iPad3 - ATV3 - Airport Extreme - Airport Express
lexvo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 05:26 PM   #3
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by webitorgal View Post
We use Airport Extreme as our router and for one particular website, we are getting this message in Firefox:

The connection has timed out

The server at _____.com is taking too long to respond.


I know that the site is NOT down because I can access it from my iPhone when it isn't connected to the Wi-fi. The site is not accessible on either Firefox nor Safari on my desktop or my Macbook Air.

Tips?
Its very unlikely that a single website not coming up would be caused by your home router, most likely a DNS issue.

Keep in mind the DNS for your cellular service is different than the DNS for your ISP. You can test by loading a different DNS (like Google or Opendns) into your ISP router-modem or computer network settings.
marzer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 08:40 AM   #4
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I've tried a DNS flush and the public DNS to no avail. I've also tried resetting Airport Extreme (pressing the reset button) and that did not work either. Weird.
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 08:41 AM   #5
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
What's the website?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:16 AM   #6
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
What's the website?
cornerstoneadoption.ca
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:20 AM   #7
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Loads fairly quickly on my AirPort Extreme with Rogers DOCSIS 3 modem.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:23 AM   #8
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Loads fairly quickly on my AirPort Extreme with Rogers DOCSIS 3 modem.
Interesting. I can't get in at all. Have tried everything. It also doesn't look like I have anything blocked (besides, I would get a message saying that it's a blocked site, not one saying that it's timed out).
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:32 AM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
This site can check it.
http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com

Also could be your provider or DNS. Change it to Google's 8.8.8.8
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:41 AM   #10
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
This site can check it.
http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com

Also could be your provider or DNS. Change it to Google's 8.8.8.8
I've done all of the above. My provider is Rogers.
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:51 AM   #11
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Call Rogers and have them check your connection. Which modem are you using?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:05 AM   #12
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
call rogers and have them check your connection. Which modem are you using?
smc
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:08 AM   #13
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by webitorgal View Post
smc
Hmm, in bridge mode should be fine. If it's a rental see if you can exchange it for one of the newer Hitron or Cisco ones.

It is in bridge mode (not gateway) isn't it?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:17 AM   #14
webitorgal
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Hmm, in bridge mode should be fine. If it's a rental see if you can exchange it for one of the newer Hitron or Cisco ones.

It is in bridge mode (not gateway) isn't it?
Yes, it's in bridge mode.
webitorgal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:18 AM   #15
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Then call a Rogers CSR or ask to exchange the router.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC