Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:13 PM   #1
wrinkster22
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Speeding up an iMac G5

Today I upgraded my (what I believe) Revision A iMac g5 (20 inch) from 512mb ram to 1.5gb of ram. I have several questions:

I downloaded mactubes yet I cant seem to do anything with it (question mark)
Facebook wont fully load, just the top part of it like the notifications, message, and search.
Whats the best browswer for this mac.
And also I am using the wired aluminum keyboard and they sybmols like question mark, quotation mark, volume, etc. do not due their proper function.
How do I get my iTunes library on this machine

Its running panther.


TIA!
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:22 PM   #2
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Today I upgraded my (what I believe) Revision A iMac g5 (20 inch) from 512mb ram to 1.5gb of ram. I have several questions:

I downloaded mactubes yet I cant seem to do anything with it (question mark)
Facebook wont fully load, just the top part of it like the notifications, message, and search.
Whats the best browswer for this mac.
And also I am using the wired aluminum keyboard and they sybmols like question mark, quotation mark, volume, etc. do not due their proper function.
How do I get my iTunes library on this machine

Its running panther.


TIA!
I don't know if your problem is Panther, but you need to upgrade your OS at least to Tiger.

Which browser are you using?

You can download iTunes for the latest version that works with PowerPC.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:27 PM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Today I upgraded my (what I believe) Revision A iMac g5 (20 inch) from 512mb ram to 1.5gb of ram. I have several questions:

I downloaded mactubes yet I cant seem to do anything with it (question mark)
Facebook wont fully load, just the top part of it like the notifications, message, and search.
Whats the best browswer for this mac.
And also I am using the wired aluminum keyboard and they sybmols like question mark, quotation mark, volume, etc. do not due their proper function.
How do I get my iTunes library on this machine

Its running panther.


TIA!
I would install Leopard, the Maximum you can Install is 10.5.8 AFAIK, much more compatibility with Software and runs fine.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:32 PM   #4
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateny View Post
I don't know if your problem is Panther, but you need to upgrade your OS at least to Tiger.

Which browser are you using?

You can download iTunes for the latest version that works with PowerPC.
iTunes 10.6.3
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:44 PM   #5
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateny View Post
I don't know if your problem is Panther, but you need to upgrade your OS at least to Tiger.

Which browser are you using?

You can download iTunes for the latest version that works with PowerPC.
Where can I find Tiger (I would put a question mark there but all I get is this ») Everywhere seems to be expensive and I do not wish to spend a lot of money.
I am using safari.
Which version of iTunes is that and where could I download it (Question mark lol)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I would install Leopard, the Maximum you can Install is 10.5.8 AFAIK, much more compatibility with Software and runs fine.
Can you point me towards a seller that wil (legally) sell me a cheap copy. AFAIK whats that..(question mark) I would definatly be interested in Leapord.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skateny View Post
iTunes 10.6.3
Where could I download this…

Thank you all for your quick reply.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:55 PM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Where can I find Tiger (I would put a question mark there but all I get is this ») Everywhere seems to be expensive and I do not wish to spend a lot of money.
I am using safari.
Which version of iTunes is that and where could I download it (Question mark lol)



Can you point me towards a seller that wil (legally) sell me a cheap copy. AFAIK whats that..(question mark) I would definatly be interested in Leapord.



Where could I download this…

Thank you all for your quick reply.
AFAIK you can not get a legal Leopard Installation disk if it did not come with your Mac, if it came original with the Mac you could call Apple and they send you out one if you paid for it, BUT it is not the Original OS so the only way is to get it the illegal way.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:57 PM   #7
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
AFAIK you can not get a legal Leopard Installation disk if it did not come with your Mac, if it came original with the Mac you could call Apple and they send you out one if you paid for it, BUT it is not the Original OS so the only way is to get it the illegal way.
What does AFAIK mean.
So I have to do this illegally and I cant buy a copy.
Also why is my keyboard like this
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:01 PM   #8
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
What does AFAIK mean.
So I have to do this illegally and I cant buy a copy.
Also why is my keyboard like this
AFAIK = As far as I know
You can buy and overpriced copy of Leopard
Try remapping keys in System Preferences
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:04 PM   #9
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
AFAIK = As far as I know
You can buy and overpriced copy of Leopard
Try remapping keys in System Preferences
Thanks
Please reply to PM
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:10 PM   #10
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I have Leopard and Tiger, Tiger is cheaper. I noticed that my new Mac aluminum keyboard does not work with my Powerbook (plugged in) but my work around was plugging them both into an Apple Aluminum monitor. Not sure what happened with the keyboards and PPC, someone on this forum knows about it, can't remember who.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:13 PM   #11
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
I have Leopard and Tiger, Tiger is cheaper. I noticed that my new Mac aluminum keyboard does not work with my Powerbook (plugged in) but my work around was plugging them both into an Apple Aluminum monitor. Not sure what happened with the keyboards and PPC, someone on this forum knows about it, can't remember who.
I've used my wired Aluminum keyboard with both Leopard and Tiger. This is the keyboard for Lion.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:18 PM   #12
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
I have Leopard and Tiger, Tiger is cheaper. I noticed that my new Mac aluminum keyboard does not work with my Powerbook (plugged in) but my work around was plugging them both into an Apple Aluminum monitor. Not sure what happened with the keyboards and PPC, someone on this forum knows about it, can't remember who.
Would I be happy with tiger or would I be better of with leapord
They keyboard works its just some keys are wonky

Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
I've used my wired Aluminum keyboard with both Leopard and Tiger. This is the keyboard for Lion.
Its definatly not the lion keyboard.

I have another question, can I play 480p video from a hard drive on this mac.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:33 PM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
AFAIK = As far as I know
You can buy and overpriced copy of Leopard
Try remapping keys in System Preferences
That is still illegal.
Most if not are the Install disks which came with the Macs or copies, It is illegal to sell Install disks which came with a Mac.
I know what I would do
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:39 PM   #14
DarkSel
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
AFAIK = As far as I know
You can buy and overpriced copy of Leopard
Try remapping keys in System Preferences
I'm curious as to why Leopard is so expensive compared to newer and older versions of OSX. Snow Leopard is only $30 new on Ebay compared to around $90 for a used copy of Leopard.

I got a free copy of Leopard when I bought my Powerbook, and I'm selling it on Ebay right now.
DarkSel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:39 PM   #15
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
That is still illegal.
Most if not are the Install disks which came with the Macs or copies, It is illegal to sell Install disks which came with a Mac.
I know what I would do
No PowerPC Macs came with Leopard, so it would be impossible to find the system disks that came with the mac for Leopard.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:39 PM   #16
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
That is still illegal.
Most if not are the Install disks which came with the Macs or copies, It is illegal to sell Install disks which came with a Mac.
I know what I would do
I don't know how this is illegal. With that, I do know that full retail install versions of Leopard have been available on eBay and Craig's List for years, and that Apple has done nothing to stop these sales.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:42 PM   #17
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSel View Post
I'm curious as to why Leopard is so expensive compared to newer and older versions of OSX. Snow Leopard is only $30 new on Ebay compared to around $90 for a used copy of Leopard.

I got a free copy of Leopard when I bought my Powerbook, and I'm selling it on Ebay right now.
Leopard had a significantly higher price at launch. SL is available from Apple for 20 or $30, and most people who can run SL can also run Lion and Mountain Lion, so they skip SL.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:55 PM   #18
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
No PowerPC Macs came with Leopard, so it would be impossible to find the system disks that came with the mac for Leopard.
Yup, true, forgot about that, so the only disks available are retail Versions and those are not illegal, BUT they are expensive, the cheap ones are copies though.
Shame Demonoid is gone
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:57 PM   #19
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSel View Post
I'm curious as to why Leopard is so expensive compared to newer and older versions of OSX. Snow Leopard is only $30 new on Ebay compared to around $90 for a used copy of Leopard.
Supply and demand.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 03:37 AM   #20
el-John-o
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
Snow Leopard represented a change for Apple in their pricing scheme. They decided that the OS was a service they provided to their Hardware customers, and starting with snow leopard, drastically slashed the price. They make their money off of the hardware, not the software.

Leopard and before was priced significantly more expensive, more on par with what Windows sells for (IIRC, Leopard was close to $200 new).

I know it seems odd that Leopard is more expensive, but that's why! You can still buy a new copy of Snow Leopard from Apple for under $30, and through the App store you can get mountain lion for $20.
__________________
Windows7 PC - Phenom II 965@4GHz x4 Cores, 16GB DDR3-2133, Radeon HD7970 | iPhone 5 32GB | iPad Air WiFi+LTE 128GB | Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 13", Dual 256GB SSD's in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3-1600
el-John-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:33 AM   #21
prvt.donut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Yup, true, forgot about that, so the only disks available are retail Versions and those are not illegal, BUT they are expensive, the cheap ones are copies though.
Shame Demonoid is gone
Www.Kat.ph
prvt.donut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 10:46 AM   #22
cocacolakid
macrumors 65816
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by skateny View Post
I don't know how this is illegal. With that, I do know that full retail install versions of Leopard have been available on eBay and Craig's List for years, and that Apple has done nothing to stop these sales.
Apple doesn't make eBay take down the retail OS discs. They do police eBay for system specific discs, which cannot be resold according to the license.

Retail OS discs can be resold. Ignore any statement otherwise that the discs are illegal. That's not true.

The disc itself is your End User License Agreement (EULA) and once you sell your disc you also transfer the EULA and no longer own the product. Hence you no longer can legally use the product. Meaning, if you buy a used OS X disc, you are the new rightful owner. The previous owner technically is breaking the law if they continue to use that OS on any machine.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 5S and PPC's

Last edited by cocacolakid; Jan 2, 2013 at 10:51 AM.
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 12:32 PM   #23
bwt89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lille, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Would I be happy with tiger or would I be better of with leapord
I installed Leopard when it came out (I was previously on Tiger, of course) and, as far as I'm concerned, the main difference between Tiger and Leopard in terms of performance is the boot speed. On a daily basis, I must say that there is not enough reasons for me thinking about reinstalling Tiger as my main OS. And my iMac G5 is similar to yours in terms of specs (2 Ghz, 2GB ram)
bwt89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 12:36 PM   #24
wrinkster22
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
wrinkster22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwt89 View Post
I installed Leopard when it came out (I was previously on Tiger, of course) and, as far as I'm concerned, the main difference between Tiger and Leopard in terms of performance is the boot speed. On a daily basis, I must say that there is not enough reasons for me thinking about reinstalling Tiger as my main OS. And my iMac G5 is similar to yours in terms of specs (2 Ghz, 2GB ram)
Thank you everyone for your advice. I could care less about boot speed. I am going to try to get a copy of tiger then. I still have a few questions:

1: How do you remap keys?
2: How can I play 480p media off a hard drive?
3: What is the best browser (Safari works OK, I would like to be able to use facebook though.)
4: How do I get mactubes to work?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
macbook air 2011 ultimate, iPhone 5 16gb rogers, iPad mini retina 32gb, iPod shuffle product red (newest)
wrinkster22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 12:43 PM   #25
bwt89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lille, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrinkster22 View Post
Thank you everyone for your advice. I could care less about boot speed. I am going to try to get a copy of tiger then. I still have a few questions:

1: How do you remap keys?
2: How can I play 480p media off a hard drive?
3: What is the best browser (Safari works OK, I would like to be able to use facebook though.)
4: How do I get mactubes to work?

Thanks in advance.
1. I never had to remap keys so I can't help you.
2. On my iMac G5, I can with QuickTime.
3. I tried about every single browser for a PPC machine runing Leopard, Safari 5 is still the best for me (the "ClickToFlash" extension is great) and I have no problem at all with Facebook.
4. Mactubes ran great right of the "box", so I think you must use at least Tiger to get it runing fine.
__________________
20" iMac G5 ALS, 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 10.5.8 Leopard
bwt89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Speeding up ios7 possible already on 5s? borgqueenx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jan 2, 2014 08:44 AM
Speeding up mac. phil87 MacBook Pro 6 Sep 11, 2013 09:51 AM
Speeding sahni130 Community Discussion 84 Aug 22, 2013 06:58 PM
2009 i7 iMac CPU fan speeding up nanosour iMac 1 May 22, 2013 11:30 PM
Help speeding up a G4 Saidear PowerPC Macs 8 Jul 17, 2012 02:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC