Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 27, 2011, 04:26 PM   #26
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpavur View Post
Just so you know there are no military applications that benefit from this.
Where is the laugh out loud smiley?
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 04:59 PM   #27
Legion93
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Death Star, Rishi Maze
Send a message via MSN to Legion93 Send a message via Skype™ to Legion93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl S. View Post
wtf would you need 64gb.
Read post #10
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2011 iPod nano 7th Gen iPhone 5 iPad 3
Legion93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 03:02 AM   #28
FluJunkie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpavur View Post
Just so you know there are no military applications that benefit from this.
This is...just not correct.
FluJunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:30 PM   #29
yjchua95
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (formerly KL, Malaysia)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl S. View Post
Halarious. I was just curious wasa justifies 12 Core and 64gb of ram. I have been using a octo-core with 16gb and it does everything i need and then some so i thought....wtf would you need 64gb.
Tell that to my dad. He's a physicist at CERN in Geneva and he needs 2 Mac Pros, each with 12 cores and 64GB of RAM. Don't ask me what software he uses, I have no idea :P
__________________
2 13" late-2013 rMBPs (base+maxed), maxed late-2013 rMBP 15", maxed early-2011 15", 2010 17", 2 maxed Haswell iMacs (21.5" and 27"), maxed 2012 mini, 2 12-core nMPs, maxed 2013 13" MBA
yjchua95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:47 PM   #30
violst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
If you have to ask, you don't need it; if you need it, you either wish you had it or already have it.

Like alphaod said.

Any 3D app will use all those cores and ram and more if possible.

for example: Cinema 4D, Maya, 3DS Max, Houdini, Softimage, Modo, Lightwave, Z brush, Mudbox, 3D coat, After Effects, FCPX, DaVinci Resolve, Blender, Real flow, Vue, V-ray, Maxwell Render and so on.

There are tons of pro apps that would push that mac pro to its limits.

So yes there is a big need for that and much, much more.
__________________
2013 nMP 8-core 3.0, 64GB Ram, 256GB SSD, 6TB Raid, 8TB NAS backup, D500's
2012 15" cMBP core i7 2.7, 16GB Ram, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD, GT 650M 1GB
violst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 11:18 PM   #31
drumminator
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Maine
i think this kind of powerhouse would be great for video editing (with the right graphics card ) programs such as davinci resolve and maybe cinema 4d. just my 2 cents
drumminator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:23 AM   #32
el-John-o
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Missouri
It's honestly like a downtown new yorker who owns a car he's driven once in 3 months asking a guy who lives out where I do why he needs a 4 wheel drive jeep when he never hauls anything or goes off road. Well, when you live in a semi-rural area (next to some very rural areas, we're just barely 'in town' so to speak, far from any major cities), and you wake up and there's 6 inches of snow on top of poorly maintained roads and the plows are a day away, well, you still gotta get to work! Mass transit is unheard of out here, and most commute to work, often 45 minutes or more.

It's need based. There are applications where it's needed. What you mentioned, iLife, aperture, etc. That can all be done on a base spec'ed Mac mini. A professional using apps like aperture might have a middle-of-the-road Mac Pro in order to add additional storage, and if they did any video the processing power would be nice. However consider applications like hollywood 3D movies. Do you know how long it took to render Avatar? They used 104TB (Yes, Terabyte) of RAM and systems that would make your $23,000 Mac Pro example look like a toy. The 'computer' is a series of rack mounted machines all inside a 10,000 square foot facility in order to process the intense 3D work that's required for that kind of production. Millions of dollars goes into the computing power that does Hollywood level 3D work.

So, yes, absolutely, there are uses for high end machines like that.
__________________
Windows7 PC - Phenom II 965@4GHz x4 Cores, 16GB DDR3-2133, Radeon HD7970 | iPhone 5 32GB | iPad WiFi+3G 64GB | Mid 2012 MacBook Pro 13", Dual 256GB SSD's in RAID 0, 16GB DDR3-1600
el-John-o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:35 AM   #33
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl S. View Post
Is there any application in the world that benefits from this much power. whats the point?.. just curious
Yes.

Virtualization can use a lot of RAM. In my job I could certainly use 64gb of RAM or more, as I deal with simulating networks and networked applications. If i had a box with 64GB of ram on my desk, I wouldn't need to tie up our production vSphere cluster (which has 4 hosts with 96GB in them each) with test lab virtual machines.

Ditto for CPUs. Simulating Cisco devices with GNS3 requires a LOT of CPU power.


If you're talking server stuff - even more so - eg Virtual Desktop infrastructure. I have VMware boxes at work with 96GB of RAM in them (and RAM is right now starting to get tight!) and if we're going to start doing VDI, they'll be upgraded to 256 or 512GB (yes, half a TB) of RAM to handle the load (which may, for example be 50-100 desktop operating systems per machine). But the Mac Pro isn't really used in that type of environment..
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)

Last edited by throAU; Jan 2, 2013 at 02:40 AM.
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:30 AM   #34
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
Vienna Pro Ensemble loaded up with its own patches, or instances of Kontakt will easily utilize that much ram and more. It's a shame OSX runs out at ..is it 96?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:13 AM   #35
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
WARNING: Beware of Zombies, as this thread died back in 2011.
nanofrog is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:44 AM   #36
seek3r
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl S. View Post
I was on Apple.Com checking out the refurbs and got a random idea in my head. I was curious to see what a maxed out mac pro would cost. So 23K later I had a beast of a machine. But I am curious, what is the use of having two 6-core processors and 64gigs of ram. Is there any application in the world that benefits from this much power. whats the point?.. just curious
Some apps I use, though I only do post-process on my local tower, I run the actual calculations on clusters sitting in a machine room miles away :-). Most of my jobs eat far more cores, ram, or both than your specced machine

NAMD

NWChem

AMBER

DOCK
__________________
Home:MM 2006(upgrd to 2.0 C2D, 3GB), Used to have a MP moved on to a Dell workstation. Apple, win me back!
Road:MBA 13" 2012(1.8, 8GB, 128GB) & iPhone 5(32GB)
I met a traveler from an antique land..
seek3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 12:01 PM   #37
JoeRito
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New England, USA
Industrial Light & Magic uses machines with 100's of GB of RAM... other 3D video production shops do as well... its big time in the movie industry.
__________________
MBP 15 , MBA 13 , iPad Air 64 , 92 lb Chocolate Lab
JoeRito is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max RAM in 2009/12 Single Core is actually 56GB w/"W" Xeon and 64GB w/"X" MacVidCards Mac Pro 23 Jul 11, 2014 11:02 PM
64GB Ram in 4 & 6 core 2009-2012 Mac Pro's... funwithdesign Mac Pro 17 May 9, 2014 10:45 AM
2GB Ram 64GB or 4GB Ram 128GB Model? Martylaa MacBook Air 4 Aug 31, 2012 04:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC