Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:03 AM   #1
Traderalways
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Swapping phones

I want to change 2 phones on my account... I want to swap my iPhone 5 phone number with my iPhone 4s phone number... I know Verizon will have to give me a new sim card for my iPhone 5... Once the sims are changed is everything gone on my iPhone 5??
Traderalways is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 08:13 PM   #2
itoshiineko
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Just goes to show I've been out of the phone business too long. Sorry for the wrong info.

Last edited by itoshiineko; Jan 3, 2013 at 08:39 PM. Reason: Add more info
itoshiineko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 08:31 PM   #3
DerekRod
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by itoshiineko View Post
Verizon doesn't use SIM cards. You'll need a 3rd phone without a number on it. You take the extra phone and activate it with the number on the iPhone 4. Now that the iPhone 4 has no number on it, you activate it with the number on the iPhone 5. Then you activate the iPhone 5 with the number you had taken off the iPhone 4 and put on the extra phone. And your phones are then switched. Clear as mud?
Or Verizon can do it for you. But there are no SIM cards involved. You'll have to back your phone up in iTunes or iCloud and reset them then restore them after the switch.
Your wrong the iPhone 5 has LTE therefore it DOES use a sim
DerekRod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:05 AM   #4
webwbr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
My I hijack this thread for a question about my own swapping needs?

Right now I swap (daily) between an iPhone 4s and a Samsung Galaxy S3 (for work I need to test NFC on register systems at retailers). If I upgrade to an iPhone 5, it has a nano sim so I would need to cut down my current sim for the the iPhone 5 and use an micro adapter to put it back in the SGS3. Is that correct assumption of a workable solution?
webwbr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC