Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:14 PM   #1
thepiks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Installed SSD and blade SSD, now there are stripes down my screen

any ideas what I might have unplugged? where is the video card plug into motherboard at? I can see some of my screen just fine but other stripes are off white and white. please help
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:39 PM   #2
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Did you use the iFixit teardown and look over their process to see where everything is located and see all of the connectors?

iFixit 2012 iMac Teardown
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 05:45 PM   #3
EPiCDiNGO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Exclamation

OMG the iMac is broke return it for a FULL refund
__________________
2010 Macbook Pro i5 2.4GHz 8GB ram 256 SSD
iPhone 4 Black 32GB
iPad 2 32GB Black
Soon to buy 2012 27" iMac
EPiCDiNGO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:17 PM   #4
loki101
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiCDiNGO View Post
OMG the iMac is broke return it for a FULL refund
It would appear that this guy opened up his iMac and installed some internal SSDs, not sure that's covered by AppleCare...
loki101 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:22 PM   #5
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
there isn't a 27 inch tear down is there?
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:28 PM   #6
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
There was two plugs for the monitor ,

maybe one of them isn't pushed back in correctly.

When we pulled apart our 27"
We sat screen on counter infront of it and connected then powered up before we stuck it back on.

Because now assuming you just stuck it back together before testing you need to open it again yeah ?

I would be checking those two plugs maybe just not sitting flat
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:35 PM   #7
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I'll check those 2 cords thank you
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:01 PM   #8
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
the 2 cords were plugged in correctly, anyone have any other guesses I could try? Thanks!
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:07 PM   #9
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
can you remove the Blade SSD and just leave the normal SSD sata one connected ? 1 by 1 see if the drives are giving any interference.

do the lines come up right away ?
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:13 PM   #10
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
here is a pic of what my screen looks like

http://i46.tinypic.com/o318l.png

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
can you remove the Blade SSD and just leave the normal SSD sata one connected ? 1 by 1 see if the drives are giving any interference.

do the lines come up right away ?
yeah the lines come on the second my computer begins to boot. Im guessing video card cord?
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:13 PM   #11
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
gee that sucks, hopefully no pins or damage on those two monitor cables :/

how much of it did you pull apart is there any earth points on the motherboard that weren't hooked back up ?

has the gpu come loose ?
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:16 PM   #12
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by loki101 View Post
It would appear that this guy opened up his iMac and installed some internal SSDs, not sure that's covered by AppleCare...
it's not.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:38 PM   #13
spinstorm
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Put it back as it was and take it into Apple anyway.

They probably won't notice anything is different as I doubt think geniuses looks at glue formations.
__________________
US 8GB FW 1.0.2>iUnlock>iPhoneSIMfree>1.1.1>1.1.2>Soft upgrade 1.1.3>1.1.4 using signal.app
UK 16GB FW 1.1.3 OOB>1.1.4>iPlus 1.2 unlocked!
spinstorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:40 PM   #14
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Oh dear. Not what you want to see.

I know you've checked the cables but make sure you double, triple, quadruple check that video cable. It's the wider of the two and it has quite a fiddly lever lock. Swing the lever arm up, take the cable out and ENSURE there is no dirt in there or on the cable connector itself. Also check that the cable's contact strips haven't become damaged or creased by forcing it into the socket (which is a common cock up).

Other than the video cable, I'm not sure what to suggest.

Did you remove the adhesive tape by the way?
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:42 PM   #15
LachlanH
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinstorm View Post
Put it back as it was and take it into Apple anyway.

They probably won't notice anything is different as I doubt think geniuses looks at glue formations.

Good attitude, pull something apart voiding the warranty, break it, then put it all back together and act like you did nothing wrong while asking for a replacement.
LachlanH is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:49 PM   #16
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
Oh dear. Not what you want to see.

I know you've checked the cables but make sure you double, triple, quadruple check that video cable. It's the wider of the two and it has quite a fiddly lever lock. Swing the lever arm up, take the cable out and ENSURE there is no dirt in there or on the cable connector itself. Also check that the cable's contact strips haven't become damaged or creased by forcing it into the socket (which is a common cock up).

Other than the video cable, I'm not sure what to suggest.

Did you remove the adhesive tape by the way?
I did remove the adhesive tape. I will check the wider cable again. Thanks!
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:55 PM   #17
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Looks like the LVDS cable is not inserted properly or possibly damaged. Make sure the cable is sitted correctly on the back of the lcd and the logic board.
R.OG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 08:34 PM   #18
thepiks
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
Looks like the LVDS cable is not inserted properly or possibly damaged. Make sure the cable is sitted correctly on the back of the lcd and the logic board.
Double checked, cable is seating correctly, problem continues. No way that the ssd blade install is causing this is there?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
Looks like the LVDS cable is not inserted properly or possibly damaged. Make sure the cable is sitted correctly on the back of the lcd and the logic board.
Is there anywhere I can order a lads cable replacement? Could the cable get damaged that quickly?
thepiks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 09:36 PM   #19
marzer
macrumors 65816
 
marzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiks View Post
here is a pic of what my screen looks like

http://i46.tinypic.com/o318l.png

----------



yeah the lines come on the second my computer begins to boot. Im guessing video card cord?
Unfortunately, its unlikely to be a physical connection issue given you are getting some recognizable image. That sort of pattern, made up of good and bad portions of the image, is typically a problem with video buffering or paging memory. You may want to ensure your video card (does it have discrete gpu?) is seated firmly.

Even though the image is striped, can you see mouse movement? Does the system respond to the keyboard? That would be another indicator its internal to the video processing logic.
marzer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 09:40 PM   #20
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
its either the display cable or the display itself. guess is since you opened it up it the pins on the LVDS cable either got stripped, bent or damaged in some form. also you have to ensure theyre pushed into the slot properly and fit and not even slightly outof position.

lcd could be damaged either through physical damage or electrostatic damage.
make sure the cable is secure on both ends - the display itself and into the logic board.

ensure all cables are secured in their slots.
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:33 PM   #21
Snoosedaddy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Maybe try and plug in an external monitor, to rule out everything but the display.
Snoosedaddy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:44 PM   #22
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiks View Post
any ideas what I might have unplugged? where is the video card plug into motherboard at? I can see some of my screen just fine but other stripes are off white and white. please help
You'll need to disassemble it again and check all the ribbon cables are seated properly.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:21 PM   #23
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoosedaddy View Post
Maybe try and plug in an external monitor, to rule out everything but the display.
Good idea. It could determine if its the display vs logic board/video card.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by marzer View Post
Unfortunately, its unlikely to be a physical connection issue given you are getting some recognizable image. That sort of pattern, made up of good and bad portions of the image, is typically a problem with video buffering or paging memory. You may want to ensure your video card (does it have discrete gpu?) is seated firmly.

Even though the image is striped, can you see mouse movement? Does the system respond to the keyboard? That would be another indicator its internal to the video processing logic.
This seems plausible. I would imagine if the connection was bad it would be an all or non thing or color issues.
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:48 PM   #24
chevalier433
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepiks View Post
any ideas what I might have unplugged? where is the video card plug into motherboard at? I can see some of my screen just fine but other stripes are off white and white. please help
Worst case scenario you have short something did you use ESD protection?Put the computer back to normal and take it to apple and if you are lucky they will not see that you opened it.
chevalier433 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 01:46 AM   #25
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
any updates ?

have you got it powered up while monitor is sitting off the chassis on a towel in front of unit,

and while powered up, give the cables a slight move and see if this has any effect on the image.

to test the cable it;'s self for a break and connectors. at logic board end and lcd end.
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blade SSD to 2.5" SSD Adapter Kirkle iMac 1 Sep 8, 2013 06:10 AM
SSD to SSD backups = using CCC or Super Duper to backup main SSD to optical bay SSD imorton MacBook Pro 10 Feb 17, 2013 11:35 PM
Fusion Drive Blade SSD VS 2.5 Inch SSD speeds? Tri-stan iMac 0 Jan 17, 2013 02:05 PM
Installed new SSD, but stuck on the Apple screen (even with old HDD) stikygum Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 13 Oct 5, 2012 03:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC