Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:02 AM   #1
g4 powerbookboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Just rebuilt a iBook g4 1.2 ghz

Good morning all,

I just rebuilt a iBook 1.2 ghz with 768 mb of ram, wondering if it is a good idea to install leopard on it or keep tiger. planning on putting in a 1 gb ram chip soon to max out the ram at 1.25gb. it runs tiger quite well as it is, but leopard is more recent and may still get security updates. just do not want to make a brick out of it since it is a much better laptop than any windows laptop.
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:12 AM   #2
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Tiger and Leopard are unsupported so it is unlikely there will be more security updates for them.

Tiger is faster so if speed is your concern I would stay in Tiger.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:12 AM   #3
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
With 768mb of ram it might be best to stick with Tiger. But after you add the 1GB stick my vote would be for Leopard.

For some reason Leopard has a bad rap for being slow. But with max ram and a clean system it's a good OS.
__________________
PowerMac G4 QuickSilver - 1.6Ghz DP | Sprint iPhone 5 - iOS 6.1/Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:47 AM   #4
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Max out the RAM and put Leopard on it.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:08 AM   #5
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I am supposed to see my buddy at the Apple store near me at 3 pm, since I lost the leopard disk, he told me last night that they will install it via firewire. Then need to see if I have a 1gb ram stick or need to pick one up from either best buy or craigslist, unless my dead dell has the same kind of ram. should be interesting to see the end result. Apple products are really the best, and have no intention of ever going back to a winblows pc.
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:17 AM   #6
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
I am supposed to see my buddy at the Apple store near me at 3 pm, since I lost the leopard disk, he told me last night that they will install it via firewire. Then need to see if I have a 1gb ram stick or need to pick one up from either best buy or craigslist, unless my dead dell has the same kind of ram. should be interesting to see the end result. Apple products are really the best, and have no intention of ever going back to a winblows pc.
Great. Just be aware that until you get the extra RAM that Leopard will likely feel slower than Tiger did. But more RAM will fix that. It probably won't feel faster than Tiger with more RAM but will run fine, and the added features and compatibility of more software make it far more usable than Tiger (not that there's anything wrong with Tiger, it's just that if a Mac can run Leopard it generally should have Leopard).
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 08:20 AM   #7
Zotaccian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
In my experience the difference is not huge but can be noticed, for example with first revision of G5 iMacs the dock animations lag while in Tiger everything is smooth. Also if you look what the system requirements are for both operating systems it is quite obvious that Tiger does not need much.

I still tend to install Leopard just because it's newer even though I think it takes more resources, when I had PowerMac G4 733Mhz (digital audio) overclock to 867Mhz with 512MB I still installed Leopard even though the machine just barely met the system requirements, I had flashed Radeon 8500 64MB as video card

Last edited by Zotaccian; Dec 31, 2012 at 08:26 AM.
Zotaccian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:56 AM   #8
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
sounds good to me, I'm trying to remember if I had an ibook with leopard, i think i did and it only had 512 of ram and worked ok.
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:00 AM   #9
Jessica Lares
macrumors 603
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
sounds good to me, I'm trying to remember if I had an ibook with leopard, i think i did and it only had 512 of ram and worked ok.
Yeah, I was about to mention this. I only have 512MB in my Power Mac G5 and it works great.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:21 AM   #10
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
looks like i know what i will be doing later this afternoon... playing with all the new toys while the ibook gets leopard installed via firewire at the apple store
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:55 AM   #11
cyberghoser1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens, Hellas
I still have my iBook G4 with 800MHz G4, with maxed ram at 1.12gb, Leopard runs fine on it. Those lappys never die if you treat them well.
__________________
Hi-Res 15" Powerbook, 1.67MHz, 2GB RAM DDR2, ATI Mobility Radeon9700 128MB, 60GB 7200rmp HD, Leopard 10.5.8
cyberghoser1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:26 AM   #12
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocacolakid View Post
Great. Just be aware that until you get the extra RAM that Leopard will likely feel slower than Tiger did. But more RAM will fix that. It probably won't feel faster than Tiger with more RAM but will run fine, and the added features and compatibility of more software make it far more usable than Tiger (not that there's anything wrong with Tiger, it's just that if a Mac can run Leopard it generally should have Leopard).
What he said.

My iBook came with 768MB and Leopard installed. It worked fine. I always max out RAM, and when I did, it worked even better. A 1GB stick was $21.99. from a trusted seller.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:26 PM   #13
seveej
macrumors 6502a
 
seveej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Considering the prices of memory nowadays, I always recommend going for max RAM (caveat: unless the difference is negligible or installation is a major pain. )

Then again, I generally find Tiger very satisfactory for G4 gear (maxed out or not).

My rule of thumb is that 10.4 is for G4, 10.5 is for G5 and 10.6 is for intel ( unless you specifically need a feature enabled in a later OS or similar exigencies exist).

RGDS,
__________________
MP 3,1 'nuff RAM, 3 HDD's, 1 SSD, AMD 5770, 10.6
2009 Mini, as server
, and a lot of other gear.
seveej is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 02:22 PM   #14
blesscheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central CA
I just put Tiger and Leopard onto separate partitions on my 1.4 GHz iBook G4, with 512MB RAM, and both run really well. Given I have a MBA with Snow Leopard and a Mini with SL on it as well, I'll keep Leopard on the thing, and get rid of the Tiger partition. I can't think of anything I want to run in Classic.

Given that you already have 768MB of RAM in the thing, you may want to save the $30 and skip a ram upgrade. You likely have the 256MB soldered on the motherboard, which means you will have to take out the 512MB chip, and put in a 1GB chip to just get the memory up to 1.25. It may not be worth it, even if you want to hot-rod it!
blesscheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 10:33 PM   #15
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Finally made it to the apple store to get leopard installed on my iBook. doing its updates now. still seems to work good with 10.5.6, updating it to 10.5.8 now. internet connection at home is sucky again tonight... comcast is crap if people are using internet.
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:09 PM   #16
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Congrats on the rebuild
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 11:41 PM   #17
CIA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
As an owner of the exact same machine, I say if the memory is cheap, (Or if you don't care about $$) drop the 1GB chip in it. I have 1.25 in mine and it runs leopard fine. It's more a mess-around laptop for me now, but it's still fine for most things. Video is studdery, but for general web surfing it works fine. Look into iScroll2 for two finger scrolling on that machine, it makes life a lot better.
I stuck a larger HD in mine also but man was that a huge PITA. In a pinch I can still edit FCP 5 on it!
CIA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:38 AM   #18
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Smile

comcast really sucks especially at night, took forever to download and install the 10.5.8 and safari 5 updates.... finished around 3 am. testing the system now and it seems to work awesome. a friend of mine just called and told me he may have a 1gb ram chip for me from his old laptop that died. may see him later this afternoon but need to think about sleep soon. glad putting leopard on it didn't make it a brick!!
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:29 PM   #19
blesscheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
comcast really sucks especially at night, took forever to download and install the 10.5.8 and safari 5 updates.... finished around 3 am. testing the system now and it seems to work awesome. a friend of mine just called and told me he may have a 1gb ram chip for me from his old laptop that died. may see him later this afternoon but need to think about sleep soon. glad putting leopard on it didn't make it a brick!!
Well, if the RAM is free, then the price is right, I'd say.

FYI, if I were you, I'd save those updates and burn them to a DVD, so you don't have to go through that download again. You never know when you might want to change your drive set up again...
blesscheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:33 PM   #20
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Not true.. Leopard flies on the Mirror Drive Door Dual 1.25 with 2MB L3 Cache and Dual 1.42 2MB L3 Cache based G4 PowerMacs. The L3 cache compensates for the slower front side bus of 167mhz. Couple that with 2GB of DDR memory and Leopard flies.

The same can be said for the 1.67ghz G4 PowerBooks. Mine is a dual-layer G4 PowerBook 1.67 and Leopard flies on this thing also.. One thing I can recommend is use xslimmer or Monolingual to remove ALL Intel binaries from applications all the way down to the SYSTEM CORE files!

Leopard would then be a pure PowerPC OS and without the bloat of Intel's binaries in it this will fly on any system.

I would not recommend running Leopard on a sawtooth, gigabit ethernet, digital audio, or early Quicksilver, or the 1st 867mhz MDD.. UNLESS you have an upgrade processor. Base system specs will make Leopard run extremely slow.


My rule of thumb is that 10.4 is for G4, 10.5 is for G5 and 10.6 is for intel ( unless you specifically need a feature enabled in a later OS or similar exigencies exist).

RGDS,[/QUOTE]
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:47 PM   #21
skateny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New York, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
My rule of thumb is that 10.4 is for G4, 10.5 is for G5 and 10.6 is for intel ( unless you specifically need a feature enabled in a later OS or similar exigencies exist).

RGDS,
[/QUOTE]

Never had a problem with Leopard on my iBook.
__________________
Etcha-Sketch, Classic Red; Kenner Easy-Show Projector, First Gen.
skateny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:52 PM   #22
g4 powerbookboy
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
my g4 ibook works really nice with the leopard install. only time it is slow is when it is connected to a crappy internet connection, otherwise it is quite quick
g4 powerbookboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 11:03 PM   #23
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Quote:
Originally Posted by seveej View Post
Considering the prices of memory nowadays, I always recommend going for max RAM (caveat: unless the difference is negligible or installation is a major pain. )

Then again, I generally find Tiger very satisfactory for G4 gear (maxed out or not).

My rule of thumb is that 10.4 is for G4, 10.5 is for G5 and 10.6 is for intel ( unless you specifically need a feature enabled in a later OS or similar exigencies exist).

RGDS,
I know Skateny, I was just quoting what Seveij was saying.. which we know he is wrong, right? Of course an iBook G4 will run Leopard nicely!


Never had a problem with Leopard on my iBook.[/QUOTE]
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 11:10 PM   #24
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
comcast really sucks especially at night, took forever to download and install the 10.5.8 and safari 5 updates.... finished around 3 am. testing the system now and it seems to work awesome. a friend of mine just called and told me he may have a 1gb ram chip for me from his old laptop that died. may see him later this afternoon but need to think about sleep soon. glad putting leopard on it didn't make it a brick!!
I have comcast and It runs great no matter what time of day it is
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 11:23 PM   #25
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
I just rebuilt a iBook 1.2 ghz with 768 mb of ram.
-what steps did you do to rebuild ibook?
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has iPhoto really been rebuilt from the ground up? aircanman Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Oct 28, 2013 01:41 PM
Apple Hardware Test on rebuilt MacBook Pro brublag Mac Basics and Help 3 Oct 1, 2013 01:22 PM
Safari Help For iBook G4 1.42 GHz RedPearbook PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 25, 2013 08:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC