Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:30 PM   #1
Omnirai
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Antwerp
iPhone 5: had GSM model, received CDMA (i think) after repair service

Hello MacRumors members,

I have a question concerning the GSM vs CDMA iPhone 5:

Background information:
I bought the iPhone 5 from the official dealer in Belgium (Mobistar). This is a simlock free GSM model, and should be A1429 GSM.

One month later, I had a hardware fault and returned it to Mobistar. One week later (we do not have an apple store here, everything goes through Mobistar) I received my new one..
Now, when I downloaded firmware "iPhone5,1_6.0.1_10A525_Restore" file, it gave me an error about "not compatible" firmware file.. However, file "iPhone5,2_6.0.1_10A525_Restore works..

So I received back a CDMA model I suppose? f0recast gives me the same information: "model: iPhone 5,2 [ND297DN/A].

Are there any consequences by having a CDMA iPhone 5?
Should I take it back, and ask for a GSM model? (this will result in 1 week of no iPhone..)

ps: My carrier is 'Proximus', and will provide LTE on 1,8 Ghz.


Thanks!

Last edited by Omnirai; Dec 21, 2012 at 01:41 PM.
Omnirai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:56 PM   #2
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnirai View Post
Hello MacRumors members,

I have a question concerning the GSM vs CDMA iPhone 5:

Background information:
I bought the iPhone 5 from the official dealer in Belgium (Mobistar). This is a simlock free GSM model, and should be A1429 GSM.

One month later, I had a hardware fault and returned it to Mobistar. One week later (we do not have an apple store here, everything goes through Mobistar) I received my new one..
Now, when I downloaded firmware "iPhone5,1_6.0.1_10A525_Restore" file, it gave me an error about "not compatible" firmware file.. However, file "iPhone5,2_6.0.1_10A525_Restore works..

So I received back a CDMA model I suppose? f0recast gives me the same information: "model: iPhone 5,2 [ND297DN/A].

Are there any consequences by having a CDMA iPhone 5?
Should I take it back, and ask for a GSM model? (this will result in 1 week of no iPhone..)

ps: My carrier is 'Proximus', and will provide LTE on 1,8 Ghz.


Thanks!
Um, when exchanging a faulty product with a new one, they must return the exact same model so you should have got a GSM model back.

GSM and CDMA are not the same. They are different technologies that are not the same. GSM is more of a world wide signal (meaning most carriers use this technology) where as CDMA is not.
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:22 PM   #3
Omnirai
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Antwerp
Quote:
Originally Posted by kage207 View Post
Um, when exchanging a faulty product with a new one, they must return the exact same model so you should have got a GSM model back.

GSM and CDMA are not the same. They are different technologies that are not the same. GSM is more of a world wide signal (meaning most carriers use this technology) where as CDMA is not.
I know that I should have received the exact same model again.. But I'm not up for one week of being iPhone-less
So my question is more if it will give problems with LTE or not.. Cause at the moment, my Phone is just working fine with 3G. LTE should be available (if apple approves) in the next 'bigger' firmware update

PS: Im pretty sure in Belgium we are working with GSM signals..

Last edited by Omnirai; Dec 21, 2012 at 01:45 PM.
Omnirai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:06 PM   #4
kage207
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnirai View Post
I know that I should have received the exact same model again.. But I'm not up for one week of being iPhone-less
So my question is more if it will give problems with LTE or not.. Cause at the moment, my Phone is just working fine with 3G. LTE should be available (if apple approves) in the next 'bigger' firmware update

PS: Im pretty sure in Belgium we are working with GSM signals..
All I know about the LTE is that the difference between GSM & CDMA is what Apple has made available.

http://www.apple.com/iphone/specs.html

The site states that the GSM model supports bands 4 & 17 while CDMA supports 1, 3, 5, 13, 25. So it all depends on what your carrier is supporting. Though there is another GSM model that supports different bands (1, 3, 5).

Again, it is all about how your carrier delivers the signals.

Lastly, who cares if you go a week without an iPhone? I know you do but you have to make sure that your phone is supported on the network otherwise you paid money for a feature that you aren't going to use.
__________________
MBA 13", i5 1.8GHz, 8GM RAM, 128GB SSD
These are amazing products that enrich our lives that we see as toys, remember that they are expensive and should be used as tools to reach our dreams~
kage207 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:24 AM   #5
Merkie
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Kick.

I just found out my replacement phone is also an iPhone5,2 (and not iPhone5,1). Is the iPhone5,2 the CDMA iPhone 5? Can anyone confirm?
Merkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:34 AM   #6
andy265
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkie View Post
Is the iPhone5,2 the CDMA iPhone 5?
I don't think it is. Mine is a 5,2 but it is on Orange in the UK who are a GSM provider.
andy265 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:39 AM   #7
ThatsMeRight
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnirai View Post
I know that I should have received the exact same model again.. But I'm not up for one week of being iPhone-less
So my question is more if it will give problems with LTE or not.. Cause at the moment, my Phone is just working fine with 3G. LTE should be available (if apple approves) in the next 'bigger' firmware update

PS: Im pretty sure in Belgium we are working with GSM signals..
The CDMA model is superior to the GSM model sold in Europe. The CDMA model is equal to the GSM model you had, but it also supports CDMA and if supports MORE LTE bands.
ThatsMeRight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:41 AM   #8
wxman2003
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
The A1429 model is both CDMA and GSM.
__________________
iMac I5, Macbook, iPad Air, iPad rMini, iPhone 5s, ATV 3
wxman2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:44 AM   #9
ThatsMeRight
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman2003 View Post
The A1429 model is both CDMA and GSM.
There are actually TWO A1429 models: a CDMA model (supporting CDMA, GSM, LTE ) and a GSM model (which supports only GSM and LTE (fewer LTE frequencies, though)).
ThatsMeRight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:55 AM   #10
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy265 View Post
I don't think it is. Mine is a 5,2 but it is on Orange in the UK who are a GSM provider.
yeah but one wouldn't notice, and who really cares as the CDMA model has more LTE bands, and still will work with GSM anyway. The CDMA side won't activate until you find a Verizon 4G SIM card.
dontwalkhand is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:20 AM   #11
hafr
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnirai View Post
Hello MacRumors members,

I have a question concerning the GSM vs CDMA iPhone 5:

Background information:
I bought the iPhone 5 from the official dealer in Belgium (Mobistar). This is a simlock free GSM model, and should be A1429 GSM.

One month later, I had a hardware fault and returned it to Mobistar. One week later (we do not have an apple store here, everything goes through Mobistar) I received my new one..
Now, when I downloaded firmware "iPhone5,1_6.0.1_10A525_Restore" file, it gave me an error about "not compatible" firmware file.. However, file "iPhone5,2_6.0.1_10A525_Restore works..

So I received back a CDMA model I suppose? f0recast gives me the same information: "model: iPhone 5,2 [ND297DN/A].

Are there any consequences by having a CDMA iPhone 5?
Should I take it back, and ask for a GSM model? (this will result in 1 week of no iPhone..)

ps: My carrier is 'Proximus', and will provide LTE on 1,8 Ghz.


Thanks!
I would keep it until I knew whether 4G worked with Proximus by actually trying it. If it didn't, I would go over to Mobistar with all the documentation and tell them "kutkanker, jullie hebben mij de CDMA iPhone gegeven!" and demand one that works.

But most likely they're not trying to dump phones in Belgium that won't work.

Myself, I'm doing Mobile Vikings until someone offers us in Bxl 4G
hafr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:00 PM   #12
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
(nm)
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:04 PM   #13
moonman239
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Wait, I thought the iPhone was a dual-band phone.
__________________
The funny thing about this signature is that by the time you get to the end of it, you will have spent between five and ten seconds doing so.
moonman239 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 02:13 PM   #14
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kage207 View Post
The site states that the GSM model supports bands 4 & 17 while CDMA supports 1, 3, 5, 13, 25. So it all depends on what your carrier is supporting. Though there is another GSM model that supports different bands (1, 3, 5).
Mobistar is probably using the A1429 that is being used by other carriers in the eastern hemisphere.
http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/

I'd suspect that they switched the OP from one A1429 to the other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnirai View Post
Are there any consequences by having a CDMA iPhone 5?
Nope. It really makes no difference for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonman239 View Post
Wait, I thought the iPhone was a dual-band phone.
The 5's are multi band and multi mode. Take a look a the specs page posted earlier. All models are quad band GSM and UMTS. CDMA model has dual band CDMA. LTE varies by model.

Last edited by takeshi74; Jan 4, 2013 at 02:25 PM.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Find out iPhone 5 Model number (CDMA + GSM or GSM) neworderdude iPhone 4 Sep 10, 2013 03:15 PM
What model is my iPhone 5, GSM or CDMA? snerkler iPhone 5 Jun 16, 2013 11:39 AM
iPhone 5 model A1429 GSM or CDMA? TSX iPhone 6 Apr 22, 2013 06:12 AM
Use GSM Straight Talk Service on Unlocked CDMA iphone? Sunsean iPhone 15 Dec 15, 2012 11:08 PM
iPhone 5 model A1429 CDMA on GSM networks ? soya iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2012 10:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC