Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:05 AM   #1
CtotheP
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Upgrade RAM out of the box, before turning on?

Just got my new Mini this morning. I'm assuming I should boot up first to make sure everything is good before upgrading to 16gb? Or can I just unscrew, upgrade, then boot up for the first time?

Thanks in advance!
CtotheP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:09 AM   #2
MultiFinder17
macrumors 65816
 
MultiFinder17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
No problem with upgrading it before you turn it on. It doesn't really matter either way - I'd just go ahead and go for it personally. On the off chance that you try and boot it and it has issues, just swap the old RAM back in and see if that helps.
__________________
2011 iMac, iMac G5, 2012 Air, ThinkPad X200, iPad mini, iPhone 5.
"...But there is one more thing - your patience was worth it. Introducing the PowerBook G5!" - Steve Jobs Hologram @ WWDC 2014
MultiFinder17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 08:47 AM   #3
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
My opinion is to boot it up first. Make sure you didn't get a lemon before you even bother to start upgrading. Otherwise, you won't know if it is the new ram causing problems or something completely different. Just my .02 worth. Granted, if all you are doing is upgrading the RAM it may not make a difference since that swap is fairly simple. I definitely don't recommend upgrading the hard drive (I know that isn't in your current upgrade plans) until after you have had a successful boot.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:18 AM   #4
JimT1701
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Massachusetts
I changed the RAM before first boot myself. Worked fine no issues been running all day since the 29th. 16GB Corsair Vengence RAM.
__________________
Mac Pro 1,1 - 8GB - 5770HD - Samsung SSD - 2x Dell U2412M + 1x Dell 2007FP - 8TB Drobo S eSATA
JimT1701 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:56 AM   #5
jhfenton
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I did it that way when I got my base Mac mini (Late 2012) a few weeks ago. I ordered the RAM about the time that the Mac arrived and ordered an SSD a few days later, so I was pretty confident that the Mac was trouble-free before I swapped out the RAM a few days later. I waited another few days before I installed the SSD because that ran an even higher risk of my causing trouble.

But all has been great, I'm happy to say.
jhfenton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:01 AM   #6
spartacvs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I turned on mine first before installing any ram and ssd, testing the computer to see if it's working properly out of the box.
__________________
2012 13" cMBP 16GB Ram, 256GB Crucial M4 SSD
2008 13" White Macbook 2GB Ram, 60GB HDD
2009 Mac Mini 8GB Ram, 128GB Sandisk SSD
iPad 3 16GB
spartacvs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:20 AM   #7
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Having done a few hundred machines. I can only say; " do you feel lucky" .


If you are putting in ram and nothing else sure why not.

I had 2 bad minis out of 200 plus. The first one was a ssd/ram replacement and was done without a pre test. That was in 2009.

Since then i pre test every mini. All the 2010 and newer I turn upside down rest on soft cloth remove the black cover and boot.



I look to see the fan spinning.

I look to see that hard wire net connection works .

I open the about your mac to see if I have the machine I paid for.

I power off and do mods.


Since I have done this I had 1 disconnected fan on a 2011

I had a cracked ram holder.

I had a few refurbs with better ram and 1 refurb with better hdd.

So if you have one machine the chances are 99 or 98 out of 100 that just dropping in ram without a boot is okay.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:30 PM   #8
CtotheP
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I "felt lucky" and just installed. Booted up just fine, and I'm on my way!!!
CtotheP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird freezing and display issues after ram upgrade and OS X upgrade. MobsterMac MacBook Pro 6 Jul 29, 2014 06:26 AM
High page outs after ram upgrade and Mtn lion upgrade Squiggles13 MacBook Pro 1 Dec 7, 2012 08:57 PM
13" MBP RAM upgrade = HD3000 VRAM upgrade? Doggman MacBook Pro 5 Aug 17, 2012 03:47 AM
Worth Turning 1,1 into Gaming Box? (Windows only) svale Mac Pro 6 Jul 10, 2012 06:26 PM
Turning a Mac Pro G5 into a Media Server/Box thenation7 PowerPC Macs 1 Jul 3, 2012 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC