Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:26 AM   #1
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
External Thunderbolt with 4 bays needed

Is there anything out there for a good price? I need more than 8TB.
Tossing up if i should use a USB 3.0 instead which are really cheap
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:59 PM   #2
Chris5488
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Belgium
Promise Pegasus R4

Link to Apple store: http://store.apple.com/us/product/H5...tb-raid-system

You can buy an empty one and fill it yourself with the drives you need.
It's the only Thunderbolt device I could find. Others are USB3.0.

However, it's a lot cheaper to buy a NAS and connect it to your gigabit-network using ethernet-cables while your computer is also connected to your network using ethernet-cables. It'll be blazing fast too.
Chris5488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 04:04 PM   #3
MCAsan
macrumors 68030
 
MCAsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
LaCie 4kbig quadra. I use LaCie 2big 6tb thunderbolt running as 3tb raid 1 mirrored.
__________________
Retina MBP 11,3 2.6GHz | 16GB | 1TB
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 6 | Silver | 128GB | Unlocked
iPad Air 2 | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 06:46 PM   #4
musio
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
MC, that's USB 2.0 and I need more than 8tb.

Chris, thanks for checking but the Pegasus looks expensive. It's a shame g raid don't do a 4 bay TB/USB 3 unit.

Didn't want a NAS on the network at all. Hoping for a DAS. Maybe a drobo
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:12 PM   #5
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
MC, that's USB 2.0 and I need more than 8tb.

Chris, thanks for checking but the Pegasus looks expensive. It's a shame g raid don't do a 4 bay TB/USB 3 unit.

Didn't want a NAS on the network at all. Hoping for a DAS. Maybe a drobo
Have a look at Datoptic.

http://www.datoptic.com/data-storage...subsystem.html

Their stuff actually gets really good reviews, and it's all hardware. Very nice. And extremely well priced.
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 10:36 PM   #6
MCAsan
macrumors 68030
 
MCAsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
MC, that's USB 2.0 and I need more than 8tb.

LaCie 4big Quadra USB 3.0
4-Bay RAID | USB 3.0 | FireWire 800
Built for Pros. Performance and Security for All.
USB 3.0 Speed: Up to 245MB/s
Multi-interface for PC/Mac compatibility
RAID 5 and hot-swap for speed with security
Aluminum enclosure and quiet operation
Capacity : 8TB or 12TB


http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10601
__________________
Retina MBP 11,3 2.6GHz | 16GB | 1TB
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 6 | Silver | 128GB | Unlocked
iPad Air 2 | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 12:52 AM   #7
jmcgeejr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
Is there anything out there for a good price? I need more than 8TB.
Tossing up if i should use a USB 3.0 instead which are really cheap
Not to sound like a dick but did anyone read the part about GOOD PRICE, so far the only recommendations I have seen are around $800USD and more. I must be in the wrong tax bracket if that's what you guys consider a good price
jmcgeejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 01:36 AM   #8
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgeejr View Post
Not to sound like a dick but did anyone read the part about GOOD PRICE, so far the only recommendations I have seen are around $800USD and more. I must be in the wrong tax bracket if that's what you guys consider a good price
TB/eSATA/USB3 for $800 is a steal...

Not to counter-dick, but you do realize you still need to fill whatever bay you get with decent hard drives right? Those are going to cost you three times that. You really shouldn't be using standard drives in a RAID5. WD RE drives or Hitachi Ultrastars is what you are looking at.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 08:55 AM   #9
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgeejr View Post
Not to sound like a dick but did anyone read the part about GOOD PRICE, so far the only recommendations I have seen are around $800USD and more. I must be in the wrong tax bracket if that's what you guys consider a good price
I agree that it sounds very expensive, but I Agree with Jester. $800 for TB/USB3/eSATA with a built in RAID controller is awesome. When it comes to big data storage, you do have to pay to play. I've been looking into this for over a year, and have gone back and forth with buying a pre-built solution versus building a NAS, and for me I really want a DAS like this, and I want something rock solid. I'm also paranoid, so when I build mine I'm going to have to double up. So I'm looking at

$850 enclosure
5 x $200 (at least) HD's
Total = $1850

Then double that, for double storage = $3700. Ouch. But that would give redundant 15 - 20 Tb storage.
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 02:07 PM   #10
g4cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcgeejr View Post
Not to sound like a dick but did anyone read the part about GOOD PRICE, so far the only recommendations I have seen are around $800USD and more. I must be in the wrong tax bracket if that's what you guys consider a good price
Define good price, and more people may be able to help guide you to a solution.

Check out ebay for used large capacity drives, and then ask yourself why such a large drive is being offered at a lower price than a new drive.

there are deals to be had for 1TB, 2TB, and 3TB bare drives, but 4TB drives are still a premium. Have seen new 3TB for $140 and 4TB for $280.

Time to move into that higher tax bracket to get what you want.
g4cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 02:49 PM   #11
flynz4
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
TB/eSATA/USB3 for $800 is a steal...

Not to counter-dick, but you do realize you still need to fill whatever bay you get with decent hard drives right? Those are going to cost you three times that. You really shouldn't be using standard drives in a RAID5. WD RE drives or Hitachi Ultrastars is what you are looking at.
Agree... you really should have enterprise drives for RAID. They have better command queueing depth and other features that can prevent issues.

My Pegasus R4 comes with four 2TB Hitachi Ultrastars. They also warn against using non-enterprise drives... and have a published drive compatibility list.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:50 PM   #12
Joseph Farrugia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Malta (EU)
To the thread starter:

As has already been pointed out "enterprise drives" are recommended.
If you can live with cycling/rotating individual drives, the Seagate GoFlex Desk Thunderbolt adapter is great & has a secondary TB pass through.
It also works great with 3.5" & 2.5" bare drives (not necessarily enterprise grade) as well as SSDs, which you can cycle/rotate on a regular basis, using CCC/SuperDuper as well as TM.

Hope this helps,
JF

Last edited by stridemat; Jan 6, 2013 at 05:05 PM. Reason: Removed quote
Joseph Farrugia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 04:09 PM   #13
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJJZ View Post
You really shouldn't be using standard drives in a RAID5. WD RE drives or Hitachi Ultrastars is what you are looking at.
Or WD Red.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 06:36 PM   #14
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Lacie just released this. 5 x TB storage.

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10607

It's actually pretty damn well priced!

edit: bah, that sucks. No raid 5. FAIL!
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:57 AM   #15
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chambord View Post
Lacie just released this. 5 x TB storage.

http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?id=10607

It's actually pretty damn well priced!

edit: bah, that sucks. No raid 5. FAIL!
Wow, with user-servicable disks! Too bad it can't be ordered "empty". Otherwise I'd probably jump on that one! Stylish, elegant, seems very good and easy to upgrade!

A shame it doesn't have RAID 5 but RAID 1 is pretty good too, although you lose more storage.
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:07 AM   #16
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Or WD Red.
Not if you're looking for performance. those RED drives like like server grade Green drives. Variable spindle speed rotation isn't something you want in a high performance RAID.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 06:28 AM   #17
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
Wow, with user-servicable disks! Too bad it can't be ordered "empty". Otherwise I'd probably jump on that one! Stylish, elegant, seems very good and easy to upgrade!

A shame it doesn't have RAID 5 but RAID 1 is pretty good too, although you lose more storage.
How would RAID1 work with 5 drives though?
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:09 AM   #18
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chambord View Post
How would RAID1 work with 5 drives though?
On the product page they list the different RAID configurations, you can view them on the link that was posted in this thread!
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:29 AM   #19
chambord
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
On the product page they list the different RAID configurations, you can view them on the link that was posted in this thread!
Ahhh. Thank you, I went to the product page and viewed the configs. That makes sense, I hadn't considered using multiple smaller configs. I think I'd still opt for the Datoptic thunderbolt RAID015 unit posted earlier in this thread.

**** man, the lack of USB3 just kills me on my macs. To get comparable speeds it's such a big upgrade to go to thunderbolt that it just adds hundreds and hudnreds to the price. That datoptic unit is $200 more expensive in thunderbolt, so if I got two of them, it's $400 extra. For that I may as well upgrade my Mac mini server to a new unit w/ USB3 and sell the old one. I'd probably come out ahead that way.
chambord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:44 PM   #20
musio
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Shame you can't buy it empty!
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:49 PM   #21
jmcgeejr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
Shame you can't buy it empty!
If you could buy it empty for $500 I would drop the cash on it.
jmcgeejr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 05:51 PM   #22
g4cube
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by musio View Post
Shame you can't buy it empty!
Not really much of a premium. Sell the drives you don't want on ebay, then stuff with you own drives.

Or wait for the typical reseller discounts when it ships in volume.

Compare to the price of an empty j4 or drobo.
g4cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:22 PM   #23
TigerClaw27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4cube View Post
...
Compare to the price of an empty j4 or drobo.
What is the price for an empty j4? I haven't been able to find it anywhere.
TigerClaw27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:13 PM   #24
qamaro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerClaw27 View Post
What is the price for an empty j4? I haven't been able to find it anywhere.
Promise J4 (empty) on Amazon
__________________
2012 - 27" iMac i7, | ARECA-8050 32TB | 2012 - MacMini i7 | 2012 Sony Vaio Z - Win8
2009 - MacBook Pro 17" | 2008 Water Cooled PC
Marqelexsis Photography | Facebook
qamaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 12:00 AM   #25
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris5488 View Post
Promise Pegasus R4

Link to Apple store: http://store.apple.com/us/product/H5...tb-raid-system

You can buy an empty one and fill it yourself with the drives you need.
It's the only Thunderbolt device I could find. Others are USB3.0.

However, it's a lot cheaper to buy a NAS and connect it to your gigabit-network using ethernet-cables while your computer is also connected to your network using ethernet-cables. It'll be blazing fast too.
Where can an empty Pegasus R4 be purchased?

I have a Drobo full of drives I would like to transfer to a R4.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are 3rd Party External Enclosures as Reliable as Internal SATA2 Bays? cinealta Mac Pro 35 Dec 18, 2013 02:54 AM
Mac/Thunderbolt Backup Solution Needed Minuteman3 Mac Pro 4 Dec 4, 2013 07:48 AM
Keeping a thunderbolt external hdd connected to a Thunderbolt Display? shorn Mac Peripherals 11 Jul 29, 2013 06:05 PM
Diskless ThunderBolt or USB3 Drive Cases/Bays? Johnf1285 Mac Peripherals 13 Jan 23, 2013 01:57 PM
Thunderbolt Hard Drives - advice needed siritalks Mac Peripherals 5 Sep 8, 2012 09:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC