Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:52 AM   #1
vkd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Lightbulb eMac G4 1Ghz 10.4.11 > 9.2.2

Hi,
I recently acquired an eMac g4 that has Tiger 10.4.11 installed which in turn has the classic environment within it 9.2.2. I got it because I want to play the Tomb Raider Trilogy series on it, that's the original TR1, 2 and 3 games. They all need the classic mode to run. Unfortunately however, the TR1 game is slightly buggy, the Lara figure has no midriff; between her top piece and shorts she is invisible or see-through! Also the passport feature has no words on it, to save, load, exit etc., although the pages do flip. The controls feature also don't work, ie. the keyboard and graphics customisation.

I can't see any way of fixing these things, that ONLY occur in the TR1 game, whilst the TR2 & 3 run faultlessly. I was thinking of making a dual boot mode on the machine with Mac OS 9 and 10 in separate partitions. Does anyone know if I could do that? Will this machine boot OS 9? Most importantly, would it fix the problem?

Any other helpful ideas?
vkd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:59 AM   #2
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Yes you can dual boot.
About if you machine can boot os9:
Quote:
*Only the original "Combo" drive configuration (M8950LL/A) is capable of booting into Mac OS 9.
http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl.../emac_1.0.html
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:47 AM   #3
blesscheese
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central CA
My understanding was that you can *not* dual boot the consumer version, but that the education version (available in special configurations) was able to, for at least the initial run.

I would say try it, but clone your drive before you try it, so you can restore things back to they way things were, if it doesn't work out.

Looks like the full quote from the everymac site is:

Quote:
Please note that the "Combo" drive configuration (M8950LL/A) is capable of booting in both MacOS 9 and MacOS X. The second "Combo" configuration (M9252LL/A) and "SuperDrive" configurations (M8951LL/A and M8951LL/A), however, *cannot* boot in MacOS 9. These are capable of running MacOS 9 applications within the MacOS X "Classic" environment provided by MacOS X 10.4.11 and earlier.
So...if you can't find the part number on the thing, see if you can burn a DVD. If you can, then you can't boot in OS 9. I would get the part number off the thing first...that would save you a lot of time and heartache, if you go through all the work to just find out it never would have worked in the first place.
blesscheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:18 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
All eMacs that are 700Mhz and 800Mhz can boot OS 9.2.2. Some 1Ghz eMacs can boot OS 9.2.2, even with a SuperDrive. If your eMac has USB 1.1 ports, it can boot OS 9.2.2. Some of the later USB 1.1 models may have to be tinkered with before it'll install, by they'll run it.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 06:01 PM   #5
vkd
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Ok so looks like it will boot OS 9. Next thing is, can I make a USB stick and install OS 9 from there? I haven't burned a CD for years! I got a .dmg of 9.2.2 but I'm not sure how to get it onto a USB
vkd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 06:02 PM   #6
Lil Chillbil
macrumors 65816
 
Lil Chillbil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkd View Post
Ok so looks like it will boot OS 9. Next thing is, can I make a USB stick and install OS 9 from there? I haven't burned a CD for years! I got a .dmg of 9.2.2 but I'm not sure how to get it onto a USB
it will be terribly slow booting on usb 1.1 may I strongly recommend a firewire drive
__________________
Check out my youtube Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/TheKull101
Mac skinned pc Luna netbook
Lil Chillbil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 10:50 AM   #7
vkd
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
it will be terribly slow booting on usb 1.1 may I strongly recommend a firewire drive
Hm. I'd love to but it's out of the question unfortunately. :/

I tried to restore the OS 9 .dmg to a USB stick in Disk Utility but I couldn't get it to work. Does anyone have any experience of how to do this?
vkd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:11 PM   #8
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
OS 9 can't boot from a USB device.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:16 PM   #9
vkd
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
OS 9 can't boot from a USB device.
Looks like 'Game Over'
vkd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 05:04 PM   #10
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Chillbil View Post
it will be terribly slow booting on usb 1.1 may I strongly recommend a firewire drive
Quote:
Originally Posted by vkd View Post
Looks like 'Game Over'
Unless you get a firewire drive. You probably can get a CD/DVD drive inexpensively on eBay. I know my local Goodwill had one for $20.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 01:57 PM   #11
jgreesonfay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Emac boot to Classic hassle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
All eMacs that are 700Mhz and 800Mhz can boot OS 9.2.2. Some 1Ghz eMacs can boot OS 9.2.2, even with a SuperDrive. If your eMac has USB 1.1 ports, it can boot OS 9.2.2. Some of the later USB 1.1 models may have to be tinkered with before it'll install, by they'll run it.
Hi; I need to be able to boot an Emac I recently bought into Mac OS9, but I just read that the one I have which has a Superdrive isn't bootable into OS9. Your comment says it can be tinkered with to work. I don't know how to determine if my Emac has USB 1.1 or not. I don't have any documentation on it except for the System Profiler. It says the PCI Device IS is 0x0019and the revision ID is 0x0001 The Host Controller Driver is AppleUSBOHCI.

Any help you can offer me will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jim Greeson
jgreesonfay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 02:18 PM   #12
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgreesonfay View Post
Hi; I need to be able to boot an Emac I recently bought into Mac OS9, but I just read that the one I have which has a Superdrive isn't bootable into OS9. Your comment says it can be tinkered with to work. I don't know how to determine if my Emac has USB 1.1 or not. I don't have any documentation on it except for the System Profiler. It says the PCI Device IS is 0x0019and the revision ID is 0x0001 The Host Controller Driver is AppleUSBOHCI.

Any help you can offer me will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jim Greeson
Connect a USB drive to that iMac and copy something large to it. If the copied data increments up by 1.5 megabytes, you have USB 1.1. If it goes up by increments larger than 1.5 megabytes, you have USB 2.0 and cannot run Mac OS 9.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 03:14 PM   #13
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Decode eMac's serial number with one of popular decoding sites (klantenservice or else) and you'll know exact model, production year etc. Then visit everymac.com and see what their database says about your particular model.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7 in 21.5" iMac? benjamwes iMac 5 May 10, 2013 04:07 PM
Best OS for PB G4 1ghz? Noctilux.95 PowerPC Macs 12 May 2, 2013 11:43 PM
2.9GHz i5 or 3.1GHz i7 ? lisa360 iMac 8 Feb 3, 2013 11:33 AM
i7 3.1GHz : Real world uses? virginblue4 iMac 4 Jan 10, 2013 07:14 PM
Need Original Install Disc for TI 1GHz pfaffian PowerPC Macs 0 Jan 4, 2013 07:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC