Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:30 AM   #26
cheekypaul
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
alternatively

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidlv View Post
Hi, new to this forum, so hi everyone.
Back when we were all running Panther and then Tiger, I bought an application called Volume Logic (no longer available from the publisher) that processes music in iTunes real-time. There was a hack using a component of iWow to get the app working under Leopard, and that worked fine, but the introduction of Snow Leopard zapped that. I am not a professional musician nor do I work in a music studio and I have a limited budget for speakers, etc. So I found Volume Logic great in combination with my low-cost sub-woofer and satellite speakers. Is there a comparative Snow Leopard compatible software available?
Or a workaround to get olume Logic working under SL?

you can also use something like audiohijack and monitor the sound through any number of volume logic type plug ins, like multiband compression. or go crazy with reverb and flange!
but the replies above me are also great solutions.
cheekypaul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 09:23 AM   #27
fabricepsb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixmymac View Post
My pleasure...

I have attached the iTea file from the very latest version of SRS iWow. All you need to do is replace the iTea file within the VolumeLogic.plugin with this newer version and then set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode.

To find your existing iTea file, do the following...

Go to MacintoshHD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL. Your VolumeLogic.plugin file should be there. Right-click on it and select 'Show Package Contents'. Go to Contents/MacOS and you should see the iTea file.

Drag the attached iTea into the MacOS folder and authenticate to replace the existing one.

Let me know if this makes your day ;-)

PS. iTunes crashes if you try to run it in 32-bit mode with the old iTea file in place. Once the new iTea file is in place, iTunes will crash if you try to run it in 64-bit mode!!! However, VolumeLogic works... so who gives a damn??
GREAT
Thank you fixmymac : I used VL with iTunes 11 (32 bits) and Volume Logic with Snow Leopard. Yesterday i decided to install Mac OS Lion and of course VL couldn't work until your very precious help.
Sorry for my bad english and thank you again : Last night fixmymac saved my music

I have a question : when i buy a new mac, will it go on working in Mountain Lion ?
Can iTunes 11 work on a 32 bits mode ?
fabricepsb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:20 AM   #28
Lovely T
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Re-install VL

Hello there

I've tried to re-install VL but I've got the message "This installer requires admin privileges to run" but I'm the admin on my computer. (OS 10.8)

Anybody can help me please ?

I really miss VL

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Lovely T; Jan 7, 2013 at 09:21 AM. Reason: i forgot to specify my OS
Lovely T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:24 PM   #29
fixmymac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ormiston, East Lothian, Scotland
Send a message via AIM to fixmymac Send a message via MSN to fixmymac
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovely T View Post
Hello there

I've tried to re-install VL but I've got the message "This installer requires admin privileges to run" but I'm the admin on my computer. (OS 10.8)

Anybody can help me please ?

I really miss VL

Thanks in advance
Hi,

Try right-clicking on the installer package and selecting 'Show Package Contents'. Somewhere within the folder structure you will find the 'VolumeLogic.plugin' file. Move this file to Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>HAL.

Set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode and then launch it.

You may hit problems with activation.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by fabricepsb View Post
GREAT
Thank you fixmymac : I used VL with iTunes 11 (32 bits) and Volume Logic with Snow Leopard. Yesterday i decided to install Mac OS Lion and of course VL couldn't work until your very precious help.
Sorry for my bad english and thank you again : Last night fixmymac saved my music

I have a question : when i buy a new mac, will it go on working in Mountain Lion ?
Can iTunes 11 work on a 32 bits mode ?
Hi,

iTunes 11 can still be run in 32-bit mode in Mountain Lion and VL works fine if you follow my guide.
fixmymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:14 PM   #30
fabricepsb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixmymac View Post
Hi,

Try right-clicking on the installer package and selecting 'Show Package Contents'. Somewhere within the folder structure you will find the 'VolumeLogic.plugin' file. Move this file to Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>HAL.

Set iTunes to open in 32-bit mode and then launch it.

You may hit problems with activation.

----------



Hi,

iTunes 11 can still be run in 32-bit mode in Mountain Lion and VL works fine if you follow my guide.
Thank you fixmymac, i am happy that VL still works in ML for my next purchase of a new iMac
fabricepsb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2013, 12:06 PM   #31
fixmymac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ormiston, East Lothian, Scotland
Send a message via AIM to fixmymac Send a message via MSN to fixmymac
The end of VL?

Hi,

The latest 10.9 Mavericks Developer Preview included the iTunes update that has been released today. 32-bit mode is no longer possible, despite being there in the Get Info window. iTunes insists on 64-bit mode to launch.

VL no longer works :-(
fixmymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2013, 06:11 AM   #32
angelsevov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
i just saw it. ******* it says To run iTunes in 64-bit mode, select the iTunes application in the Finder, choose the “Get Info” command in the File menu, and uncheck the “Open in 32-bit mode” checkbox in the iTunes Info window.

no more Volume Logic i need a replacment for this plug in
angelsevov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 06:56 AM   #33
ConstantineV
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Volume Logic solution for Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelsevov View Post
i just saw it. ******* it says To run iTunes in 64-bit mode, select the iTunes application in the Finder, choose the “Get Info” command in the File menu, and uncheck the “Open in 32-bit mode” checkbox in the iTunes Info window.

no more Volume Logic i need a replacment for this plug in
Hi to all Volume Logic connoisseurs out there,

If you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.

Hope this helps, I cannot live without Volume Logic in iTunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for iTunes.

cheers,

Constantine
ConstantineV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2013, 03:34 PM   #34
fabricepsb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by constantinev View Post
hi to all volume logic connoisseurs out there,

if you, like me, have been using volume logic to compress itunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit itunes on mavericks 10.9:

1) run audio hijack pro and select itunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) in the ahp pull-down menu, select about plugins
3) in the window that pops-up, select load and navigate to where the volumelogic plugin resides, that would be hd>library>audio>plugins>hal>volumelogic. Do not worry about loading the itea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do show package contents to resolve this. Just select vl from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) go back to ahp and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select itea effect>volume logic.
5) hit hijack in ahp and enjoy volume logic again, in mavericks.

Hope this helps, i cannot live without volume logic in itunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for itunes.

Cheers,

constantine
thank you constantine, it works

Last edited by fabricepsb; Nov 2, 2013 at 07:54 AM.
fabricepsb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2014, 09:02 PM   #35
angelsevov
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConstantineV View Post
Hi to all Volume Logic connoisseurs out there,

If you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.

Hope this helps, I cannot live without Volume Logic in iTunes, simply the best audio plugin ever developed for iTunes.

cheers,

Constantine
THANK U u are great
angelsevov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2014, 11:58 PM   #36
godzfire
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
I also came here just to say 'THANK YOU' for discovering this method. Ironically enough, I use Audio Hijack Pro anyway to record a radio show I listen to. One less obstacle before updating 10.9.

By the way, the original creator of Volume Logic, Claesson Edwards, created essentially a sequel/successor plugin to it called BreakAway Audio (http://www.claessonedwards.com/index...=46&Itemid=135). Unfortunately, it's Windows only, despite many people's requests to see it ported. :-(
godzfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2014, 07:24 PM   #37
DracoDWS
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Still available?

I just came across this page after looking in my Serial Numbers folder at all my old stuff. I found my Volume Logic serial and it looks like people have been getting it to work in 10.9 Maverics and iTunes 11?

Does anyone have a link to the last available version of the plugin?
DracoDWS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2014, 05:55 AM   #38
fabricepsb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DracoDWS View Post
I just came across this page after looking in my Serial Numbers folder at all my old stuff. I found my Volume Logic serial and it looks like people have been getting it to work in 10.9 Maverics and iTunes 11?

Does anyone have a link to the last available version of the plugin?
this is the last version i Use in 10.9.3 Maverics and iTunes 11.2.1 and it works perfectly.
I recommend you to use Audio highjack Pro 2.10.10 (the all new last version),

And don't forget to apply Constantine's help :

f you, like me, have been using Volume Logic to compress iTunes audio for years and cannot do without it, here is a good solution to get it back and running in 64-bit iTunes on Mavericks 10.9:

1) Run Audio Hijack Pro and select iTunes as the source input application in the left-hand side of the main window.
2) In the AHP pull-down menu, select About Plugins
3) In the window that pops-up, select Load and navigate to where the VolumeLogic plugin resides, that would be HD>Library>Audio>Plugins>HAL>VolumeLogic. Do not worry about loading the iTea resource file manually, it will load up automatically, you do not have to do Show Package Contents to resolve this. Just select VL from where it lives in the plugins folder and move on to the next step.
4) Go back to AHP and in the main window select an empty effects slot, in the pull-down sub-menu that appears simply select iTea effect>Volume Logic.
5) Hit hijack in AHP and enjoy Volume Logic again, in Mavericks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip VL.zip (1.11 MB, 17 views)
fabricepsb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBP Logic board replacement Tej0 MacBook Pro 4 May 2, 2014 09:57 AM
What does a logic board replacement entail ? crustyjugglers MacBook Pro 5 May 2, 2014 08:50 AM
Logic Board Replacement sphirexx MacBook Pro 7 Apr 22, 2014 03:52 PM
Logic Board Replacement - Help! undesign MacBook Pro 6 Nov 23, 2013 08:09 PM
LOGIC X Hyper Draw? (Pan/Volume) DocStone Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Aug 13, 2013 07:44 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC