Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2013, 02:58 PM   #1
sabika
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Straighttalk not compatible with locked iPhone

Do not sign up for straight talk service with a locked iphone, despite information to the contrary from the ST website. Maybe this is a change with iOS 6 but I have been unable to get anything other than voice on my locked AT&T iphone with iOS 6.0.1. After trying various strategies suggested on line (including SIM switch) I worked with ST customer service on line for a day, then called the Miami office number. That person stated unequivocably that ST will not work (other than voice) with a locked iphone.
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 03:00 PM   #2
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
yes it works on a locked phone

you have to configure 3g after

MMS and VVM will not work without further tweaks
dukebound85 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 03:03 PM   #3
sabika
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I don't care about MMS so am not interested in tweaking for that service, but it is not possible to get data service on my phone at least. This includes SIM card switch and downloading the APN profile from iapnupdate.straighttalk.com.

If you have a secret, please share!
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 03:04 PM   #4
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabika View Post
I don't care about MMS so am not interested in tweaking for that service, but it is not possible to get data service on my phone at least. This includes SIM card switch and downloading the APN profile from iapnupdate.straighttalk.com.

If you have a secret, please share!
go to unlockit.co.nz on your iphone in safari and select the straight talk apn
dukebound85 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 03:06 PM   #5
sabika
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Yes, tried that several times as well, no luck.
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 04:33 PM   #6
Bawstun
macrumors 6502a
 
Bawstun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
It should work. What happens when you go to unlockit.nz and get the StraightTalk APN? That is all I had to do. Locked iPhone here...
Bawstun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 04:34 PM   #7
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
It works fine for everyone else.
You just gotta install the correct apn config settings for data to work.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 05:55 PM   #8
DerekRod
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
By all means if it makes you feel better go pay 4 bucks on ebay to have it unlocked
DerekRod is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 08:03 PM   #9
jdlorinser
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
The foolproof way by the1law:

First off, remove the the unlockit.co.nz APN from the iphone. If you didn't download an APN then skip this step. If you don't remove it will screw it all up every time you try to change the APN settings. I forgot where it is but it's somewhere in settings, general... maybe under Cellular. It will say delete APN in red. Or you can reset the network settings to factory. Settings, general, reset, reset network settings. I would advise to do both.

1. Double click on the home button and close every single app.

2. Open the Notes app

3. Go to Settings > General

4. Insert the T-Mobile SIM (can be brand new/unactivated OR an old one that has had service) will bring up the Cellular option

5. Go into Settings > General > Reset > Reset network settings. Reset the network.

6. Go into Settings > General > Cellular > Cellular Data Network when it shows up

7. Immediately take out the T-Mobile SIM and put the Straight Talk SIM back in while in the Cellular Data Network tab

8. Multitask between Cellular Data Network and the Notes app back and forth until the default non-working data & MMS APN are automatically entered. It is important to wait until the default APN settings show up

For those of you who don't know, click the home button twice to multitask between the two.

9. Once the APNs do show up, edit them manually

Cellular Data

APN: att.mvno

Username: *blank*

Password: *blank*





MMS

APN: att.mvno

Username: *blank*

Password: *blank*

MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com

MMS Proxy: 66.209.11.33:80

MMS Max Message Size: 1048576

MMS UA Prof URL: http://www.apple.com/mms/uaprof.rdf


10. Go toggle Airplane Mode on and off, and then turn your iphone off and then back on


After Step 10, check that your data & mms ARE working. Then turn off your phone one more time and then back on again. Check data & mms again. Data should work but mms might not. If it doesn't, try this; go into Settings > Cellular > then toggle Cellular Data off and back on and everything should be working.

If it's not working for you, reset the network settings and try again.

Last edited by jdlorinser; Mar 20, 2013 at 07:48 AM.
jdlorinser is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 07:22 PM   #10
nfl46
macrumors 601
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Considering doing this tomorrow. Does this work with an locked AT&T iPhone 5 as well?
__________________
| 32GB Apple iPhone 5S | 13" MacBook Pro | 2nd Generation Apple TV |
nfl46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 08:11 PM   #11
Bawstun
macrumors 6502a
 
Bawstun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfl46 View Post
Considering doing this tomorrow. Does this work with an locked AT&T iPhone 5 as well?
Yes, but you will need to cut down your StraightTalk microsim in order for it to fit, since Apple uses a new nano-sized SIM for iP5.

How to link here: http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-con...-for-iphone-5/ also there are several YouTube videos that show this being done.
Bawstun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 10:35 PM   #12
isephmusic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i just got my straight talk sim, i activated it with 45 $ monthly unlimited everything. and it really is unlimited for me, most people get throttled at 2gigs a month but i dont because i had this proxy ;] anyway once you get your sim cut it down with a nano sim cutter off amazon for 5 bucks. then either do the unlockit.co.nz crap or if u want MMS

unlock phone with ebay code or atnt store

then enter t mobile sim off their site its 99 cents at the moment and follow the steps posted above. do not tell anyone that straight talk is not working with iphone 5. it is and here in jersey im getting 4mbs down almost anywhere and even 2 mb in my basement. loads pages instatly and can even install apps within 20 seconds. so dont spread lies you little mis informed guy
isephmusic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:27 AM   #13
nfl46
macrumors 601
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bawstun View Post
Yes, but you will need to cut down your StraightTalk microsim in order for it to fit, since Apple uses a new nano-sized SIM for iP5.

How to link here: http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-con...-for-iphone-5/ also there are several YouTube videos that show this being done.
Thanks! So, I need to order the $15 MicroSIM from ST off their website, then go to Walmart and get one of those $45 cards? I hope this works!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by isephmusic View Post
i just got my straight talk sim, i activated it with 45 $ monthly unlimited everything. and it really is unlimited for me, most people get throttled at 2gigs a month but i dont because i had this proxy ;] anyway once you get your sim cut it down with a nano sim cutter off amazon for 5 bucks. then either do the unlockit.co.nz crap or if u want MMS

unlock phone with ebay code or atnt store

then enter t mobile sim off their site its 99 cents at the moment and follow the steps posted above. do not tell anyone that straight talk is not working with iphone 5. it is and here in jersey im getting 4mbs down almost anywhere and even 2 mb in my basement. loads pages instatly and can even install apps within 20 seconds. so dont spread lies you little mis informed guy
Nice! I'm assuming you had a locked AT&T iPhone before hand? This is going to save me $150 a month!
nfl46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 09:22 AM   #14
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
FWIW, I have an unlocked AT&T iP5 with Net10, and both MMS and Facetime over cellular work.

First I cut my Net10 sim to fit, and activated it. After that, here's what I did.

I unlocked the iPhone by chatting online with a AT&T CS rep, which took all of 5 minutes, then backed up and restored in iTunes. After getting the "congratulations" screen, I unplugged it, and set it up as a new iPhone. I then attached it to my wifi network, pointed Safari to iapnupdate.net10.com, and installed the APN profile from there. Next I added my new Net10 phone number to my Apple ID account, and configured Messages and Facetime to use it under Settings. That's it.

I don't know if those steps are exactly what you have to do, but it's what I did and they are working.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | iPad Air 128GB (Space Grey)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:23 PM   #15
sabika
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
So I got the phone unlocked, did a restore, got the you are unlocked message, then installed the apn and..... everything worked! Even MMS!

Then, the next day, I stupidly turned imessage off in settings, in response to a notification below the on/off toggle. After that, no data, SMS, MMS, (after turning imessage back on). I've done a couple more restores, tried various APNs, went into ibackupbot and checked to see that the settings were correct (listing att.mvno). Did a restore on another computer, got the unlocked message again, but still could not get data.

Waited an hour on hold with ST customer support before giving up.

So, maybe this is not meant to be, but I'd welcome any ideas.
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:26 PM   #16
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfl46 View Post
Thanks! So, I need to order the $15 MicroSIM from ST off their website, then go to Walmart and get one of those $45 cards? I hope this works!

----------



Nice! I'm assuming you had a locked AT&T iPhone before hand? This is going to save me $150 a month!
you can buy plans off the site too

@sabika, how did you get mms to work soley from apn settings? I know it will work with imessage people when on wifi but not on cell or with other nonimessage people

Last edited by dukebound85; Jan 7, 2013 at 07:47 PM. Reason: clarify
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:33 PM   #17
sabika
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
MMS can work (without wifi). There are a couple of posts about using backupbot to modify settings then doing a restore to input the modified settings. Here is one

http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...ht_Talk_iPhone
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:45 PM   #18
nfl46
macrumors 601
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I ordered my ST microsim. It should be here this week. I'll update when I receive it and try it on my locked AT&T iPhone 5.
nfl46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:47 PM   #19
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabika View Post
MMS can work (without wifi). There are a couple of posts about using backupbot to modify settings then doing a restore to input the modified settings. Here is one

http://wiki.howardforums.com/index.p...ht_Talk_iPhone
yea, I have tried that in the past with no luck lol

Probably effing up a step
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:06 PM   #20
turkeyhntr22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I am so confued right now. I've been lurking around the sites and reading the pro's and con's of this switch. I'm right on the edge of doing it, but still a little hesitant. So, yall please help me with this.

1) Can Straight Talk be used with a locked iPhone 4 running the 6.0.1 firmware?
2) If I purchase the Straight Talk sim card, am I still going to be able to use MMS?
3) Is the T-Mobile sim card switch required or is there an easier method?
turkeyhntr22 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:10 PM   #21
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by turkeyhntr22 View Post
I am so confued right now. I've been lurking around the sites and reading the pro's and con's of this switch. I'm right on the edge of doing it, but still a little hesitant. So, yall please help me with this.

1) Can Straight Talk be used with a locked iPhone 4 running the 6.0.1 firmware?
2) If I purchase the Straight Talk sim card, am I still going to be able to use MMS?
3) Is the T-Mobile sim card switch required or is there an easier method?
1) yes
2) not out of the box. Have to do some tinkering such as jailbreak or the non jailbreak method as sabika described
3) I assume you mean to edit mms settings....It used to work for the 4s. Never the 4. Not sure if iOS 6 broke the ability
dukebound85 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:12 PM   #22
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by turkeyhntr22 View Post
I am so confued right now. I've been lurking around the sites and reading the pro's and con's of this switch. I'm right on the edge of doing it, but still a little hesitant. So, yall please help me with this.

1) Can Straight Talk be used with a locked iPhone 4 running the 6.0.1 firmware?
2) If I purchase the Straight Talk sim card, am I still going to be able to use MMS?
3) Is the T-Mobile sim card switch required or is there an easier method?
1 yes
2 yes
3 with a locked AT&T iPhone you won't be able to do the Tmobile sim switch.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 08:54 PM   #23
sabika
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
All I can say is that I spent days trying to get data service on a locked iphone 4S running 6.0.1. without success. The instructions to install an APN are pretty idiot proof so I don't think I could have screwed up that approach. I did not try a SIM switch with T mobile, but did try with the Verizon sim from my ipad. I'm not sure how much experience there is with locked phones running 6.0.1.

After an unlock, I had initial success but now back to square one.

So I think you're taking a chance and you could be paying $60 for a month of voice only service and a SIM card.
sabika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:28 PM   #24
Bawstun
macrumors 6502a
 
Bawstun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
You're literally one of the only users on the internet I have seen with this problem. I am running 6.0.1. as well FWIW.
Bawstun is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:43 PM   #25
Statusquick
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
This thread should be edited so it doesn't confuse people. I successfully activated straight talk on a friend's AT&T locked iPhone 4S 6.0.1 the same day this thread was made.

Some advice I gained from research:
If you edited the APN using unlockit, make sure you reset to its factory setting.

Turn off automatic carrier setting to give you more time between SIM card swaps.

Doesn't have to be t-mobile sim, I used a spare sprint 4s sim.

Make sure you give it some time when you pop in the straighttalk sim at the APN settings screen. Let it load "phone" before you begin (this took almost a full minute for me).

I hope this helps with any confusion.
Statusquick is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straighttalk Official iPhone 4 Inquiry Snafubar iPhone 2 Jan 26, 2014 09:58 PM
Unlocked iPhone 5 hotspot with Straighttalk gapperonduty iPhone 17 Jun 19, 2013 03:30 PM
Resolved: Straighttalk sim don't work on iPhone 5? jackwills iPhone 3 Mar 3, 2013 12:26 PM
Resolved: Is Straighttalk Nano Sim for iPhone 5 out on sale yet? jackwills iPhone 1 Feb 2, 2013 11:31 PM
iPhone 5 on StraightTalk rattler iPhone 2 Nov 23, 2012 02:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC