Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:10 AM   #1
Robbiemac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
HELP!!!! I can't open iTunes store

My itunes store wont open on my mac, it keeps saying "itunes could not connect to the itunes store. Make sure your network connection is active and try again". For days now I've tried everything I can think of to get to work. My Internet is working fine, I can open iTunes store on my iPads, iPhones etc, safari is working fine on my Mac, I've tried reinstalling iTunes, checked firewall settings, turned off router and Mac but still nothing. I'm running iTunes 11.0.1 mountain lion osx 10.8.2 and safari 6.0.2

Please help
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:16 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Have you tried repairing permissions.

What happens if you Login into another User Account, if you don't have one create one in System Preferences-Users and Groups and login to that account, does it work there?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:44 AM   #3
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Have you tried repairing permissions.

What happens if you Login into another User Account, if you don't have one create one in System Preferences-Users and Groups and login to that account, does it work there?
Thanx for the reply,

I just tried logging in on another account like you suggested, still nothing. How do I do a repairing permissions?
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:46 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Thanx for the reply,

I just tried logging in on another account like you suggested, still nothing. How do I do a repairing permissions?
Disk Permissions repair:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1452
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:51 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Thanx for the reply,

I just tried logging in on another account like you suggested, still nothing. How do I do a repairing permissions?
As above, in short, open Disk Utilities in /Applications/Utilities, then click on your boot up volume (Probably named Macintosh HD) and hit the repair permissions button.

Edit: If this does not work you might try reinstalling iTunes or install the old iTunes 10.7, doubt reinstalling iTunes 11 will make a difference though.
At least you tries to log into another account and it did not solve the problem, this indicates the problem does NOT point to your normal User Account but is system wide.
Is there anything in the following folders.

/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/Little Snitch
/Library/StartupItems

To go to the Library folder (it's invisible by default) hit Command-Shift-G and paste: /Library :in it and hit enter.
You could also move the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration to the desktop and restart, this resets all network settings.
**** move it don't delete it yet.

Last edited by justperry; Jan 8, 2013 at 02:03 AM.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:19 AM   #6
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
As above, in short, open Disk Utilities in /Applications/Utilities, then click on your boot up volume (Probably named Macintosh HD) and hit the repair permissions button.

Edit: If this does not work you might try reinstalling iTunes or install the old iTunes 10.7, doubt reinstalling iTunes 11 will make a difference though.
At least you tries to log into another account and it did not solve the problem, this indicates the problem does NOT point to your normal User Account but is system wide.
Is there anything in the following folders.

/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/Little Snitch
/Library/StartupItems

To go to the Library folder (it's invisible by default) hit Command-Shift-G and paste: /Library :in it and hit enter.
You could also move the /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration to the desktop and restart, this resets all network settings.
**** move it don't delete it yet.
Ok I've done the repair, still nothing.
In the LaunchDaemons folder there is
Com.adobe.fpsaud.plist
Com.microsoft.office.licensing.helper.plist
Com.trendmicro.itis.icore.agent.plist
in startupitems there is another folder icoreservice in that is
Icoreservice
Startupparameters.plist
And there is no little snitch folder
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:22 AM   #7
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Ok I've done the repair, still nothing.
In the LaunchDaemons folder there is
Com.adobe.fpsaud.plist
Com.microsoft.office.licensing.helper.plist
Com.trendmicro.itis.icore.agent.plist
in startupitems there is another folder icoreservice in that is
Icoreservice
Startupparameters.plist
And there is no little snitch folder
I think I'd go with a re-insatll of itunes as above....Something is corrupt...The Itunes service should be running ( you can check in activity monitor >all processes. But I'd give itunes re-insatll a shot.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:22 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Ok I've done the repair, still nothing.
In the LaunchDaemons folder there is
Com.adobe.fpsaud.plist
Com.microsoft.office.licensing.helper.plist
Com.trendmicro.itis.icore.agent.plist
in startupitems there is another folder icoreservice in that is
Icoreservice
Startupparameters.plist
And there is no little snitch folder
You have little snitch running, if so turn it of for a moment or look in it's preferences, it might block iTunes!!!
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:24 AM   #9
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
You have little snitch running, if so turn it of for a moment or look in it's preferences, it might block iTunes!!!
I just noticed something....Trend Micro....Is that not an AV application? That could also cause issues.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:32 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
I just noticed something....Trend Micro....Is that not an AV application? That could also cause issues.
What is trend micro?

Oh wait, I googled it, Virus/security, WTF, OP get rid of this crap, you don't need it read Malware FAQ
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:33 AM   #11
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
What is trend micro?

Oh wait, I googled it, Virus/security, WTF, OP get rid of this crap, you don't need it read Malware FAQ
Yep...I bet that's the issue..OP, kill it in activity monitor and try Itunes again...then remove it Mac's don't need AV software as per the above.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:34 AM   #12
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
You have little snitch running, if so turn it of for a moment or look in it's preferences, it might block iTunes!!!
He doesn't have little snitch installed.

OP : you have Trend Micro security for OSX correct ?

If so uninstall it . Reboot and repair permissions.

There seems to be a bug with trend micro and OSX.

Have you been having any other system wide problems ?
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:35 AM   #13
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
I've done a search in the spotlight for little snitch, can't find it.

How do I reinstall previous version of iTunes? And will it disrupt my content?

Thanx for your patience
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:36 AM   #14
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
He doesn't have little snitch installed.

OP : you have Trend Micro security for OSX correct ?

If so uninstall it . Reboot and repair permissions.

There seems to be a bug with trend micro and OSX.

Have you been having any other system wide problems ?
He doesn't need it anyway.....Remove, re-boot, and try Itunes again. I didn't even know there was a Mac version of Trend Micro?
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:37 AM   #15
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
He doesn't have little snitch installed.

OP : you have Trend Micro security for OSX correct ?

If so uninstall it . Reboot and repair permissions.

There seems to be a bug with trend micro and OSX.

Have you been having any other system wide problems ?
No just iTunes troubles
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:39 AM   #16
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
I've done a search in the spotlight for little snitch, can't find it.

How do I reinstall previous version of iTunes? And will it disrupt my content?

Thanx for your patience
Don't reinstall, uninstall that TrendMicro stuff first and restart, it should most likely resolve the problem.
And read the link I gave you.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:40 AM   #17
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
He doesn't need it anyway.....Remove, re-boot, and try Itunes again. I didn't even know there was a Mac version of Trend Micro?
Yup. There's a lot of Mac security software out there. Not worth squat but nonetheless it's there.

Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:41 AM   #18
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
He doesn't have little snitch installed.
True, otherwise there would be LaunchAgents/LaunchDeamons in those folders.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:43 AM   #19
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Don't reinstall, uninstall that TrendMicro stuff first and restart, it should most likely resolve the problem.
And read the link I gave you.
Agreed, getting rid of that C*** should sort the OP out....Why do folks still think Macs need AV stuff? I've been using them for years and never ever had an issue...Worst thing? Dr OZ's spam email in the Cloud...

----------

EDIT:


OP, if you really MUST have an AV solution, you can use ClamXAV from the app store..it's free, but my advice is to stay away from any AV package.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:45 AM   #20
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Agreed, getting rid of that C*** should sort the OP out....Why do folks still think Macs need AV stuff? I've been using them for years and never ever had an issue...Worst thing? Dr OZ's spam email in the Cloud...

----------

EDIT:


OP, if you really MUST have an AV solution, you can use ClamXAV from the app store..it's free, but my advice is to stay away from any AV package.
Even better, I opened PC Malware/viruses on My mac in HexEdit, no damage ever.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:45 AM   #21
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Should I get rid of trend micro all together and install little snitch?
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:46 AM   #22
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Should I get rid of trend micro all together and install little snitch?
Just get rid of Trend Micro....Re-boot and try again...I can't see little snitch in the repair log anyway.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:47 AM   #23
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Should I get rid of trend micro all together and install little snitch?
Read the link, LittleSnitch is also not needed unless you "hack" software

Get rid of the TrendMicro rubbish.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:48 AM   #24
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiemac View Post
Should I get rid of trend micro all together and install little snitch?
Don't install little snitch.

"in startupitems there is another folder icoreservice"

Delete the icoreservice folder. It makes the trend micro app start up when you boot your mac.

You could also open system preferences and under user accounts look at the start up items for your account and deselect the trend micro stuff.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:52 AM   #25
Robbiemac
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
YES!!!! Success.. Thank you everybody.

Now next part. What security do you suggest I install
Robbiemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I have iTunes Home Share open automatically when iTunes opens? Vader Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 8, 2014 08:17 AM
Can't screenshot, open Skype, delete files, open itunes.... delab99 OS X 12 Dec 19, 2013 01:45 PM
iTunes Match: iTunes Purchases Default to Album Title Metadata That's in iTunes Store JPM42 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Oct 24, 2013 04:34 PM
open a single mp3 track with quicktime while others open with itunes quickquestion Mac Basics and Help 2 Oct 22, 2013 12:33 AM
Turn Off iTunes Previews and just open iTunes dire Shawzborne OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 2, 2013 12:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC