Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2013, 06:50 AM   #26
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybz90 View Post
I meant that I have them all even though the site is taken down, but I don't know if I'm allowed to share them here.
The links in my .dlc and in the top of the page work.
Even the site is up and running.
It's like "it wasn't meant to be downloaded and installed for free, but it works"
It's the same thing with Freehand MX:

Freehand mx trial:
http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/in...hand&loc=en_us

(currently the site is "down" but I have downloaded it from there), contact adobe or download it from other site.)
edit: once I log in with adobe account (free) I can get the dowloads, unfortunately I can acess the links

registration file from adobe:
http://helpx.adobe.com/freehand/kb/c...nd-mx-mac.html
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades

Last edited by skinniezinho; Jan 8, 2013 at 07:07 AM.
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 08:51 AM   #27
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
The link in post #2 works, at least for me. I haven't had any problems going to this page, downloading and installing.

Works fine on my Macs under Leopard.

PS7 is the one you have to watch out for that won't work on Leopard.
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:30 PM   #28
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
It's not quite legal to download it even if it sounds like it. They clarified: "While this might be interpreted as Adobe giving away software for free, we did it to help our customers." and the download center is to be used by those already owning a license. Yeah, good luck with that Adobe. I would SO download it anyway if I didn't already have newer versions.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Video Game Luddite
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:17 PM   #29
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
Cool

If my Photoshop CS (1) works fine under Leopard on my G4 Powerbook then I'm sure CS2 will/should work fine.

Interesting that in the CNET article it says (as Lone Deranger quoted earlier) "This service is only going to be available for those with existing Adobe CS2 licenses, which will be verified when creating the Adobe account to download the software."

I have an existing Adobe account. Signed up when I got Lightroom 3/4 but I only have CS not CS2. However I can get to the CS2 download page and so far am able to download photoshop and the other programs.

Does anyone think I'll have trouble launching the installers or not?
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:25 PM   #30
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk View Post
If my Photoshop CS (1) works fine under Leopard on my G4 Powerbook then I'm sure CS2 will/should work fine.

Interesting that in the CNET article it says (as Lone Deranger quoted earlier) "This service is only going to be available for those with existing Adobe CS2 licenses, which will be verified when creating the Adobe account to download the software."

I have an existing Adobe account. Signed up when I got Lightroom 3/4 but I only have CS not CS2. However I can get to the CS2 download page and so far am able to download photoshop and the other programs.

Does anyone think I'll have trouble launching the installers or not?
You don't even need an account to download. There is no verification.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:01 PM   #31
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk View Post
If my Photoshop CS (1) works fine under Leopard on my G4 Powerbook then I'm sure CS2 will/should work fine.

Interesting that in the CNET article it says (as Lone Deranger quoted earlier) "This service is only going to be available for those with existing Adobe CS2 licenses, which will be verified when creating the Adobe account to download the software."

I have an existing Adobe account. Signed up when I got Lightroom 3/4 but I only have CS not CS2. However I can get to the CS2 download page and so far am able to download photoshop and the other programs.

Does anyone think I'll have trouble launching the installers or not?
I don't think you'll have any trouble.

I noticed that the CS2 suite download only allows me to install Photoshop CS2 and not Illustrator and InDesign CS2. That may be because I already had InDesign CS2, I don't know. But I rectified the Illustrator part by downloading that separately.

I did notice that when trying to open Photoshop CS2 while Photohop CS4 was running ended up with the PS CS2 app quitting shortly after launch and then PS CS4 activating. But Photoshop CS2 will load on it's own (with PS CS4 closed).

As to accounts, I have one I created a very long time ago to post on the Adobe forums. Had no issue logging in and downloading.
__________________
Sprint iPhone 5: 64GB Black/Slate iOS 7.1.2: Jailbroken
Sprint iPhone owners, THERE IS NO DOMESTIC UNLOCK!
eyoungren is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 09:13 PM   #32
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
I noticed that the CS2 suite download only allows me to install Photoshop CS2 and not Illustrator and InDesign CS2. That may be because I already had InDesign CS2, I don't know. But I rectified the Illustrator part by downloading that separately.
Illustrator and InDesign were included for me.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:05 PM   #33
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
Thanks. Now another question. Does one need to "register" or can I not and still get the updates?
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 10:25 PM   #34
ybz90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk View Post
Thanks. Now another question. Does one need to "register" or can I not and still get the updates?
It would appear that Adobe, despite their backtracking, has made it even EASIER to get the downloads as the page with the links and the serials is now accessible to anyone without even logging in. At this point, I don't think there will be any further updates anyway, the software is several years old. Just download, install, and serialize and you should be set for life.
ybz90 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 10:41 PM   #35
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybz90 View Post
It would appear that Adobe, despite their backtracking, has made it even EASIER to get the downloads as the page with the links and the serials is now accessible to anyone without even logging in. At this point, I don't think there will be any further updates anyway, the software is several years old. Just download, install, and serialize and you should be set for life.
Just decided to do the google check and yep found the updates and don't think I need to register. Especially since I don't think they would even offer software support
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:28 PM   #36
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybz90 View Post
It would appear that Adobe, despite their backtracking, has made it even EASIER to get the downloads as the page with the links and the serials is now accessible to anyone without even logging in. At this point, I don't think there will be any further updates anyway, the software is several years old. Just download, install, and serialize and you should be set for life.
I think you will need to install some updates- they use the original disk image without the updates, instead of trying to change all the required files.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:37 PM   #37
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
CS2 was actually a decent release. I'd have some trouble with anything prior to CS6 personally, just because of how much the brushes improved there. Other than that it was probably a better release than CS3 or 4 on OSX.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:59 PM   #38
rjcalifornia
macrumors 6502a
 
rjcalifornia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: El Salvador
Question

I just needed GoLive. Since it is unsupported, discontinued and for a 'forgotten' architecture, well, is not that illegal. I mean it is not like people are going to switch just for free things.

It is kinda hard to decide. I did buy Photoshop CS3, CS1 and Adobe Elements. So...
__________________
CEO, Lead Developer and Sales Manager of SW Social Web LLC PowerPC Blog iBook G4 1.2 Ghz 60 GB HDD, Black Macbook Core 2 Duo, Powerbook G4 & iMac G4 700 Mhz Owner.
rjcalifornia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 07:11 PM   #39
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk View Post
Just decided to do the google check and yep found the updates and don't think I need to register. Especially since I don't think they would even offer software support
any chance of links?
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 10:12 PM   #40
zackkmac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa
This is awesome! Downloaded PS CS2, can't wait to install and test on my iMac G4.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina 2.6GHz i5, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD
13" MacBook Pro 2.5GHz i5, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
17" iMac G4 1.25GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD
zackkmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 11:54 PM   #41
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
any chance of links?
Just google photoshop (or illustrator or indesign, etc) , macintosh or windows (depending on your system), cs2 and update.
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:08 AM   #42
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
any chance of links?
http://www.adobe.com/downloads/updates/
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 07:36 PM   #43
MichaelLAX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Apple has rereleased Snow Leopard Server at a 95% discount: $19.99 + sales tax & shipping costs at 1.800.MYAPPLE (1.800.692.7753) - Apple Part Number: MC588Z/A (telephone orders only).

Parallels 8 is available at a 40% discount at $49.99 for the next 3 days as part of the March 2013 MacUpdate 10 app bundle.

Adobe Creative Suite 2 (CS2) Photoshop running in Snow Leopard Server installed into Parallels for use in Lion or Mountain Lion:

[click on image to enlarge]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photoshop red flag in SLS.png
Views:	50
Size:	791.6 KB
ID:	402911  
MichaelLAX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 04:48 PM   #44
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post
Apple has rereleased Snow Leopard Server at a 95% discount: $19.99 + sales tax & shipping costs at 1.800.MYAPPLE (1.800.692.7753) - Apple Part Number: MC588Z/A (telephone orders only).

Parallels 8 is available at a 40% discount at $49.99 for the next 3 days as part of the March 2013 MacUpdate 10 app bundle.

Adobe Creative Suite 2 (CS2) Photoshop running in Snow Leopard Server installed into Parallels for use in Lion or Mountain Lion:

[click on image to enlarge]
This is a PowerPC forum.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 08:12 PM   #45
macuser453787
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ephesians 2:1-10
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
I was looking at the system requirements, funny how leopard is not listed. looks like leopard is too new for it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by g4 powerbookboy View Post
probably wont work on leopard, funny thing is i would have thought that leopard would have been considered outdated by most companies already. kinda a pleasant suprise this morning.
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
Thanks a lot!
About Leopard, it gets mixed reviews:
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/499253
It does run on Leopard. I have CS2 running on Leopard. Runs fine. Just FYI.
macuser453787 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 09:03 PM   #46
MichaelLAX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
This is a PowerPC forum.
You do not think it is relevant to PowerPC users to have the knowledge that they can still continue to run their PowerPC apps if they ever upgrade to an Intel Mac running Lion or Mt. Lion?

I did...
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:01 AM   #47
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post
You do not think it is relevant to PowerPC users to have the knowledge that they can still continue to run their PowerPC apps if they ever upgrade to an Intel Mac running Lion or Mt. Lion?

I did...
The problem with that is 1) You actually have to have CS2 to begin with. Besides myself, a majority here don't own the CS2 suite legally, which is why most in this thread were excited when they were accidentally offering it for free. 2) Parallels is $80 (unless you get it cheap in a bundle), and 3) Snow Leopard is like $25 once you count the tax and shipping.

You also have to take into account that this would also force us to invest in a RAM upgrade to run it efficiently, so you would be tacking another $50-100 to the cost to max out a 2008-2011 machine.

At that rate, you are just better off buying the Creative Cloud subscription, or investing into alternatives like Pixelmator, Aperture, and others. If you really needed to run CS2, doing it under a Windows 7 Boot Camp partition would be the ideal solution. It would run much, much better.

I have Photoshop 7, the first CS, CS2, and CS3 that was loaded on all the Macs I was given from my old school however they are not suitable for college level classes anymore because they now go beyond the typical photo editing and drawing features in the way they teach it to you. I had a hard time getting CS3 to convert back and forth from it to CS5 the other year with just InDesign. They want you to learn to do the steps right too, so you can't just rasterize everything and get away with it. If you don't save copies, you can easily destroy your file setup if you aren't using basic tools. Same thing in 3D files, always have problems getting previous years Maya files to open in the 2013 version!

It's nice that we can still run our old apps on a newer OS, but there are reasons why we don't. I also get that there are plugins that don't worth on CS3 and above that people are attached to. I use rendering software that doesn't work on Lion or Mountain Lion myself.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:02 AM   #48
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
While I am a die-hard supporter of PowerPC and support its continuing existence, I am also cross experienced with Intel Macs and PCs as well. I have three PowerPC machines which I use, plus a 6-core Mac Pro and a Gateway P-7805U fx running Snow Leopard and Lion(can't get ML to work for some reason), and I am in full support of those being cross-experienced in other platforms besides PowerPC.

Taking all this into consideration with that said while this is only a forum for PowerPC macs, it is also a forum for discussions in other areas of Mac similarities between the platforms. Please don't take all this to mean that I support that we should disband the community and go Intel, NO.. By no means! I just think for all of us to get the respect that our platform is not a dying one we all need to get along.

Whether we like it or not.. Intel is here to stay and while PowerPC was first before Intel, we need to respect Intel Macs also. I am also into discussions about the 68k macs. I wasn't into Mac back then but I heard a lot of good things about the 68k macs.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelLAX View Post
You do not think it is relevant to PowerPC users to have the knowledge that they can still continue to run their PowerPC apps if they ever upgrade to an Intel Mac running Lion or Mt. Lion?

I did...
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:10 AM   #49
MichaelLAX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessica Lares View Post
The problem with that is..
OK, got that!

BTW: I use Virtual ][ to run my old Apple II software on my Intel Mac when I do not want to use my Apple //c!

I recently had to reconfigure some financial data from the 1980's filed in Time is Money and used the occasion to move all of my Apple II diskettes to file images on the Mac.

Using Virtual ][ I was able to "print" the data to pdf files on the Mac and then import the data into Mac Excel for further analysis.
MichaelLAX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:46 AM   #50
Jessica Lares
macrumors 604
 
Jessica Lares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Near Dallas, Texas, USA
That is why I keep my stuff in plain text. It's not as nice, but it'll last between updates.
__________________
Have You Hugged Your Mac Today?
Daily Expressions | iMac G4 | Late 2011 13" MacBook Pro | iPod Nano (7G) | iPad Mini | iPod Touch (5G) | iPhone 5S
Jessica Lares is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe CS2 free legal download bigeasy_uk PowerPC Macs 12 Apr 30, 2014 10:34 AM
[Update] Adobe Creative Suite CS2 Premium for free on Adobe website. leez Design and Graphics 35 Apr 3, 2013 02:33 PM
Photoshop CS2 Premium Suite - FREE - Mac and Windows! Risco Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 7, 2013 01:48 PM
how to get a free safari plugin that dose adobe but fills in fourms for free? tbluhp Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 7, 2012 08:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC