Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 06:30 PM   #1
silver8ack
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
ATV3, Blu-Ray, MakeMKV, Handbrake --- Audio?

Brand new to the ATV3 scene. Been using handbrake for a long time for ripping DVDs. Just got a blu-ray drive and started ripping blu-rays. Everything is working great except for audio.

I've been using the Apple TV 3 preset in handbrake. When I play the movie on the ATV3 there is no sound at all. I hold select, go to Audio, select Stereo, and stereo works great. Now get this... I go back into audio and select Surround, and the surround sound works.

Wtf is going on here? This has happened with HP: Goblet of Fire and Casino Royale.

I encoded Gob of Fire with iVI and everything works fine. I'd pay the $10 but I feel handbrake produces a better looking film(less studders).

I've about had it with apples "it just works" crap. I've had nothing but trouble with imovie and iPhoto working together, movies missing blah blah. I switched to apple years ago because I was blown away with how great everything worked together. It doesn't seem to anymore.

Ok /rant. Just sick of waiting 16 hours to find I have to piddle with the stupid audio. Any ideas?
silver8ack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:01 PM   #2
bt22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
it's possible you've already read this. in case you haven't....

Apple is still better than Windows.... Especially since the release of Window's 8. I have a custom built windows 7 gaming computer and everything else is Apple. I much prefer Apple for daily driver...

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...16&postcount=1
bt22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 07:50 PM   #3
silver8ack
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I figured it out.. I am also using Subler to add metadata. I was checking both audio tracks, thinking that I had to do so in order to enable 5.1. Silly me.. you have to make sure it's disabled in order to enable it lol.

And yea... in a rage I tried setting up Plex and using my PS3 today... bleh. I'm back in love with Apple again.
silver8ack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:31 PM   #4
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver8ack View Post
I figured it out.. I am also using Subler to add metadata. I was checking both audio tracks, thinking that I had to do so in order to enable 5.1. Silly me.. you have to make sure it's disabled in order to enable it lol.

And yea... in a rage I tried setting up Plex and using my PS3 today... bleh. I'm back in love with Apple again.
I was just going to tell you this before I saw your own reply... +1 on figuring it out.

Just out of curiosity, when in Subler you have disabled the AAC conversion for your surround sound right? Either make sure it is on AC3 pass-thru in the settings or manually change it. Either way, AC3 is the only surround sound that works on the Apple TV, AAC 6-channel gets downmixed to a weird 3.0 audio by the Apple TV.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 10:34 AM   #5
bt22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
Now I have a question. I ripped my first Blu Ray last night. I used MakeMKV then used Apple TV 3 preset in handbrake. The output file from Handbrake is 1920 x 816 i believe. In the video tab I set framerate as same as source. Should I have selected Keep Aspect Ratio in the picture tab? Or can I manually set width and height? I know I am late to the game, but I really like ripping the Blu-Rays...
bt22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 10:52 AM   #6
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bt22 View Post
Now I have a question. I ripped my first Blu Ray last night. I used MakeMKV then used Apple TV 3 preset in handbrake. The output file from Handbrake is 1920 x 816 i believe. In the video tab I set framerate as same as source. Should I have selected Keep Aspect Ratio in the picture tab? Or can I manually set width and height? I know I am late to the game, but I really like ripping the Blu-Rays...
If you are using the aTV3 preset, you do not need to make any additional changes. I use the preset for my encodes and the only changes I make to the preset are: 1) use anamorphic strict for picture and 2) web optimize.

If you don't use anamorphic strict you may rarely run into a movie which yields a 720p format even thought the starting format is 1080p. Using strict eliminates that glitch. Web optimize moves some metadata at the end of the movie to the beginning. This causes the movie to load faster on the aTV (particularly helpful with BR's).

No need to edit the nitrate setting. Even though it says 30, that is just a maximum setting for compliance with the aTV. It will records same as source with that setting. Also, HB will automatically detect your movie format and trim the black areas accordingly, so there is no need for you to manually set the aspect ratio.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:09 PM   #7
tonycobe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Question ripping blu rays!

Sorry for the dumb question but, I love handbrake and have ripped dvd's for quite some time, I have many blu rays and a brand new iMac (which I love), I didn't know you could rip blu rays! Any info is appreciated. What kind of hardware do I need (I didn't know mac worked with blu ray) and do I need a special version of handbrake? ANY info is appreciated!! I would love to rip the blu rays! Also how much space does a typical movie take using APTV 3 settings on the hard drive (how many gig) what else do I need to know? THANKS A MILLION!!! And am I right, you can't play blu ray movies on a iMac right? Sorry for all the questions
tonycobe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:40 PM   #8
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonycobe View Post
Sorry for the dumb question but, I love handbrake and have ripped dvd's for quite some time, I have many blu rays and a brand new iMac (which I love), I didn't know you could rip blu rays! Any info is appreciated. What kind of hardware do I need (I didn't know mac worked with blu ray) and do I need a special version of handbrake? ANY info is appreciated!! I would love to rip the blu rays! Also how much space does a typical movie take using APTV 3 settings on the hard drive (how many gig) what else do I need to know? THANKS A MILLION!!! And am I right, you can't play blu ray movies on a iMac right? Sorry for all the questions
You need a usb external blu-ray reader drive. They can be found for as low as $55-60.

The stable release of HB will transcode a BR, however, if you want regular or forced subtitles burned in, you need a Nightly release of HB. Not sure how you are ripping our dvd's but for BR's, I would recommend using MakeMKV decrypt and create an mkv file (can also be stored as an archive copy of the movie) which can then be used by HB.

A typical movie will be 5-10GB. Encoding time is super dependent on your iMac's processing power, but even with the most powerful I don't think anyone would call the process fast. I usually run 1 per night. However quality is excellent. Also be aware that your DTS or DTS-HD will be converted to Dolby Digital 5.1. No HD audio for the aTV.

Edit: I just noticed you said you had a new iMac, so your transcodes may be relatively rapid (a couple hours). Maybe someone else can give you a more accurate time estimate.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:48 PM   #9
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Edit: I just noticed you said you had a new iMac, so your transcodes may be relatively rapid (a couple hours). Maybe someone else can give you a more accurate time estimate.
27" Mid-2011 3.1Ghz i5 iMac takes approximately 3 hours per encode
rMBP 2.6Ghz takes approximately 2.5 hours per encode
27" Late 2012 3.2Ghz i5 iMac takes approximately 2 hours per encode

All of these are at 1080p from blu ray source (Using MakeMKV) converting to the ATV3 preset. Both iMacs are using standard Hard Drives, the rMBP is obviously on SSD. All setups have 16GB of RAM.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:55 PM   #10
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
27" Mid-2011 3.1Ghz i5 iMac takes approximately 3 hours per encode
rMBP 2.6Ghz takes approximately 2.5 hours per encode
27" Late 2012 3.2Ghz i5 iMac takes approximately 2 hours per encode

All of these are at 1080p from blu ray source (Using MakeMKV) converting to the ATV3 preset. Both iMacs are using standard Hard Drives, the rMBP is obviously on SSD. All setups have 16GB of RAM.
Glad to see you are fully awake and full of good information!!!!
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:57 PM   #11
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonycobe View Post
Also how much space does a typical movie take using APTV 3 settings on the hard drive (how many gig) what else do I need to know?
This is dependent on you encode quality settings. A full rip from the blu ray will consume approximately 30-50GB. After encoding, those drop, but by how much involves what settings you use, or what preset.

Using the ATV3 setting you will likely get around a 10-15GB file. I have modified the ATV3 preset slightly and made my own. The changes I made were:

Change from a CQ encode to Variable Bit Rate 2-pass @ 5600kbps
Change to Strict Anamorphic
Change to Constant Frame rate, Same As Source (this one is completely optional, and doesn't really affect much of anything)

This will give you file sizes between 4GB-7GB and in my opinion look fantastic. I can slightly tell a difference between it and the source blu ray, but only if they are put side by side. The difference is so minimal at this setting that it is completely worth it to me to save the disk space over the ATV3 preset.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:08 PM   #12
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post

Using the ATV3 setting you will likely get around a 10-15GB file.
Just went back to look at my file sizes. Using the aTV3 preset, almost all of mine are 5-10GB. With most being around 8-10GB. I do have a few that are larger (up to 17GB) but as you know, it really depends on the movie.

Not sure I agree with your HB settings (except for Anamorphic Strict). But to each his own, and if it's giving you smaller files sizes and the quality you like...ride on!!! Quality is a very subjective thing and dependent on a lot of variables.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:09 PM   #13
bt22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Alabama
I ripped Looper last night. I used my custom built windows computer so i could take advantage of the sata connection and installed an internal Blu Ray drive and not have to use usb 2.0 on my 2011 mac mini. The MAKEMKV file was 44.4 GB and the handbrake file was 5.8 GB. Should the output file from Handbrake be 1920 x 1080 instead of 1920 x 816. That is what Handbrake shows as the resolution, I believe. I am currently at work and don't have access to the file. I have a quad core i7 930 processor with 6 GB of ram but have 7,200 rpm drives and it took almost 3 hours to do the whole process. A little over 2 hours in just handbrake. I only watched a few minutes of the finished product but the quality seems wonderful compared to a DVD rip. I am looking forward to watching the movie. It seemed like the blacks were not as pixilated (sic) as standard dvd rips.
bt22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:19 PM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bt22 View Post
I ripped Looper last night. I used my custom built windows computer so i could take advantage of the sata connection and installed an internal Blu Ray drive and not have to use usb 2.0 on my 2011 mac mini. The MAKEMKV file was 44.4 GB and the handbrake file was 5.8 GB. Should the output file from Handbrake be 1920 x 1080 instead of 1920 x 816. That is what Handbrake shows as the resolution, I believe. I am currently at work and don't have access to the file. I have a quad core i7 930 processor with 6 GB of ram but have 7,200 rpm drives and it took almost 3 hours to do the whole process. A little over 2 hours in just handbrake. I only watched a few minutes of the finished product but the quality seems wonderful compared to a DVD rip. I am looking forward to watching the movie. It seemed like the blacks were not as pixilated (sic) as standard dvd rips.
I envy your HB transcode only being 2 hours.

Your output file dimensions are fine. It varies with the movie and how it is formatted (letterbox, 16:9, 4:3, etc).
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 10:02 PM   #15
silver8ack
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Wow.. A few hours?? Haha. My 2007 iMac took about 15hours to encode Casino Royale last night. I think it averaged about 2.5 fps.

Ended up with a 12.5 GB file. I use the Apple TV 3 preset and change the quality, or RF, to 18. I also use HandBrakeCLI, and have a sort of batch thing going.
silver8ack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 03:41 PM   #16
Mac Eagle
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
I have a 2011 27" i7 3.4Ghz iMac and my Blu-ray encodes are taking on average about 80-90% of the movie length. Typically averaging somewhere between 30-40 FPS.
Mac Eagle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:34 PM   #17
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac Eagle View Post
I have a 2011 27" i7 3.4Ghz iMac and my Blu-ray encodes are taking on average about 80-90% of the movie length. Typically averaging somewhere between 30-40 FPS.
That's quite a lot faster than my 2009 27" iMac (3.0 GHz C2D) - about four times the time of the runtime of the title using the Advanced preset. (The default Main preset is much, about 2.5 times faster)
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung Smart Blu Ray or ATV3 sidefx Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Jan 8, 2014 10:16 AM
Fastest slim blu-ray rom for use with MakeMKV jmpage2 Apple TV and Home Theater 31 Dec 1, 2013 09:07 PM
Blu-Ray Rips and HD logo on ATV3 jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 28, 2013 03:18 PM
Finding HandBrake title number for MakeMKV Blu-Ray FreakinEurekan Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Aug 17, 2013 12:36 PM
MakeMKV with Samsung SE-506BB Blu-Ray drive MadJens Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 21, 2013 12:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC