Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:19 PM   #1
Laimbeersux
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
transfer ios backups to new computer

I'm replacing my mid-2010 MBP with a new MBA and have a quick question. I backed up all my media to an external hard drive, but want to avoid the dreaded "This iPhone has been synced with another itunes library" message that would precede the erasing of my phone if I wanted to sync it to the new computer. How do I make it so the phone recognizes the new computer as the same library?

I've been reading about making a disk image to just mirror the installation of my current mbp, but would like to copy the backups over to the new computer, or just make it so the new computer is recognized as the same library so I can sync without issues.

I understand the other option is a fresh install altogether, but want to avoid it if possible so I don't lose the iPhone/iPod/iPad backups, or have to wait the ungodly amount of time that it would take to sync every iOS device I own like it did when I restored my iPhone 5 from an existing iPhone 4 backup.

Any ideas?
__________________
Lots of Apple toys, latest is my new loaded 13" Air
Laimbeersux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:47 AM   #2
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
you can use the integrated apple mac app called Migration Assistant that transfers data to a new mac

I think you can easily do that instead of a the other headache you're planning
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 12:54 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
MA is the best bet. You can use wifi, ethernet or T/Bolt cables to connect the two Macs...Follow the steps on the screen and your new Mac will be the same as your old one. ( As lonfg as they are running the version of OSX )
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:59 AM   #4
Laimbeersux
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
MA is the best bet. You can use wifi, ethernet or T/Bolt cables to connect the two Macs...Follow the steps on the screen and your new Mac will be the same as your old one. ( As lonfg as they are running the version of OSX )
I'd never heard of Migration Assistant, just googled it now. I assume that's the way that the Apple Store people will be transferring all the files from one to the other when I go in a week from today and pick it up? I added One to One if for nothing else than to make that transition seamless. Even if they don't do it, from what I'm reading, Migration Assistant seems like an easy option. My current MBP has Mountain Lion on it so the Operating Systems should be the same on both computers.
__________________
Lots of Apple toys, latest is my new loaded 13" Air
Laimbeersux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 11:00 AM   #5
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laimbeersux View Post
I'd never heard of Migration Assistant, just googled it now. I assume that's the way that the Apple Store people will be transferring all the files from one to the other when I go in a week from today and pick it up? I added One to One if for nothing else than to make that transition seamless. Even if they don't do it, from what I'm reading, Migration Assistant seems like an easy option. My current MBP has Mountain Lion on it so the Operating Systems should be the same on both computers.
it is very easy to do it you don't need to go to an apple store, its already installed in your computer have you tried looking for that as well? lol
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:10 PM   #6
Laimbeersux
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by apollo1444 View Post
it is very easy to do it you don't need to go to an apple store, its already installed in your computer have you tried looking for that as well? lol
I'd never even heard about Migration Assistant before yesterday, sounds like exactly the tool I need to do this. It's like Apple has done this before.
__________________
Lots of Apple toys, latest is my new loaded 13" Air
Laimbeersux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iCloud iOS backups are growing ross7777 iCloud and Apple Services 13 Jun 1, 2014 10:22 AM
Time Machine: Consolidate backups of an old computer bostich OS X 2 Jun 28, 2013 08:14 AM
Qs about Backups to Computer fractal iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Dec 18, 2012 12:51 PM
Transfer iPhone to new computer (without old computer's files) Dreamer2go iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 25, 2012 09:18 PM
Do iCloud/Computer Backups save my game information? RolandNights iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Sep 17, 2012 11:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC