Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 04:58 AM   #1
Mr-Kerrse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Airport Extreme & USB Drive

Right hopefully i got this right part of the forum for this, i have just changed my set up at home as my imac hardrive was getting to full !..

I now have a verbatim 1tb drive connected to my airport extreme, i have set it all up correctly & both my jailbroken ATV2's can access the drive with ease. My problem is i can not connect my (wired) imac on the same network to the verbatim drive.

In airport utility in the disk column the verbatim drive shows as being there & the airport extreme shows up in the devices in the left hand column of finder but the imac will not connect & the drive folders don't show up.

Any idea's what i can do as it was driving nuts yesterday !

Thanks in advance
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 10:57 AM   #2
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Kerrse View Post
Right hopefully i got this right part of the forum for this, i have just changed my set up at home as my imac hardrive was getting to full !..

I now have a verbatim 1tb drive connected to my airport extreme, i have set it all up correctly & both my jailbroken ATV2's can access the drive with ease. My problem is i can not connect my (wired) imac on the same network to the verbatim drive.

In airport utility in the disk column the verbatim drive shows as being there & the airport extreme shows up in the devices in the left hand column of finder but the imac will not connect & the drive folders don't show up.

Any idea's what i can do as it was driving nuts yesterday !

Thanks in advance
Not that i got any help but all sorted & all it took was the IT special, a reboot
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:03 AM   #3
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
It would seem that was a lucky connection, as i am back to not being able to connect via my imac, even with rebooting

Is this down to the underpowered usb ? I don't understand why both my ATV2's connect fine but my Imac doesn't, I have ordered a powered usb hub to try rectify this, plus i can then add a printer into the network as well.

Any thoughts ?
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 11:06 AM   #4
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
How is your drive formatted? It may need to be HFS+ if it isn't so already.

That does seem strange that the ATVs are able to access it but your iMac isn't. That's what makes me suspect the filesystem of the drive rather than a power issue.

Also, in your Finder preferences, are Connected servers checked?

(Apologies for the basic questions, just trying to troubleshoot.)
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:43 PM   #5
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by skorpien View Post
How is your drive formatted? It may need to be HFS+ if it isn't so already.

That does seem strange that the ATVs are able to access it but your iMac isn't. That's what makes me suspect the filesystem of the drive rather than a power issue.

Also, in your Finder preferences, are Connected servers checked?

(Apologies for the basic questions, just trying to troubleshoot.)

I have checked finder & yes the connected servers are ticked, I am going to transfer everything off the drive back onto the mac then try start from scratch & reformat?
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 01:59 PM   #6
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
That would be what I would try, but if you've already ordered the hub, you might as well just wait for it to come first. I'm not sure how much data you have on there so I'm not sure how much of a hassle moving it over will be.

Also, make sure you back it up somewhere else too. You never know if something will go wrong with the move/reformat so it's best to make sure.
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:25 PM   #7
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by skorpien View Post
That would be what I would try, but if you've already ordered the hub, you might as well just wait for it to come first. I'm not sure how much data you have on there so I'm not sure how much of a hassle moving it over will be.

Also, make sure you back it up somewhere else too. You never know if something will go wrong with the move/reformat so it's best to make sure.

It was a lot of movies so had to transfer them back as I had deleted them from the mac to create space everything else's on there was just back ups I'm not running the drive as time machine just manually updating it as its mainly to run as a network media drive
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:34 PM   #8
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Right i have wiped the drive & reformatted using this process, it was the same way i did it before, It still wont connect

I only went as far as the first stage Mac OS Extended Journal as it is for apple product use only.

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/04/forma...-for-mac-os-x/
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 03:49 PM   #9
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
I have taken a few screen shots maybe that can help solve this as i am baffled





Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 05:08 PM   #10
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Very strange. What happens when you click "Connect As..." ?

Does it or has it ever asked you for a password? If so, which are you using? In your setup, it would require you to input your Extreme's password.

Another thing I would try is to open Keychain on your Mac in your Utilities folder and delete any entries associated with the Extreme. Then try retyping the passwords when prompted.
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:39 AM   #11
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by skorpien View Post
Very strange. What happens when you click "Connect As..." ?

Does it or has it ever asked you for a password? If so, which are you using? In your setup, it would require you to input your Extreme's password.

Another thing I would try is to open Keychain on your Mac in your Utilities folder and delete any entries associated with the Extreme. Then try retyping the passwords when prompted.

The one time it did work it asked for a password & I put it in correctly as I was able to transfer files onto it, normally it just hangs & does nothing.

I know it can't be a problem with the drive as I can connect with both Apple TV's & play films from it so it must be an issue with my Mac I think

I will try open the keychain tonight when I get home from work as now willing to try anything to get it to work !
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:07 AM   #12
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Ok don't worry about drive format it doesn't matter.

Change the access password completely.

What happens if you disconnect the cable and run your iMac wireless?? I've a feeling you've a dodgy network cable
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:30 AM   #13
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Ok don't worry about drive format it doesn't matter.

Change the access password completely.

What happens if you disconnect the cable and run your iMac wireless?? I've a feeling you've a dodgy network cable

Ok will try & change the password tonight & remove the network cable & try it wirelessly.

Thanks to both of you for your help, this connection issue has not helped my 2nd week of being a non smoker
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:56 AM   #14
EmpyreanUK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
If none of the other suggestions work, I would advise that you temporarily change your settings in the Airport Utility to remove the password requirement for network access to the attached disk, save the settings, reboot the Mac and then try connecting again.

If after this you're still having problems, I would then try creating a new user account on your Mac, logging into it and trying to access the network disk that way (with the Airport Utility still set to not requiring a password for disk access).
EmpyreanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 03:42 AM   #15
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmpyreanUK View Post
If none of the other suggestions work, I would advise that you temporarily change your settings in the Airport Utility to remove the password requirement for network access to the attached disk, save the settings, reboot the Mac and then try connecting again.

If after this you're still having problems, I would then try creating a new user account on your Mac, logging into it and trying to access the network disk that way (with the Airport Utility still set to not requiring a password for disk access).
I will give that a go later, thanks

I will also try the new user option & see if that works, i hope one of these solutions work as running out of options
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:40 PM   #16
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmpyreanUK View Post

If after this you're still having problems, I would then try creating a new user account on your Mac, logging into it and trying to access the network disk that way .

Thanks
This worked first time ! created a new account the drive was there, so how do i get it to work on my normal account ?

I could transfer everything to the new account, unless hopefully you have a better idea !

Last edited by Mr-Kerrse; Jan 9, 2013 at 03:15 PM.
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:19 AM   #17
EmpyreanUK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Kerrse View Post
Thanks
This worked first time ! created a new account the drive was there, so how do i get it to work on my normal account ?

I could transfer everything to the new account, unless hopefully you have a better idea !
I'm glad to hear it worked! The fact that a new account can access the network drive suggests that there's something stored in your real account that is preventing access. My suspicion is that it's something inside that account's Keychain. As long as you know the passwords for 1) the admin log-in on your Airport Extreme, 2) the WiFi password and 3) the password for the disk access (or did you disable the password requirement?), I would go into the Keychain Access app (from Launchpad click the 'Other' folder to find the app) and delete any entries related to your Airport Extreme. I'll have to wait until I get home to check where exactly these items are stored in the Keychain and how they're named.
EmpyreanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:36 AM   #18
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmpyreanUK View Post
I'm glad to hear it worked! The fact that a new account can access the network drive suggests that there's something stored in your real account that is preventing access. My suspicion is that it's something inside that account's Keychain. As long as you know the passwords for 1) the admin log-in on your Airport Extreme, 2) the WiFi password and 3) the password for the disk access (or did you disable the password requirement?), I would go into the Keychain Access app (from Launchpad click the 'Other' folder to find the app) and delete any entries related to your Airport Extreme. I'll have to wait until I get home to check where exactly these items are stored in the Keychain and how they're named.
I did clear all the key chain passwords last night, well thought i had. The odd thing was when i logged in using the new account it didn't even ask for the drive password

Thanks for looking, i will check in later when i get home to see if i have dleted the right parts

If the worst comes to worst i will transfer everything onto the new account, shouldn't take to long as the bulk of my storage is back on the drive now.
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:14 PM   #19
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmpyreanUK View Post
I'm glad to hear it worked! The fact that a new account can access the network drive suggests that there's something stored in your real account that is preventing access. My suspicion is that it's something inside that account's Keychain. As long as you know the passwords for 1) the admin log-in on your Airport Extreme, 2) the WiFi password and 3) the password for the disk access (or did you disable the password requirement?), I would go into the Keychain Access app (from Launchpad click the 'Other' folder to find the app) and delete any entries related to your Airport Extreme. I'll have to wait until I get home to check where exactly these items are stored in the Keychain and how they're named.
Any luck ? as i can't work it out i will wait till the weekend if i haven't sorted it i am going to move everything to the new account
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:20 PM   #20
Mr-Kerrse
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Well i decided to bite the bullet & move everything to the new account, all went perfectly now the hard drive is showing & working as it should.

Thanks for your help
Mr-Kerrse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:33 AM   #21
EmpyreanUK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Kerrse View Post
Well i decided to bite the bullet & move everything to the new account, all went perfectly now the hard drive is showing & working as it should.

Thanks for your help
Hi, sorry that I haven't gotten back to you until now, the last few days have been pretty busy and I haven't had the chance to get onto my home computer to check out the Keychain settings.

Obviously it's by-the-by now that you've moved all of your stuff over to the new user account, but I've just had a look and have seen that all Airport and Airdisk items are stored in the 'login' Keychain. This is what my suspicion was when I suggested you tried setting up a new user account, because as far as I understand things, this account would have a completely new 'login' Keychain, and you'd thus be able to have a fresh start with Airdisk settings.

However, as you've said you already tried deleting all of the Airport keychain items in your existing user account without any success, I'm not sure what I could have been, and so wouldn't have been able to help you any further anyway. Hopefully it wasn't too much ball-ache to move your stuff over to the new account, and it sounds as though everything's working now. Huzzah!
EmpyreanUK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme (new model) and USB Hard Drive ZeRoLiMiT Mac Peripherals 24 Sep 26, 2014 05:27 PM
Can I use a usb drive with AirPort Extreme for time machine? Soundhound Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 4, 2014 05:00 PM
Airport Extreme and External USB Hard Drive Hrothgar Mac Peripherals 2 Oct 11, 2013 05:03 PM
USB hard drive and new Airport Extreme Dr Kevorkian94 Mac Peripherals 10 Jul 6, 2013 12:32 PM
Airport Extreme and USB Hard Drive metaljay Mac Peripherals 3 Aug 3, 2012 12:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC