Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Sankel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Unhappy Fusion drive and Boot Camp

Hi,

Is here anybody who had succes installing boot camp (with Win8) on a 3TB Fusion Drive within Windows access to the Macintosh HD?

I think it's really hard, because my Windows cant see if it is an SDD or the HDD IMO

My HDD is partionised like this

| Mac OSX | Windows | Data | Fusion SSD |

This above is my 3TB HDD + SSD.

So, is there an option to access the Macintosh HD in Windows?
Sankel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 02:39 PM   #2
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankel View Post
Hi,

Is here anybody who had succes installing boot camp (with Win8) on a 3TB Fusion Drive within Windows access to the Macintosh HD?

I think it's really hard, because my Windows cant see if it is an SDD or the HDD IMO

My HDD is partionised like this

| Mac OSX | Windows | Data | Fusion SSD |

This above is my 3TB HDD + SSD.

So, is there an option to access the Macintosh HD in Windows?
There are several threads here and in the iMac and Mac Mini sections on how to do it. It appears that you are on the right track with your partitions. Your Windows partition is outside of the Fusion environment, and must be below the 2.2TB Windows limitation.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 05:06 PM   #3
Sankel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
There are several threads here and in the iMac and Mac Mini sections on how to do it. It appears that you are on the right track with your partitions. Your Windows partition is outside of the Fusion environment, and must be below the 2.2TB Windows limitation.
Yes you're right.

I'ved searched here for the article, also in the mac mini section, but can't find it..

could you help me?
Sankel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:07 PM   #4
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
These may help:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1511887

http://jochem.ke-works.com/post/3849...n-drive-macosx

http://blog.twocanoes.com/post/36645...e-and-bootcamp

-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 02:21 PM   #5
Sankel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks, but I think you get me wrong. I installed windows properly, everything is working great.

Accept that there isn't a solution to access my Mac partition in windows.

I installed an hfs+ driver of apple, I found it in another article. And now he displays my Mac hdd, but when opening it, it says it needs to be formatted to access..
Sankel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 04:00 PM   #6
Quad5Ny
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Is this the driver your talking about? - http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1368010

If so, that driver is old (v3). The Mac's that ship with Fusion drives have a newer HFS drivers (v4).

Try the file attached to this post.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Apple_HFS_Read_Only_Driver_(64-bit_v4.1).zip (46.0 KB, 77 views)
Quad5Ny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 06:09 PM   #7
Sankel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yes that's the one I installed. I directly go to windows to test it! Thanks!
Sankel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 10:28 PM   #8
aure28
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankel View Post
Yes that's the one I installed. I directly go to windows to test it! Thanks!
Any success? Same problem here with the 1TB Fusion. As said earlier, Windows doesn't recognize the Fusion drive and doesn't mount the Mac volume. It only works with non-Fusion volumes so far (it is convenient for transferring files from mac to windows through bootcamp).

Somebody has already posted the issue on Apple Support forum: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
aure28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:19 PM   #9
Sankel
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by aure28 View Post
Any success? Same problem here with the 1TB Fusion. As said earlier, Windows doesn't recognize the Fusion drive and doesn't mount the Mac volume. It only works with non-Fusion volumes so far (it is convenient for transferring files from mac to windows through bootcamp).

Somebody has already posted the issue on Apple Support forum: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
No succes!
Sankel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC