Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2013, 02:39 PM   #1
viccles
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Restoring from time machine

I am thinking about getting a new mac but I am worried I am going to lose all the activations to my programs (e.g., office, photoshop etc). If I backup to time machine does it keep all my programs activated?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 04:49 PM   #2
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Short answer: Yep.
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2013, 07:50 PM   #3
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
So if I do a backup to time machine before formatting all my programs that are activated should just transfer over?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:42 AM   #4
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Do I just need to backup to time machine?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:55 AM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by viccles View Post
I am thinking about getting a new mac but I am worried I am going to lose all the activations to my programs (e.g., office, photoshop etc). If I backup to time machine does it keep all my programs activated?
If you do a full backup with Time Machine then use that to import your data with Migration Assistant on the new machine, it will copy over all your applications. But many of them will not work until you reenter the registration serial numbers on the new machine. Adobe and MS apps are particularly bad about this.

I see you mentioned Photoshop specifically. Every time I have ever seen a user move PS over like this they had to reenter the registration. Make sure you "deactivate" apps on the old machine also.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:51 PM   #6
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
How would I deacctivate? Just uninstall? If I deacctivate then can I reactive on my new machine?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:20 PM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by viccles View Post
How would I deacctivate? Just uninstall? If I deacctivate then can I reactive on my new machine?
It has been a while... but I think deactivate is under the help menu in PS. You will then need to reenter the serial number on the new machine.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC