Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:33 AM   #1
strauss884
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Re-Purpose Imac Memory

If I bought 32GB for my new 27" Imac can I re use the existing 8GB of memory in a 2009 15" MBPr?
strauss884 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:41 AM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by strauss884 View Post
If I bought 32GB for my new 27" Imac can I re use the existing 8GB of memory in a 2009 15" MBPr?
There is no such thing as a 2009 MBPr, as the retina model was first released in 2012. You can't add or replace RAM in the MBPr at all, as it's soldered in. You may be able, however, to use RAM from an iMac in a MBPc.

You can find specs on all Apple products:
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:48 AM   #3
strauss884
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I thought the "r" MBPr was for pro. Not Retina. Sorry. I have a 2009 Macbook Pro.

It looks like this is what is in my 2009 Macbook Pro

4GB (two 2GB SO-DIMMs) of 1066MHz DDR3 memory; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 8GB

8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB Is what is in Imac?

Would this work?
strauss884 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:53 AM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by strauss884 View Post
I thought the "r" MBPr was for pro. Not Retina. Sorry. I have a 2009 Macbook Pro.
MBP means "MacBook Pro". Your 2009 MBP uses 1066 MHz DDR3 SDRAM (PC3-8500). Your 2012 iMac uses 1600 MHz DDR3L SDRAM (PC3-12800). I'm not certain they're fully compatible. I prefer to use only the exact spec that was originally installed.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 09:58 AM   #5
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by strauss884 View Post
...
4GB (two 2GB SO-DIMMs) of 1066MHz DDR3 memory; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 8GB

8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB Is what is in Imac?

Would this work?
The chances of it working are between slim and none. And slim was last seen on his horse heading out of town.

Memory is designed to work at certain speeds and trying to use them outside that design tends to not work well, presuming the MBP even sees it as valid memory.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:06 AM   #6
leman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
PC3-12800 should be backwards compatible with PC3-8500, at least according to DDR3 specification. It does not mean that it will 100% work in your MBP though, as voltage might be a problem (1.5V for standard DDR3, 1.35V for low-voltage). I am not sure whether your MBP will correctly detect and apply the appropriate voltage to the RAM.
leman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 10:11 AM   #7
strauss884
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
OK. Sounds like I should just leave it alone then.
strauss884 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac memory used in 2013 iMac? Eduardot iMac 8 May 7, 2014 03:32 PM
New iMac memory... dilgit iMac 1 Sep 26, 2013 01:32 AM
Purpose of more RAM davyvfr MacBook Pro 8 Feb 23, 2013 10:51 PM
Best Memory for iMac jmac049 iMac 24 Sep 11, 2012 10:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC