Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:31 AM   #1
micrors4racer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
MP4Tools 2ch audio bitrate?

Does MP4Tools default to 160kpbs for the 2ch aac track? I don't see a selection anywhere to change the bitrate for the 2ch track only the surround one.
micrors4racer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:09 PM   #2
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4racer View Post
Does MP4Tools default to 160kpbs for the 2ch aac track? I don't see a selection anywhere to change the bitrate for the 2ch track only the surround one.
Yes I believe it defaults to 160kbps. Honestly though it doesn't matter as 160 is as high as the ATV supports and going any higher just ends up with higher file size and no increase of quality whatsoever.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:40 AM   #3
Skoopman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romania
Of course you can change the bitrate.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mp4tools.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	389286  
__________________
Macbook Air 13" | 1.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
Apple TV 3
Skoopman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:44 AM   #4
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoopman View Post
Of course you can change the bitrate.
The OP stated that he was creating a surround track, meaning that AC3 (5.1) would be selected in your view. This would mean he would have the ability to change the bitrate of the 5.1 track, but when he selects the checkbox of "add 2-channel track" he cannot select the bitrate for the added stereo track.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 10:43 AM   #5
Skoopman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romania
Oh sorry, I misunderstood what he meant. Yes, when you select a second track you can't change the bitrate anymore, really odd.
__________________
Macbook Air 13" | 1.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
Apple TV 3
Skoopman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:10 AM   #6
micrors4racer
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I guess it is safe to assume that it does encode the 2ch track at 160kpbs? Is there anyway to check on the resulting m4v file using something like VLC?
micrors4racer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:21 AM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4racer View Post
I guess it is safe to assume that it does encode the 2ch track at 160kpbs? Is there anyway to check on the resulting m4v file using something like VLC?
Yes, I think VLC file info might give you the bitrate info. If not, Media Inspector or Media Info are both complete file analyzers that definitely do. Either one is a good tool to have around.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:46 PM   #8
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by micrors4racer View Post
I guess it is safe to assume that it does encode the 2ch track at 160kpbs? Is there anyway to check on the resulting m4v file using something like VLC?
I just downloaded and remuxed a file with mp4tools and have confirmed that it makes the 2 channel audio 160 Kbps. I looked in settings to see if there was any way to change it and couldn't find one, but 160 will be perfectly fine for AAC stereo.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP4Tools - What did i do wrong? DJTaurus Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Apr 12, 2014 09:15 PM
How to encode many files with handbrake, changing the audio bitrate darshie76 Digital Video 1 Nov 26, 2013 06:59 PM
mp4Tools photogpab Digital Video 14 Mar 1, 2013 09:13 AM
Subler/MP4Tools Help DaGrandMastah Apple TV and Home Theater 55 Jan 4, 2013 08:19 PM
MP4Tools DTS > AC3 audio out of sync? micrors4racer Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Oct 7, 2012 10:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC