Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 23, 2010, 10:35 AM   #1
Doctor Q
macrumors god
 
Doctor Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Warning to Application Developers: scammer asking for free codes

We would like to caution application developers that one or more scammers have contacted iPhone and iPod touch software developers by email, pretending they are from MacRumors and asking for free promo codes "for review." Accessory companies have also been targeted by the scammers.

Some of these messages claim to be making a request "on behalf of http://www.macrumors.com/". Others claim to be from Arnold Kim (owner of MacRumors). Some of the scammers use email addresses of the form macrumors@somedomain.com or arn.kim@somedomain.com, while others use unrelated addresses. These addresses have no connection to MacRumors and the messages are fraudulent.

One known scammer going by the names of Alex Wilson and Novica Josifovski has been particularly proficient over an extended period of time. The scammer has used the following email addresses in their correspondence: haker_novica@hotmail.com and mate01@live.com.

Any email from MacRumors, its owner, or its staff will come from @macrumors.com. Remember that email addresses can be forged too and we're not the only website that scammers pretend to represent. All businesses should be cautious about unsolicited requests for copies of their products.

We have heard from several developers who were appropriately suspicious of scam email. If you doubt the authenticity of a message claiming to be from MacRumors, contact us.

Last edited by WildCowboy; Aug 25, 2011 at 01:46 PM.
Doctor Q is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2010, 10:44 AM   #2
MacDawg
Demi-God (Moderator)
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
Not surprising, but sad to see nonetheless

Glad MR has been alerted to the scam and is being proactive to head it off
MacDawg is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2010, 11:35 AM   #3
tico24
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eastleigh, UK
I received one of these the other day. It was very convincing (except for the @live email address). Luckily I thought to check with Dr Q before giving away a free copy of my app.
__________________
| MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz 4GB-RAM | iMac 24" 3.06GHz 4GB-RAM | iPhone 5 Black (32gb) | New iPad 32GB Wifi |
Second Shootr - The Digital Shoot Assistant For Modern Photographers
tico24 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2010, 09:17 PM   #4
WiiMarioHacker
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tico24 View Post
I received one of these the other day. It was very convincing (except for the @live email address). Luckily I thought to check with Dr Q before giving away a free copy of my app.
Bold&Italic= Made me crack up laughing. People do some drastic things only to be rated out by an email extension.


Anyway, thanks for the warning, and glad MR got a report about it.
WiiMarioHacker is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2010, 04:08 PM   #5
Mike777
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
sounds like people who can't even be bothered to shell out a dollar to try an app before cracking it.

Thats the only reason I dislike jailbroken stuff.
Mike777 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 09:02 AM   #6
ComputersaysNo
macrumors 6502
 
ComputersaysNo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Well, you can always reply to them that nifty app called Macdefender
ComputersaysNo is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2011, 12:33 AM   #7
nomadmtb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Really?! Can they not afford to buy the freaking app themselves? Sad that people do stuff like this. Geeze.
nomadmtb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2011, 10:34 AM   #8
Acorn
macrumors 68000
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
its amazing what people will do to save 99 cents
Acorn is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2012, 08:50 PM   #9
Colonel Tuxedo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Orleans, LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
its amazing what people will do to save 99 cents
My guess is they are probably publishing the codes somewhere and attempting to make money with ad revenue, but I could be wrong. I just can't imagine someone going through all of that to save a couple of bucks.

Then again, I'm not a criminal so...
Colonel Tuxedo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 04:03 PM   #10
fruitycups
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Wirelessly posted

Man ppl are crazy..
fruitycups is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2012, 08:59 AM   #11
katt
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: right now in HK
good to know this forum already knows
katt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2012, 11:09 PM   #12
loaferkan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I received an email like this. Really convincing but i just notice that they are just using a yahoo account. Now that part is really strange, they should have used the company's email account and not just yahoo.
loaferkan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2013, 03:40 PM   #13
cdbautista
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
I've been receiving emails similar to this and when I see that they're only using email addresses from hotmail or gmail or yahoo, it's already a red flag that something's not right. I wasn't aware that they could also make it look like it came from a legitimate business email. Good to know.
__________________
Cherrie Dejolde Bautista
Author, Certified Empowerment Coach, Appreneur
Click here to see my books in Amazon
Soon - Click here to see my apps in iTunes
cdbautista is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > iPhone and iPod touch Apps

Tags
announcement

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asking for source code fabulass Wasteland 8 Nov 14, 2009 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Privacy / DMCA contact / Affiliate and FTC Disclosure
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC