Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:11 AM   #1
-BigMac-
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Does anyone use 2880x1800 as daily resolution?

I'm curious if anyone is using this resolution full-time on the retina macbook pros.

I noticed a rather large performance boost (particularly with scrolling and minimizing/maximising apps) when using the 1:1 resolution, and am wondering how people (if anyone) cope with the UI size on a daily basis.

Thanks
__________________
rMBP 15 2013. iPhone 5S 64Gb [Space]. iPad Air 64Gb [Space]. iPhone 4S [Black]. Apple TV [Black]. Airport Express [White ]
-BigMac- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:13 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Way too small for me. I'd rather just use my rMBP as it was intended by apple
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:14 AM   #3
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
I don't but I'm curious as to why you'd want to?
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:20 AM   #4
Ploki
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by grapes911 View Post
I don't but I'm curious as to why you'd want to?
Real-estate?
Ploki is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 11:53 AM   #5
b0fh666
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I would if I had one... especially before the LASIK when I was 3.0 short sighted... could look at tiny characters all day long not so much these days but I would definitely give it a shot... as a programmer I like to have tons of lines of code visible @ once
b0fh666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:09 PM   #6
vpro
macrumors 65816
 
vpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
switch back and forth.

Mainly yes but do switch back and forth. Depends on my work and mood too.
__________________
15" 2.8Ghz 16GB, 1TB|17" 2.5Ghz 16GB, 520GB SSD+980GB RAID|Mac Pro 3.0GHz 32GB, 1TB
vpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:29 PM   #7
kmj2318
macrumors 6502a
 
kmj2318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Naples, FL
How do you do it? I could just barely read text at that size
kmj2318 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:35 PM   #8
AndersBrohus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Denmark!
In OS X i use the full hd "look a like" resolution, but in Windows i use it with a 125% bigger
__________________
* Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505 16GB White *
iPad Mini 32GB White
MacBook Pro Retina, Early 2013, 2.7 GHz, 16GB DDR3 RAM, 512GB SSD, Nvidia GT 650M WITH Apple Care
AndersBrohus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 12:51 PM   #9
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
Quote:
Originally Posted by -BigMac- View Post
I'm curious if anyone is using this resolution full-time on the retina macbook pros.
I do. If the text size on a given browser window is too small, I CMD+ it up. I bumped iTerm's default font size up a hair as well as Adium's and Mail.app's (some PLIST editing required for Adium). I do like the added real estate the resolution gives me.

jas
jasonvp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:20 PM   #10
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
can u even use the full resolution besides as an option in games?

anyway, i use the highest 1680x1050 on my 13 inch
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:28 PM   #11
jasonvp
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern VA
Send a message via AIM to jasonvp
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
can u even use the full resolution besides as an option in games?
With an inexpensive utility called SwitchResX, yes, you can.

jas
jasonvp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:45 PM   #12
KdParker
macrumors 68040
 
KdParker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yep. As a developer I like the real estate.
__________________
64g iPhone6+Space Grey; 16g iPhone6 Silver;16g iPhone5s Space Grey;
15" retina - MBP 2.6 GHZ 16 RAM;
iPad4 retina
KdParker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 01:48 PM   #13
bushido
macrumors 603
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonvp View Post
With an inexpensive utility called SwitchResX, yes, you can.

jas
oh dear, just tried it. hell no, took forever to get the cursor from one side to the other part of the screen and my eyes r still tired ^^

... time for a nap
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
Don't judge me by my user name - I was young and stupid xD
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 01:24 PM   #14
dsc888
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boston, MA USA
No. I use 1680x1050 which is one step above the Best for Retina setting and it's the most comfortable setting for my near 40 year old eyes. The 1400x900 is nicer but I wanted more real estate.
__________________
iPhone5 White 16 GB | 2012 15" rMBP 2.6/8/512 | 2010 Mac Pro 2.8 w/ 27" ACD | 2010 MPB 17" AG i7 2.66/8/256
iPad Air 2 Gold 64 Gb Wifi| 4th Gen iPod Touch
dsc888 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 01:39 PM   #15
chronolegacy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
personally, no. too small, and took too long to drag a cursor from sides to sides, but some people do appreciate the real estate though
chronolegacy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:23 PM   #16
hakuin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronolegacy View Post
personally, no. too small, and took too long to drag a cursor from sides to sides, but some people do appreciate the real estate though
You can probably use BetterTouchTool to increase the cursor speed beyond its normal limit.
hakuin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:20 PM   #17
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
I did on my friend's rMBP once....it was a bad experience to say the least....though I could see the use if I had to multitask it up.
__________________
2012 13" MacBook Air | 2012 27" iMac | iPad 3 | iPhone 5
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:19 AM   #18
aleni
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
everything becomes tiny, my eyes getting soured by looking at the native 2880x1800 res.
__________________
easier to see my post.
aleni is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Tags
1880, 2880, fulltime, macbook, retina

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running the Retina MacBook Pro at Full 2880x1800 Resolution MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 413 Sep 15, 2014 07:34 AM
2880x1800 at Apple Store Mabyboi MacBook Pro 36 Sep 19, 2012 03:19 PM
rMBP scaling at 2880x1800 mogallin MacBook Pro 16 Aug 30, 2012 02:02 PM
Enabling 2880x1800? Orlandoech MacBook Pro 10 Aug 11, 2012 07:33 PM
DAILY INCOME - Easy track your daily profit maxus182 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 Jul 17, 2012 08:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC