Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2012, 05:03 PM   #1
Lastmboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
iMac shutdown causes emergency shutdown of UPS

I can't find a single instance of this when googling, so thought I would try here. When I either perform a shutdown of my iMac, or set the default to bootcamp and re-boot, it automatically triggers an emergency shutdown on my CyberPower UPS. The UPS displays "2 minutes to shutdown", and then it shuts off. This is really inconvenient, particularly when re-booting to bootcamp, as it's about enough time for Window to be up and running when the power drops. It also hammers all my external drives, office phone, etc. If I restart from OSX to OSX, it works fine. If I restart from Windows to Windows or from Windows to OSX, it works fine. I have emailed CyberPower tech support, and they are blaming the iMac, since it only happens when coming out of OSX. If I unplug the USB cable to the UPS just before shutdown or re-boot, then everything is fine. CyberPower recommends this as the solution.

Has anyone heard of or experienced this? I'm wondering if there is a "tweak" somewhere that is telling the UPS to shutdown. I'd like to be able to tweak it the other way. Yes, I can unplug the cable to the UPS when I re-boot, but that isn't really a "solution". Any ideas?? Thanks.
__________________
2013 Mac Pro 27" iMac I7 3.4 GHz 2009 Mac Pro Mac Mini iPad Air iPhone 5S Apple TV (3rd gen) iPod Classic
Lastmboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:58 PM   #2
retani
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
this is just what i am looking for

This is a very interesting post. In fact I am looking for a solution to trigger an emergency shutdown on my cyberpower DX800E. The reason is that I want a Mac Mini to restart when the power is restored. Up to now I have no clue how to do this. Did you gather any more information about how this happens? I am sorry that I cannot really help you but would be happy to share information.
retani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 08:55 PM   #3
ickystay
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I thought some nasty iMac had caused the fleet of brown trucks to grind to a halt. Bad iMac!
__________________
iMac 17" 2.0 Ghz C2D 3GB OSX 10.6.8
Powermac G5 2.0 Ghz DP 4GB OSX 10.4.11
iMac G5 1.6 Ghz 2GB OSX 10.4.11
PB G3 Pismo 400MHz 1GB OSX 10.3.9 OS 9.2.2
ickystay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:33 PM   #4
adam9c1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicagoland
is it possible for the iMac to draw too much power at shutdown thus overloading the UPS?
adam9c1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often do you shutdown your iMac? Aluminum213 iMac 38 Mar 4, 2013 04:50 AM
Network shutdown when UPS kicks in? marc.garcia OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Feb 3, 2013 05:56 AM
Imac no warning shutdown. YDdraigGoch Mac Basics and Help 0 Jan 9, 2013 10:34 PM
UPS with auto-shutdown Yaffle iMac 5 Jan 2, 2013 12:56 PM
iMac shutdown treemaine iMac 13 Oct 4, 2012 01:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC