Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:19 AM   #1
Gianmarco
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Planning on hard resetting my MPB, can I access files on my time capsule like normal?

I currently back up my MBP hard drive contents to an external hard drive via time machine.

If I reformat (i have too much crap on it and its slowing the computer down), can I access the hard drive contents and "restore" just certain parts?

I have never had to use time machine to restore anything, so I am a tad unfamiliar with the process.

The main thing I would want restored are my itunes content, among other things.

Thanks!

Edit: Changed "hard reset" to "reformat".

Last edited by Gianmarco; Jan 14, 2013 at 09:22 AM.
Gianmarco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:00 AM   #2
negativzero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Don't think you can selectively restore. It's all or nothing.
__________________
2012 15" MacBook Pro 2.6GHz | 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | 8GB Crucial RAM | Hi-Res AntiGlare
64GB iPhone 4S | 6.1.2 | Jailbroken by @evad3rs
TV 3rd generation
negativzero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:09 AM   #3
iWaiting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
whats a hard reset ?
iWaiting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:18 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
I currently back up my MBP hard drive contents to an external hard drive via time machine.

If I perform a hard reset (i have too much crap on it and its slowing the computer down), can I access the hard drive contents and "restore" just certain parts?

I have never had to use time machine to restore anything, so I am a tad unfamiliar with the process.

The main thing I would want restored are my itunes content, among other things.

Thanks!
Yes you can select certain things

Quote:
Originally Posted by negativzero View Post
Don't think you can selectively restore. It's all or nothing.
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iWaiting View Post
whats a hard reset ?
Reinstall from scratch, at least that's what I understand of it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:21 AM   #5
dontpannic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orpington, Kent, UK
So a reformat? Say reformat, you don't hard reset a computer.
dontpannic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:24 AM   #6
Gianmarco
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Yes you can select certain things

How would my MBP go about detecting the external as a previously used time capsule? Would it recognize it as something it cna "go back in time" to since the hard drive would be reformated?

dontpannic: I edited my original post to say "reformated."
Gianmarco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:52 AM   #7
dontpannic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Orpington, Kent, UK
dontpannic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 10:09 AM   #8
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
How would my MBP go about detecting the external as a previously used time capsule? Would it recognize it as something it cna "go back in time" to since the hard drive would be reformated?

dontpannic: I edited my original post to say "reformated."
I think some terminology here has confused things.

You can plug in your USB Time Machine drive and option key boot, then select the TM drive to boot from. That will give you a recovery screen much like the normal Recovery HD screen. From there you can use Disk Utility to erase the drive then click restore to put everything back. However, that does you absolutely no good, as it puts everything right back where it was (junk and all) and you will have accomplished nothing.

Doing a "restore" like I just described you cannot pick and choose what to restore. It restores everything.

Next option is to command-r boot to Recovery HD then erase Macintosh HD and reinstall the OS. This gives you the "clean" system it sounds like you are after. Once you have done that you have two options.

Option one... at the end of the install run Migration Assistant and point it to the Time Machine backup. This does allow you some control over what to put back on the machine. You can see your options in the screen below. Arguably, using this method again puts much of the "junk" back and accomplishes little.

Thumb resize.

Option two... at the end of the install setup an admin account for yourself then manually reinstall all apps and manually copy data (documents, music etc) back over from the Time Machine drive. If you have a lot of apps and custom settings this can be very time consuming. Also, if you are not particularly familiar with how OS X works, you can screw things up.

This last option (two) I described is what you will see users referring to as a "clean install."
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:24 AM   #9
Gianmarco
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Next option is to command-r boot to Recovery HD then erase Macintosh HD and reinstall the OS. This gives you the "clean" system it sounds like you are after. Once you have done that you have two options.

Option one... at the end of the install run Migration Assistant and point it to the Time Machine backup. This does allow you some control over what to put back on the machine. You can see your options in the screen below. Arguably, using this method again puts much of the "junk" back and accomplishes little.

Thumb resize.

Option two... at the end of the install setup an admin account for yourself then manually reinstall all apps and manually copy data (documents, music etc) back over from the Time Machine drive. If you have a lot of apps and custom settings this can be very time consuming. Also, if you are not particularly familiar with how OS X works, you can screw things up.

This last option (two) I described is what you will see users referring to as a "clean install."
Yes, what I am planning to do is basically get my MBP back to the state of rhwn I first got it out of the box two years ago.

In regards to option 2, I do not think I am familiar enough with OSX to do this properly.

Since the main things I need are my music, documents and pictures, I think I will just manually back those up to an external and move them to the HDD when the clean install is finished.

On that note, my external tha tI use for Time Machine is 640GB and my MBP's internal HDD is 320, do you know if it is possible to treat the extra space on my external as a second HDD, or is the whole thing set to use as time machine?
Gianmarco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:51 AM   #10
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
On that note, my external tha tI use for Time Machine is 640GB and my MBP's internal HDD is 320, do you know if it is possible to treat the extra space on my external as a second HDD, or is the whole thing set to use as time machine?
Yes, you can just use Disk Utility to make a second partition on the drive. One for TM and the other for your personal use however you want. Just follow this to shrink down the first partition, then add the second one.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:24 PM   #11
Gianmarco
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Yes, you can just use Disk Utility to make a second partition on the drive. One for TM and the other for your personal use however you want. Just follow this to shrink down the first partition, then add the second one.
Thanks.

Just to make sure though. This partition can be made evne though the external is already being used for time machine correct?

If so, should i make the partition big enough so that the size of the time machine partition does not go bellow my internals capcity?
Gianmarco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:48 PM   #12
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
Just to make sure though. This partition can be made evne though the external is already being used for time machine correct?
Yes... if you follow the instructions in the link it will do a non-destructive shrink of the main partition with your Time Machine data on there. Then you just add the new partition at the end.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianmarco View Post
If so, should i make the partition big enough so that the size of the time machine partition does not go bellow my internals capcity?
It really is related to how much data you have or plan to have, plus a cushion for some document versioning. So if you are now using say 100GB, and wanted to allow maybe another 30GB for things you may add along the way.... for a total 130GB... then plus 50% or so to allow some versions of files to be saved... that would be about 195GB. Just for example. Never hurts to make it a little bigger than you think you might need.

But just because say you have a 1TB drive, does not mean you need that much time machine space if the 1TB is not all being used. What is being used or what you think you may use is what matters.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No longer able to access my Time Capsule Hard Drive from my PC, iPhone, ATV2 or iPadů Rocous Mac Basics and Help 0 Mar 24, 2013 11:46 AM
Access Time Capsule Files Remotely from Mac and PC Cergman Mac Peripherals 3 Jan 4, 2013 12:47 PM
Can Time Capsule work as a normal extend hard drive? tmartin0215 Mac Peripherals 6 Dec 25, 2012 07:13 AM
Time capsule or normal hard drive? Gumbys69 Mac Peripherals 4 Dec 14, 2012 10:57 PM
Time Capsule: Can I access its files from a different network out of the box? felixen MacBook Air 2 Jul 30, 2012 07:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC