Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:49 PM   #1
skinniezinho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
PowerMac G4 Sata Burner with 10.4.11 possible?

Hi guys, currently my DVD burner isn't reading some cds, nor writing them.
I tried a sata burner that I had there, laying around, in 10.5.8 worked fine, in 10.4.11 didn't show up.
Tried patchburn but it didn't detected my burner.
Any suggestions?
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:10 PM   #2
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinniezinho View Post
Hi guys, currently my DVD burner isn't reading some cds, nor writing them.
I tried a sata burner that I had there, laying around, in 10.5.8 worked fine, in 10.4.11 didn't show up.
Tried patchburn but it didn't detected my burner.
Any suggestions?
You will need a SATA card. G4s are PATA
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 04:11 PM   #3
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
You will need a SATA card. G4s are PATA
If he said it is recognized in 10.5.6, I think it is a pretty safe bet that he has a SATA card.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:27 AM   #4
skinniezinho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterKeeks View Post
If he said it is recognized in 10.5.6, I think it is a pretty safe bet that he has a SATA card.
Yup, a sonnet tempo pci with 2 ports.
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:09 AM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
skinnie, in which slot Tempo is installed?

Quote:
The first 3 PCI slots in a G4 AGP with 4 slots are 1 PCI bus, the 4th slot (pci 4) is a seperate PCI bus and is called a 'bus master' slot. When you want to use a PCI SCSI card, you need to put this card in the 4th slot...
It does apply to all bus master PCI cards AFAIK. While Leo drivers seem to be not sensitive to this, Tiger ones could be contrary. Slot count is starting from AGP.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:11 AM   #6
skinniezinho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
skinnie, in which slot Tempo is installed?



It does apply to all bus master PCI cards AFAIK. While Leo drivers seem to be not sensitive to this, Tiger ones could be contrary. Slot count is starting from AGP.
Guess it is on the latest,but the G4 Gigabit Ethernet (mine) only has 3 slots.
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:30 AM   #7
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
My quote was about MDD which does have 4. Try other slots if possible, if it won't help, it's Tiger driver issue. Patchburn is useless in 10.4. It only allowed drive to be seen as "blessed" for Apple software to burn discs. OS and third party burning software should see the drive without it.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:28 PM   #8
skinniezinho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portugal
Send a message via MSN to skinniezinho
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
My quote was about MDD which does have 4. Try other slots if possible, if it won't help, it's Tiger driver issue. Patchburn is useless in 10.4. It only allowed drive to be seen as "blessed" for Apple software to burn discs. OS and third party burning software should see the drive without it.
Thanks for the suggestion.
I will try it on the weekend, but I guess it may be a tiger driver issue, just hoped someone had a solution.PATA/IDE Drives are now "scarce" and used ones are +- the price of SATA ones new (15-20eur).
For now I have this options (used):

Plextor PX-740 -15eur, from what I've searched it is a Benq 1640

NEC ND-3520A - 15eur

LiteOn DVD8900 - 19eur.guess it is a Benq DW1670

Even bought a "Lens Cleaner CD from the ebay" to try first.
__________________
Powermac G4 400MHz/2Gb/ATI Rage+3DFx Voodoo 2 SLI/2x80Gb
Powermac G5 Quad/2Gb/Nvidia 7800GT/500Gb
Thinkpad X230/256Gb SSD/16Gb Ram+Dell U2312Hm
F.A.Q for PowerPC Macs Powerpc Upgrades
skinniezinho is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G4 SATA-PCI-Card Owners, post your real life benchmarks! Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 10 May 31, 2013 11:23 AM
PowerMac G4 MDD SATA PCI? AF08 PowerPC Macs 1 May 9, 2013 08:44 AM
Powermac G4 QS won't boot with SIL3112 SATA card installed max•• PowerPC Macs 12 Sep 4, 2012 04:10 PM
PowerMac G5 SATA Controller Issue + Dead HDD ajwgeek PowerPC Macs 2 Jul 4, 2012 11:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC