Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:12 PM   #1
ppcfanforever1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Never ending question I've had.

I have tried many times in the past to get wine working on a ppc mac and have failed every time. If anybody has had a success with it could they share there success stories and how they did it? A tutorial would be nice.

Thanks in advance.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:35 PM   #2
Ariii
macrumors 6502a
 
Ariii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago
Send a message via ICQ to Ariii Send a message via AIM to Ariii Send a message via MSN to Ariii Send a message via Yahoo to Ariii
Wine can't emulate different architectures... it can only emulate the Windows API.
__________________
Indigo iBook Clamshell, MacOS 9; Lime iBook Clamshell, Panther;
MacOS 9 users: Use Classilla | MacOS 9 Lives
I'm on IRC at #macrumors on irc.krono.net
Tumblr
Ariii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:40 PM   #3
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
You need an Intel processor to run Wine. Or an emulator.
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:43 PM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyoungren View Post
You need an Intel processor to run Wine. Or an emulator.


Quote:
PowerPC Mac
In 2002, the OpenDarwin people created the Darwine project to integrate the processor-emulator QEMU with a Mac OS-compatible version of Wine in order to run Win32 EXEs on PowerPC. The group succeeded in porting Wine from ELF to Mach-0. Integration of the x86 emulator was not worth the trouble of byteswapping (big endian <-> little endian), which was too much work.
Qemu-Darwin-user allows Mac OS X/Intel Applications to run on Mac OS X/PowerPC. It's conceptually similar to doing the opposite of Rosetta and was therefore referred to as "Attesor".
Edit: I should read better, you said Or an emulator.

Last edited by justperry; Jan 6, 2013 at 11:51 PM.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:46 PM   #5
eyoungren
macrumors 603
 
eyoungren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA
Send a message via AIM to eyoungren Send a message via MSN to eyoungren Send a message via Yahoo to eyoungren Send a message via Skype™ to eyoungren
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Scroll down to requirements.
Qemu-Darwin-user, I wasn't aware something like that existed. I was going on the OP's question about Wine and the link I give is what I ran into after a Google search.

Unless you mean the Q emulator?
eyoungren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:48 PM   #6
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
So you are saying its possible? Would it work just like clicking an application on your osx desktop? Is there an app that isnt a full emulator but just a library and cpu emulator to open x86 apps?
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 11:55 PM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
So you are saying its possible? Would it work just like clicking an application on your osx desktop? Is there an app that isnt a full emulator but just a library and cpu emulator to open x86 apps?
Even if you get it to work it is fairly useless, look at Virtual PC, slow as molasses.
Get a cheap PC instead.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:03 AM   #8
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
http://darwine.sourceforge.net/
As i recall i used this and couldnt get it working.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Even if you get it to work it is fairly useless, look at Virtual PC, slow as molasses.
Get a cheap PC instead.
I have a gaming pc, i just want this for fun. It would just be cool to have you know?

----------

On the site i just linked said this, "This is distinguished from simply using QEMU to run Windows because there is no Windows here. Just WINE and QEMU to run Windows applications directly under X. That will enable vastly better performance, better integration, and easier administration." So it shouldn't be as slow as normal emulation.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:31 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
http://darwine.sourceforge.net/
As i recall i used this and couldnt get it working.

----------



I have a gaming pc, i just want this for fun. It would just be cool to have you know?

----------

On the site i just linked said this, "This is distinguished from simply using QEMU to run Windows because there is no Windows here. Just WINE and QEMU to run Windows applications directly under X. That will enable vastly better performance, better integration, and easier administration." So it shouldn't be as slow as normal emulation.
Not much to see there.

I am almost sure I tried this many years ago, can't really remember if it worked, if it did I would most probably still have it.

Edit: Downloading it now, see what it does.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:34 AM   #10
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Not much to see there.

I am almost sure I tried this many years ago, can't really remember if it worked, if it did I would most probably still have it.
Ok, im just gonna try it one more time just for peace of mind. Thanks
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:46 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
Ok, im just gonna try it one more time just for peace of mind. Thanks
Downloaded but I think I have font problems, My X11 also is not 100% I think and if I click one included App it shows me a link to download freetype from:

http://www.freetype.org/

But, no OS X version of this????


Edit: Log Output:

Wine cannot find the FreeType font library. To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
Building font metrics. This may take some time...

Last edited by justperry; Jan 7, 2013 at 12:54 AM.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 12:58 AM   #12
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Did the fonts download? Back when i tried i had to search for half an hour for the fonts online.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:04 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
Did the fonts download? Back when i tried i had to search for half an hour for the fonts online.


What did you do?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:08 AM   #14
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post


What did you do?
What do you mean?
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:14 AM   #15
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
Did the fonts download? Back when i tried i had to search for half an hour for the fonts online.
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post


What did you do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
What do you mean?
And round and round we go

I thought you downloaded the needed fonts/extra software, I thought you had it working, my bad.

I think I will try to install and compile the freetype software.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:16 AM   #16
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
And round and round we go

I thought you downloaded the needed fonts/extra software, I thought you had it working, my bad.

I think I will try to install and compile the freetype software.
That would be awesome if you could.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:27 AM   #17
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
That would be awesome if you could.
I just did, the download and complile went OK, but now I get this:

Font metrics: 100.0% done
err:advpack:create_tmp_ini_file Unable to create temp ini file
Failed to open the service control manager.
err:advpack:create_tmp_ini_file Unable to create temp ini file
wine: Unhandled alignment at address 0x0 (thread 0009), starting debugger...

It might be my X11, I really have to try to reinstall.

Now you should download this: Download freetype-2.4.11.tar.bz2 (1.5 MB)

Then untar, just double click, it untars, you then get a folder.

Next step, open terminal and type:

cd and drag the folder to it and hit enter.
Then drag the configure into terminal and hit enter, it starts to config, may take a while.

Next i finished type : make
If finished type : make install

Now try to use Darwine again, does it work for you?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:33 AM   #18
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
I cant test it tonight but tomorrow i will, i shut everything down for the night. Ill get back to you tomorrow afternoon after i try it. Btw what os and processor are you using? Night
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 01:37 AM   #19
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
I cant test it tonight but tomorrow i will, i shut everything down for the night. Ill get back to you tomorrow afternoon after i try it. Btw what os and processor are you using? Night
Powerbook G4 1.67 10.5.8

I have a screenshot below, it does not work yet, although the extra freeType worked.

OK, see ya later.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	29
Size:	173.7 KB
ID:	388512  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 12:16 PM   #20
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Powerbook G4 1.67 10.5.8

I have a screenshot below, it does not work yet, although the extra freeType worked.

OK, see ya later.
I finally got a chance to test it out, heres what I got.

Thumb resize.

then once I press either button I get this...

Thumb resize.

In the log I get errors in the beginning and end of the freetype font check percentage thing.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 11:01 PM   #21
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppcfanforever1 View Post
I finally got a chance to test it out, heres what I got.

Thumb resize.

then once I press either button I get this...

Thumb resize.

In the log I get errors in the beginning and end of the freetype font check percentage thing.
Yup, I got the same here, but haven't tried more after my last post.
I will look into it today again.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:14 AM   #22
ppcfanforever1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Ok thanks, hopefully we can get this working. It would benefit alot of people.
ppcfanforever1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Never ending issue! thehappyhippie MacBook Pro 15 Mar 27, 2014 04:56 AM
on ending calls mark5019 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Mar 3, 2014 04:11 PM
clamxav never ending loop flimzy Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 25, 2014 07:26 PM
Got a question about my contract ending. gc15 iPhone 5 Feb 20, 2013 10:38 AM
Happy Ending Story! freeman727 iPhone 10 Aug 28, 2012 05:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC