Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2012, 05:06 PM   #1
emmgunn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
MP4tools Users - Beta Released With New Encoder Option

Hello MP4tools users. As some of you may know, MP4tools is going through a conversion from applescript to obj-c. As part of this complete re-write, the latest beta includes a new encoder (ffmpeg) which may eventually become the primary tool for creating MP4/M4V files. Initial testing has shown improvements in speed, sync, codec compatibility and the handling of large files. Subtitles are still proving problematic, but we'll see how that goes . There is a "Try New Encoder" checkbox in the main window that must be ticked to override the old encoder (mencoder). If interested, give it a try and let me know how it goes via the beta e-mail address on the download page. And don't forget it's still beta . Feel free to include any feature requests in your e-mails.

Cheers.
emmgunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 06:21 PM   #2
sfxguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
I may be blind but I do not see the "try new encoder" check box.
Can you post a pic of what it looks like?

Also, why don't you add in tagging options like subler?
If this had that it would be my one stop shop for converting my mkv's.
sfxguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 02:29 AM   #3
emmgunn
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
The original comment, "a Try New Encoder checkbox in the main window" is a little vague I suppose . Look for it in the MP4 tab, in a box next to the Convert button. Also, make sure that you're using version 3.2.b10.

As to the tagging question. The decision to convert from applescript to obj-c was primarily driven by the expanded tools available in the obj-c environment. So the goal is to include features like tagging in the near future. For now, the goal is just to find the bugs introduced during the conversion to obj-c.
emmgunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 08:52 AM   #4
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmgunn View Post
The original comment, "a Try New Encoder checkbox in the main window" is a little vague I suppose . Look for it in the MP4 tab, in a box next to the Convert button. Also, make sure that you're using version 3.2.b10.

As to the tagging question. The decision to convert from applescript to obj-c was primarily driven by the expanded tools available in the obj-c environment. So the goal is to include features like tagging in the near future. For now, the goal is just to find the bugs introduced during the conversion to obj-c.
I'm excited for your product. I still have to wonder how your utilization of ffmpeg will compare to handbrake. But I am anxious to give it a go.

Edit: So I just took a look at the beta. No Constant Quality setting, only 1 or 2 pass constant bit rate? Do you plan on adding CQ at some point?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Jul 14, 2012 at 12:11 PM. Reason: Question
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 07:13 PM   #5
sfxguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmgunn View Post
The original comment, "a Try New Encoder checkbox in the main window" is a little vague I suppose . Look for it in the MP4 tab, in a box next to the Convert button. Also, make sure that you're using version 3.2.b10.

As to the tagging question. The decision to convert from applescript to obj-c was primarily driven by the expanded tools available in the obj-c environment. So the goal is to include features like tagging in the near future. For now, the goal is just to find the bugs introduced during the conversion to obj-c.
Ahh, I bet it is there in b10, but your link points to b9.
Do you have b10 up yet?
sfxguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 07:39 PM   #6
sfxguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Does b10 fix any of the sound sync issues I get a lot when re-muxing my MKV's?

I have a lot of MKV's that play fine in VLC but when I do the audio conversion in mp4tools, (I usually convert to AAC 5.1 and add a 2-channel track,) the audio is out of sync on both tracks by the end of the movie so I end up doing a full handbrake conversion, which always works.

(Note I just did a conversion of an MKV in b9 as described above and the audio was out of sync, I then did a remux in subler and left the DTS track as it was in the MKV, which said it was AAC 5.1 and the sync was fine, I did not have subler down-convert the audio)

Last edited by sfxguy; Jul 14, 2012 at 08:07 PM.
sfxguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 11:07 AM   #7
emmgunn
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I'm excited for your product. I still have to wonder how your utilization of ffmpeg will compare to handbrake. But I am anxious to give it a go.

Edit: So I just took a look at the beta. No Constant Quality setting, only 1 or 2 pass constant bit rate? Do you plan on adding CQ at some point?
Added encode options are being considered. The goal, however is to try to keep the process as simple as possible, so there is a little bit of debate on how the best accomplish this. An "advanced settings" option is the leading candidate right now. Feel free, you or any current users, to make requests for what options you'd like to see. Right now, however, the focus is to get an implementation that works with the basic settings, since the vast majority of processing is passthru for the video.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfxguy View Post
Ahh, I bet it is there in b10, but your link points to b9.
Do you have b10 up yet?
It's been up for a few days actually. Try to refresh the beta page in your browser.
emmgunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 11:16 AM   #8
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmgunn View Post
Added encode options are being considered. The goal, however is to try to keep the process as simple as possible, so there is a little bit of debate on how the best accomplish this. An "advanced settings" option is the leading candidate right now. Feel free, you or any current users, to make requests for what options you'd like to see. Right now, however, the focus is to get an implementation that works with the basic settings, since the vast majority of processing is passthru for the video.
I agree with your approach. I use mp4tools for mostly passthrough work and occasional joining of files. Knowing the quality of the product, I get excited at the thought of having one tool that can do what it currently does along with additional function. But it has to basically work well before the layers could be added. Seems like the major complaint with it is audio/video sync. So if that can be address well, it will be a winner.

Combine the function of Handbrake (CQ), Subler (metadata and subtitles), and MP4Tools and I will happily give you access to by CC.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 04:33 PM   #9
sfxguy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfxguy View Post
Does b10 fix any of the sound sync issues I get a lot when re-muxing my MKV's?

I have a lot of MKV's that play fine in VLC but when I do the audio conversion in mp4tools, (I usually convert to AAC 5.1 and add a 2-channel track,) the audio is out of sync on both tracks by the end of the movie so I end up doing a full handbrake conversion, which always works.

(Note I just did a conversion of an MKV in b9 as described above and the audio was out of sync, I then did a remux in subler and left the DTS track as it was in the MKV, which said it was AAC 5.1 and the sync was fine, I did not have subler down-convert the audio)
Just ran the same MKV in b10 with the new encoder, (video pass through, AAC 5.1, and add 2-Ch track.)

It is in sync now!

Great job!
sfxguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 02:08 PM   #10
emmgunn
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfxguy View Post
Just ran the same MKV in b10 with the new encoder, (video pass through, AAC 5.1, and add 2-Ch track.)

It is in sync now!

Great job!
Good to hear. There are still some things to sort out with the new process, so keep an eye on the beta page for updates, and be sure to send bug information to the beta e-mail.
emmgunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 01:47 AM   #11
Nutdotnet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
The beta seems to be much more reliable than the current version. However, the converted video file isn't showing up where it should. In the current version, if I leave the "save converted video" line blank, it will save to the folder where the original is. In the beta - I have no idea where it's saving (or if it even is)...

On a side note - I emailed you earlier this week asking for a refund for my MP4Tools purchase. It's the perfect piece of software for what I'm trying to do but it's so unstable that it's unusable.
Nutdotnet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 07:42 AM   #12
Mackan
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutdotnet View Post
The beta seems to be much more reliable than the current version. However, the converted video file isn't showing up where it should. In the current version, if I leave the "save converted video" line blank, it will save to the folder where the original is. In the beta - I have no idea where it's saving (or if it even is)...

On a side note - I emailed you earlier this week asking for a refund for my MP4Tools purchase. It's the perfect piece of software for what I'm trying to do but it's so unstable that it's unusable.
That's why it's shareware. You can try it out first. Then you would probably have discovered it was unusable for you. I believe purchases are not refundable, as stated on this page.
Mackan is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 03:59 PM   #13
Nutdotnet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackan View Post
That's why it's shareware. You can try it out first. Then you would probably have discovered it was unusable for you. I believe purchases are not refundable, as stated on this page.
While MP4Tools is shareware, part of its limitation when you are using the "demo" version is the inability to drag and drop multiple files. As this is what I wanted to do (I have hundreds of movie/tv shows that I want to convert to .mp4) I went ahead and made the $5 purchase. Unfortunately, this is where it is unstable, when I want to add a queue of files.

Converting single files at a time works fine. Dragging and dropping multiple files seems to cause the program to crash more than 50% of the time.

As the old adage says - "Assuming makes and "ass" out of you...and you."
Nutdotnet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 09:36 AM   #14
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
unless i'm missing something obvious, this beta is not creating a 6 channel AC3 audio track even when it is told to.
using these settings shown (which are the same as i used in the non-beta), it creates a 2 channel stereo and a 2 channel AC3 track.



this is what was created



it's also not setting the stereo as the first audio track, whereas the non-beta version does.

it has fixed the audio sync issue, but it has created 2 other issues which kinda are show stoppers.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2012, 10:28 PM   #15
Nutdotnet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
unless i'm missing something obvious, this beta is not creating a 6 channel AC3 audio track even when it is told to.
using these settings shown (which are the same as i used in the non-beta), it creates a 2 channel stereo and a 2 channel AC3 track.

Image

this is what was created

Image

it's also not setting the stereo as the first audio track, whereas the non-beta version does.

it has fixed the audio sync issue, but it has created 2 other issues which kinda are show stoppers.
I'm currently chatting with the developer on multiple issues that I'm experiencing with the beta. The beta is much more stable, but it appears to be throwing errors that I'm not getting with the "stable" release. I think there's something that's he's missing that's probably an easy fix for him. I'll keep you posted.
Nutdotnet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2012, 11:28 AM   #16
fkuebler
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Audio sync not ok with latest beta 3.2.b14

I had to make video files containing only either a single AC3 2 channel or 5.1 channel audio track compatible to both iTunes playback and Apple TV3. Being a video rookie, I tried iFlicks, remux, subler, iVI, MP4tools for doing this. Maybe I did something wrong, but only with iVI and MP4tools I could successfully do the required task.

I liked MP4tools a little better, but I found, that the beta appeared more stable than the previous 3.1.4.

Unfortunately MP4tools caused a slight audio/video de-sync with my videos (3.1.4 does not). Not much, but noticeable. Therefore I had to resort to iVI for doing my app. 150 conversions.

Just to let you know...

EDIT: I also noticed a slight audio distortion, when I converted an AC3 5.1 mp4 into an AAC+AC3 m4v and listend to it with QT. It sounded like kind of a faint echo. With the same video converted in the same way with iVI I did not notice this problem.

Last edited by fkuebler; Oct 3, 2012 at 06:15 AM.
fkuebler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:07 PM   #17
ryedarrow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkuebler View Post
I had to make video files containing only either a single AC3 2 channel or 5.1 channel audio track compatible to both iTunes playback and Apple TV3. Being a video rookie, I tried iFlicks, remux, subler, iVI, MP4tools for doing this. Maybe I did something wrong, but only with iVI and MP4tools I could successfully do the required task.

I liked MP4tools a little better, but I found, that the beta appeared more stable than the previous 3.1.4.

Unfortunately MP4tools caused a slight audio/video de-sync with my videos (3.1.4 does not). Not much, but noticeable. Therefore I had to resort to iVI for doing my app. 150 conversions.

Just to let you know...

EDIT: I also noticed a slight audio distortion, when I converted an AC3 5.1 mp4 into an AAC+AC3 m4v and listend to it with QT. It sounded like kind of a faint echo. With the same video converted in the same way with iVI I did not notice this problem.
I too have noticed that faint echo in QT, I think it's quicktime trying to play both audio tracks at the same time. If you open the video in VLC it will play fine (same for ATV).

----------

So I use MP4tools all the time and really like it. However, I am getting random crashes of the app when I do batch projects.

Normal workflow is to take MKV's and do video pass thru straight to MP4 and just encode the audio if it needs it.

The app often crashes and I have to start the batch project over. Problem is I can't seem to duplicate the issues to figure out what is causing the problem.

Anyone else run into this?
ryedarrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 08:11 PM   #18
snebes
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I just updated to 3.2.2 from 3.1.4. I don't know if it uses the new encoder by default. But it seems that the files that it encodes are not able to be converted by iDentify 2--it crashes.

Also, it seems there isn't a way to automatically tell it to not include subtitles now.

I'm just providing the feedback here incase anyone else has this problem, as it could relate to the new encoder.

Going back to 3.1.4 for now.
snebes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:37 AM   #19
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by snebes View Post
I just updated to 3.2.2 from 3.1.4. I don't know if it uses the new encoder by default. But it seems that the files that it encodes are not able to be converted by iDentify 2--it crashes.

Also, it seems there isn't a way to automatically tell it to not include subtitles now.

I'm just providing the feedback here incase anyone else has this problem, as it could relate to the new encoder.

Going back to 3.1.4 for now.
Hope you contacted the developer about your issue's. He's very responsive to feedback on his product.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X Mavericks 10.9.3 Beta Contains Native 'Retina' Resolution Option for 4K Displays MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 168 May 1, 2014 01:58 AM
iPhone: Restored from beta 6 to GM - no option to restore from iCloud backup philbailie iOS 7 0 Sep 11, 2013 04:50 AM
iOS 7 beta 6 STILL no ota update option since beta 2 BigB82 iOS 7 14 Aug 17, 2013 11:08 PM
MP4tools Users - New Beta, New Feature emmgunn Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Aug 14, 2013 11:08 AM
Looking for MP4tools Power Users emmgunn Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Feb 21, 2013 08:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC