Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2011, 12:45 PM   #1
jlmcclellan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Crusader Kings on the Mac

Hey guys,

I'm going to buy Crusader Kings and noticed it was available on the Mac as well as the PC, so I was curious who here has had any experience with the game (preferably on both) and if there is any reason I should pick up the PC version over the Mac version?

Thanks a bunch!
jlmcclellan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2012, 11:46 AM   #2
freyr1960
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Avoid Crudsader Kings II

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmcclellan View Post
Hey guys,

I'm going to buy Crusader Kings and noticed it was available on the Mac as well as the PC, so I was curious who here has had any experience with the game (preferably on both) and if there is any reason I should pick up the PC version over the Mac version?

Thanks a bunch!
Steam had a sale on it this past weekend and I made the mistake of buying it. Be sure to read the forum posts on Steam before purchasing games. Mea Culpa. The Mac version is a real stinker. Integrated graphics are not supported in the Mac version, but they are for the PC. Even with a Mac Pro and a Radeon 5770 the game is unplayable. The thing slows to a crawl and crashes frequently. Pity, because the PC version seems to be doing quite well. If publishers are incapable of porting games, I wish they would just stop trying. As it is, people waste good $$ on software that doesn't appear to have been tested at all.
freyr1960 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2012, 04:26 PM   #3
laetusviator
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmcclellan View Post
Hey guys,

I'm going to buy Crusader Kings and noticed it was available on the Mac as well as the PC, so I was curious who here has had any experience with the game (preferably on both) and if there is any reason I should pick up the PC version over the Mac version?

Thanks a bunch!
Are you talking about the original Crusader Kings, or Crusader Kings 2?

If you buy CK2 on Steam you get both the PC and Mac versions. So you could try both yourself and see what you prefer.

(Of course, you might not want to buy it on Steam!)
__________________
Games: My Indie Game Bundle Tracker | Top Indie Games & Tower Defense Games on the Mac App Store
My Magic Trackpad Guide (basics to setting up custom gestures with BetterTouchTool)

Last edited by laetusviator; Jun 13, 2012 at 04:28 PM. Reason: clarification - which crusader kings?
laetusviator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:58 PM   #4
ultra7k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
has the publisher fixed up the mac version of the game? or is is still terrible? I kind of want to play this!
__________________
13" Mid 2012 MBP, 2.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 500GB HD, 240GB Intel 330 SSD
ultra7k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:40 PM   #5
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra7k View Post
has the publisher fixed up the mac version of the game? or is is still terrible? I kind of want to play this!
I had huge issues before, but it seems that it works ok now, I haven't played it much as my requests for help from the developer didn't get answered at all.

My issues was that starting the game op the menus took like two minutes to spawn and all 3d models in game was flickering, those is at least for me now fixed.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:58 PM   #6
ultra7k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
I had huge issues before, but it seems that it works ok now, I haven't played it much as my requests for help from the developer didn't get answered at all.

My issues was that starting the game op the menus took like two minutes to spawn and all 3d models in game was flickering, those is at least for me now fixed.
Thanks!

Now to wait for a sale...
__________________
13" Mid 2012 MBP, 2.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 500GB HD, 240GB Intel 330 SSD
ultra7k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 03:22 PM   #7
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra7k View Post
Thanks!

Now to wait for a sale...
It's on sale fairly often.

I have no issues with the game on my 320M, though I think most of the problems were with intel graphics. And it's fine on my desktop's 5850.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:21 PM   #8
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
It's on sale fairly often.

I have no issues with the game on my 320M, though I think most of the problems were with intel graphics. And it's fine on my desktop's 5850.
I had issues with NVidia, but as said, those seems fixed now, but I have not played it for more than maybe an hour or so.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:06 AM   #9
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Meh. I've been a fan of Paradox titles since their very FIRST mass-market hit Europa Universalis (1).

I never really saw the appeal of Crusader Kings. Clearly it was based on the EU game engine, but Crusader Kings just felt like... Europa Universalis minus 300 years, thrown back into the middle Middle Ages.

For those who have played both CK and EU, can someone tell me what features (other than the earlier Medieval timeline) makes CK stand out that EU (1, 2, or 3) do not offer?

Europa Universalis 4 is already planned for a MacOSX (as well as Windows) release.

P.S. -- kudos for the company Virtual Programming for being awesome and porting 95% of all Paradox titles to the Mac (and usually they port it to Mac within 1 year of Windows release).

P.P.S. -- go with the Mac native ports if they exist. Virtual Programming does a great job of the ports, so it feels like a 'native' port. In other words, it runs just as well as the Windows versions do.
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:00 AM   #10
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
P.P.S. -- go with the Mac native ports if they exist. Virtual Programming does a great job of the ports, so it feels like a 'native' port. In other words, it runs just as well as the Windows versions do.
VP ports are problematic at best.
CK2 had huge issues at launch, Kings Bounty still has issues (look at steam or gog.com forums and see what mac users are saying).
The Witcher 2 port is also problematic on many systems.

They don't answer help requests at all in my experience.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro i7-4790k, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.4
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:17 PM   #11
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Meh. I've been a fan of Paradox titles since their very FIRST mass-market hit Europa Universalis (1).

I never really saw the appeal of Crusader Kings. Clearly it was based on the EU game engine, but Crusader Kings just felt like... Europa Universalis minus 300 years, thrown back into the middle Middle Ages.

For those who have played both CK and EU, can someone tell me what features (other than the earlier Medieval timeline) makes CK stand out that EU (1, 2, or 3) do not offer?
While I haven't played EU, from what I've read of it, it's different kind of game. In CK, you are managing the "people" of your empire. It's more about the emergent stories that result from your family, subjects, and foreigners interacting. EU is more if a traditional civilization simulator.

I hear EU IV is supposed to incorporate some of CK2's personal elements, which might be interesting -- your ruler will have stats that will impact things. But you aren't playing as him as you do in CK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
VP ports are problematic at best.
CK2 had huge issues at launch, Kings Bounty still has issues (look at steam or gog.com forums and see what mac users are saying).
The Witcher 2 port is also problematic on many systems.
I don't think King's Bounty or CK2 are VP ports.

Last edited by Cougarcat; Jan 16, 2013 at 12:41 PM.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:37 PM   #12
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by cluthz View Post
VP ports are problematic at best.
CK2 had huge issues at launch, Kings Bounty still has issues (look at steam or gog.com forums and see what mac users are saying).
The Witcher 2 port is also problematic on many systems.

They don't answer help requests at all in my experience.
They probably have no good answers.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:42 PM   #13
davidywise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York
Send a message via Yahoo to davidywise Send a message via Skype™ to davidywise
Hello guys I have something to ask anybody here who can give me a link of crusader kind... I want play on these game...
__________________
PC Cleaner Pro™ 2013 is a premium registry cleaner that helps to improve the speed & performance of your computer. PC Cleaner
davidywise is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Crusader Kings II on Mac Mini dammerl Mac and PC Games 1 Oct 22, 2013 10:13 AM
Crusader Kings II on 2012 Macbook Air? oxfordguy MacBook Air 9 Feb 4, 2013 08:49 PM
OS X: crusader kings 2 help neil15 Mac and PC Games 1 Dec 17, 2012 04:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC