Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 1, 2013, 01:04 AM   #1
Weerez935
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
2010 should I put 8 gigs or 16

Well I got to playing with the MacBook on a day off and saw owcs 8 and 16 gig ram upgrades.

This computer is mainly for web browsing but I am teaching my wife photoshop. Should I do the 8 gig for 50 or 16 for 99?
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 01:07 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
8 GB RAM is the maximum for that model, only the 2011 and 2012 MBPs support 16 GB RAM.
Upgrading RAM in MacBooks and MacBook Pros
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 01:49 AM   #3
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I don't think 16 gb is going to make your notebook faster than 8 gb, you'll be limited more by processor, hard disk, and GPU. Go with 8 GB and a SSD will make your computer much much faster.
vistadude is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 02:05 AM   #4
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ok thank you. I have other computers (2 mac airs, and a hp)

How hard is it to change the hard drive to an ssd?
I've never done this but I know my mac air with ssd is incredibly fast.

Would osx need to be reinstalled?
Would you buy the ssd from owc or somewhere else?
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:28 AM   #5
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
Ok thank you. I have other computers (2 mac airs, and a hp)

How hard is it to change the hard drive to an ssd?
I've never done this but I know my mac air with ssd is incredibly fast.

Would osx need to be reinstalled?
Would you buy the ssd from owc or somewhere else?
MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD/SSD

the guide includes:
  • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
  • 1. Getting a new HDD
  • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one
  • 3. Transferring data from the old HDD to the new HDD
  • 4. Using the optical disk drive (ODD) slot for placing an SSD or HDD inside the MB/P (OPTIBAY)
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 11:05 AM   #6
Brian Y
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
SSD is easy - and you can clone your install using Disk Utility.

RAM - the most you can physically use is 8GB. Your computer wont boot with 16GB.
Brian Y is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 12:06 AM   #7
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Y View Post
SSD is easy - and you can clone your install using Disk Utility.

RAM - the most you can physically use is 8GB. Your computer wont boot with 16GB.
Late 2010 Macbooks can accept 16 GB of ram, it has been proven and confirmed by OWC, in fact they sell a 16gb kit for it. That being said, it depends on what you are doing with the machine to know if 16 gb will make a difference or not; however considering the processor I would agree 8 gb and an SSD would be a nice bump in performance and a good balance of power/cost/expectations.
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:03 AM   #8
Weerez935
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
It's my wife's.
I've been teaching her a bit of photo editing.
She has a few photos as well but she mostly does web browsing.

I mean its only 50$ and I kind of an tempted to do it just to do it. However if there is no benefit then whats the point.

Also when I say photo editing I mean pretty light photoshop stuff. The gpu will probably limit her before the ram does. I mainly want the computer to run fast, and be capable of more intensive programs if we need. I do not think she will ever run cs6, after effects, light room, logic, iDVD, iTunes, safari while editing in iMovie and typing a paper.

She does open several tabs in safari often with one thing or so in the background but I want to rid her of the dreaded beach balls.
Weerez935 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:16 AM   #9
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
I have the Mid 2010 Macbook (sig) and I run 16Gs of ram in my system. I'm not a picture editor or anything, not sure how much ram it requires but, I'd highly recommend it and a SSD if you can.

My thread of adding 16Gs ram to my Macbook.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1508452

Good luck either way!
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:22 PM   #10
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
All the Macbooks have shared VRAM and RAM so there is no GPU. Just a FYI. I wouldn't personally put 16GB into that machine. Seems a little overkill when 8GB is only $43.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:03 PM   #11
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by brop52 View Post
All the Macbooks have shared VRAM and RAM so there is no GPU. Just a FYI. I wouldn't personally put 16GB into that machine. Seems a little overkill when 8GB is only $43.
No GPU? I'm pretty sure my Mac book as a 320m GPU with256 mob of sdram.....
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:59 PM   #12
brop52
macrumors 68000
 
brop52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc11 View Post
No GPU? I'm pretty sure my Mac book as a 320m GPU with256 mob of sdram.....
It's integrated graphics shared with the system RAM.
__________________
2.0 GHz Alum Late 2008 MB, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD/SSD Momentus XT Hybrid; Wife's: 2.5GHz mid-2012 MBP, 16GB RAM, 500GB 5400 RPM HDD; 32GB Black iPhone 4S
brop52 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:03 AM   #13
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by brop52 View Post
It's integrated graphics shared with the system RAM.
Yes, but you said there was no dedicated GPU and there is in fact a dedicated GPU with dedicated...be it small....ram.
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:16 AM   #14
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weerez935 View Post
It's my wife's.
I've been teaching her a bit of photo editing.
She has a few photos as well but she mostly does web browsing.

I mean its only 50$ and I kind of an tempted to do it just to do it. However if there is no benefit then whats the point.

Also when I say photo editing I mean pretty light photoshop stuff. The gpu will probably limit her before the ram does. I mainly want the computer to run fast, and be capable of more intensive programs if we need. I do not think she will ever run cs6, after effects, light room, logic, iDVD, iTunes, safari while editing in iMovie and typing a paper.

She does open several tabs in safari often with one thing or so in the background but I want to rid her of the dreaded beach balls.
That isn't really true. The OpenGL implementation there doesn't help that much. If she's using at least CS5, it will make better use of ram. The 2010 may not support 16GB. I've read about a few people testing it, but intel never certified the chipset for 16. I'd say probably 8. If it still lags on her add an ssd to speed up scratch disk functions. The more ram you have, the less dependent you are on scratch disk functions. If you're on CS4 or lower, go for the ssd first.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding SSD to 2010 iMac, which drive + where to put boot camp k.kincaid iMac 1 Oct 25, 2013 05:52 PM
Can you put 16GB RAM in a 2010 15" MacBook Pro? Siderz MacBook Pro 5 Jun 9, 2013 05:13 PM
Can I Put A 2009 iMac Logic Board Into 2010 Body? ocelittle iMac 2 Mar 8, 2013 03:31 PM
Can I put motherboard from 2010 pro into a 2012 chassis? First timer needs help!! ScKcBc MacBook Pro 5 Dec 17, 2012 07:32 AM
Is it necessary to upgrade to 16 gigs of Ram, or will 8 gigs do? Andrew Ryan MacBook Pro 15 Sep 27, 2012 02:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC