Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:44 AM   #1
emt8q5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
How to put cloned Bootcamp image onto new Mac

Got a bit of a conundrum here. I recently bought a new rMBP. before making the switch I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone an image of both my OSX and bootcamp partitions on my old MBP.

Thus far I've been unable to figure out how to get the Boocamp image onto my new machine, is this possible? I'd really like to avoid reinstalling win7 on my retina because it means I'll have to go buy a disc drive (windows won't install off usb stick as I understand it).

thanks in advance for any and all advice!
emt8q5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:12 AM   #2
TCaracci
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Naperville
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by emt8q5 View Post
Got a bit of a conundrum here. I recently bought a new rMBP. before making the switch I used Carbon Copy Cloner to clone an image of both my OSX and bootcamp partitions on my old MBP.

Thus far I've been unable to figure out how to get the Boocamp image onto my new machine, is this possible? I'd really like to avoid reinstalling win7 on my retina because it means I'll have to go buy a disc drive (windows won't install off usb stick as I understand it).

thanks in advance for any and all advice!
Take a look at winclone (http://twocanoes.com/winclone/).
TCaracci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 05:32 PM   #3
tmagman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary AB
Quote:
Originally Posted by emt8q5 View Post
I'll have to go buy a disc drive (windows won't install off usb stick as I understand it).
I just installed Windows 7 off a USB stick not 12 hours ago on my rMBP. Get an ISO image of the Windows 7 installer (find a download online) and go through the boot camp assistant to make a USB with it on it.
__________________
rMBP 15" 2.7 i7, 16GB, 512GB
Asus G73SW-A1 2.0Q i7, GT460M 1.5GB, 12GB
iPad2 64-3G, 4S 64GB
7D, 15-85, 70-200 2.8 IS II, 70-300 DO, 50 1.4, Lensbabies, Canon S100
tmagman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have to put the Bootcamp Software on a USB? ozreth MacBook Pro 4 Mar 13, 2014 03:33 PM
Where to find image captured and put as Profile Picture in Messages? pbkulkarni Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 28, 2013 11:23 AM
exchange windows (7/xp) put on bootcamp view2darrel Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Mar 7, 2013 07:49 PM
How to put this image as carrier? ddublu Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jun 10, 2012 10:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC