Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 5, 2012, 02:29 PM   #1
jamiem1987
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
VLC listed twice in "Open With"

Hi guys.. something and nothing here:

since updating to ML I've noticed VLC is listed twice when I select open with, I've deleted the app and it still remains! Can someone else check their system to see if theirs is the same?

Many thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-08-05 at 19.27.42.png
Views:	206
Size:	832.5 KB
ID:	351541  
jamiem1987 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 02:30 PM   #2
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
This may or may not still work.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...80&postcount=2
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2012, 03:18 PM   #3
Icy1007
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Sounds like you have two different versions of VLC installed.

EDIT: I'm actually having a similar issue, but mine is with Evernote. Shows twice under "Open With" menu.

miles01110's tip fixed it. Thanks
__________________
15" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.2 GHz i7 Quad, 8GB DDR3, 1GB Radeon HD 6750M, 1TB HDD; 32GB iPhone 5

Last edited by Icy1007; Aug 5, 2012 at 03:24 PM.
Icy1007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:57 PM   #4
lupin.terzo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
Had the same problem with VLC, the posted solution corrected the problem in my case.

Thank you very much.

Cheers
lupin.terzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:42 PM   #5
fiddlestyx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by miles01110 View Post
I had the same issue and it'd been bugging the crap out of me!

This fixed it, thanks!
__________________
| 2011 Mac Mini i7 | 32GB iPad (4th Gen) | 16GB iPhone 4S |
fiddlestyx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:45 PM   #6
charlieegan3
macrumors 68020
 
charlieegan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: U.K
I had it worse.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-16 at 19.43.54.png
Views:	31
Size:	191.0 KB
ID:	390644  
__________________
www.charlieegan3.com
charlieegan3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:51 PM   #7
charlieegan3
macrumors 68020
 
charlieegan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: U.K
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddlestyx View Post
I had the same issue and it'd been bugging the crap out of me!

This fixed it, thanks!
Fixed it for me too, thanks.
__________________
www.charlieegan3.com
charlieegan3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 02:56 PM   #8
Lump
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thanks!!!
Lump is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:02 PM   #9
sidewinder
macrumors 68020
 
sidewinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northern California
Here is the best command to use:

Code:
/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister -kill -r -all s,l,u; killall Finder

S-
__________________
Mac Pro: 8-core 2.8 GHz, 10GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4; iPhone 5 32GB iOS 6.1.2
sidewinder is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:39 PM   #10
fiddlestyx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlieegan3 View Post
I had it worse.
Hell, I would of been going crazy with that!
__________________
| 2011 Mac Mini i7 | 32GB iPad (4th Gen) | 16GB iPhone 4S |
fiddlestyx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:53 AM   #11
cdembek
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Manage corruption in the launch services
One of the primary reasons why the launch services will not include a program is if there is a corruption in them that prevents them from being updated or read by the user's account. In these situations, clearing and rebuilding the launch services database should restore proper functionality. To do this, open the Terminal utility and run the following command (copy and paste it, and provide your account password when prompted):
`sudo find /System/Library/Frameworks -name lsregister` -kill -seed
This command should locate the lsregister program and run it with the "-kill" and "-seed" flags that will delete it and repopulate it using the application packages in the default Applications folders.

Last edited by cdembek; Feb 4, 2013 at 09:18 PM.
cdembek is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2013, 03:43 PM   #12
dubAdub
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bray, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewinder View Post
Here is the best command to use:

Code:
/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister -kill -r -all s,l,u; killall Finder

S-
That worked for me.

I had VLC listed several times.

The first command didn't work.
dubAdub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 10:31 AM   #13
Imac Sam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
The above worked for me as well.
__________________
Imac(2011) 27 with 256Gb SSD, 1Tb Hd, and 24Gb RAM
Gold Iphone6 128Gb, White Ipad Air 128Gb, White Ipad Mini 32Gb, Black Ipad-2 32Gb; ATV-2; ATV-3
www.mountcrawfordweather.org
Imac Sam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 11:10 AM   #14
sarah11918
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
The instruction from post #9 worked like a charm, thanks! I'd had multiple copies of multiple programs in my "open with" list. Much better now.
__________________
11" MBA (2012 ultimate) + Samsung Galaxy Note = ready for life on the road
sarah11918 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 01:35 PM   #15
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Do you have to redo any custom "always open with" items with these method?
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 01:52 PM   #16
Weaselboy
Moderator
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
Do you have to redo any custom "always open with" items with these method?
No, it does not change that setting.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2013, 06:29 PM   #17
w0lf
macrumors 65816
 
w0lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
You can add this http://www.mediafire.com/download/xk...licate_fix.zip app to your launch items if you don't want to memorize the terminal command.
w0lf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2013, 03:52 PM   #18
Simplicated
macrumors 65816
 
Simplicated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Waterloo, ON
This problem was worsened in Mountain Lion, I wonder why Apple hasn't fixed it yet.
Simplicated is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "vlc remote" that controls "vlc for iOS" exist? Thanks kocoman iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jul 22, 2013 01:55 PM
"Open With" has same program listed many times! Mork OS X 2 Feb 13, 2013 05:52 AM
FDA Listed BP application "bp Salsa" on Sale! $2.99 now for a limited time! Amyshelly iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Aug 3, 2012 02:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC