Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:14 PM   #1
minisuds7
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The U.P. of Michigan
Quick Video Card Question for MDD!

Will this 9800 Pro work in my AGP 4x 2003 MDD PowerMac w/1.25 GHz single cpu? Or is there a different version to look for? The price just looks really nice on this one!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-G5-Pow...item19d81982d4
__________________
I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. Hed be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger. -Steve
minisuds7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:47 PM   #2
Jiggly Billy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I may be wrong here, but I don't believe that AGP Pro cards (any card that came with the G5's from the factory) don't work in non-Pro slots
Jiggly Billy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:23 AM   #3
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quick answer: No.

It won't even fit in regular AGP slot, not talking about ADC power connector location mismatch.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:36 AM   #4
DZ/015
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New England
It may work, if modified.

Click me for info.
__________________
Pay attention boy! I'm cuttin' but your not bleedin"
DZ/015 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 09:47 AM   #5
Jiggly Billy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZ/015 View Post
It may work, if modified.

Click me for info.
That's for regular AGP cards, AGP Pro is completely different, and AGP Pro physically won't fit in non Pro slots
Jiggly Billy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:13 AM   #6
minisuds7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The U.P. of Michigan
Alright thanks for the info. So what would be a great card for this machine that would have an ADC connection? I just want something that'll be much better than the 9000 Pro that's in there
__________________
I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. Hed be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger. -Steve
minisuds7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 12:11 PM   #7
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by minisuds7 View Post
Alright thanks for the info. So what would be a great card for this machine that would have an ADC connection? I just want something that'll be much better than the 9000 Pro that's in there
If you need an ADC there are 2 cards that will work without modifications:
Geforce Ti4600 and best of the best, and also uber-rarity 9700 Pro.

There is a way to use 9600 with ADC and FX 5200 from G5. It requires soldering 28V cable from PSU directly to ADC power pins on G5 card. I had link to such mod somewhere, but I can't find it ATM. In case of 5200, which is AGP Pro too, it also requires dremeling (or cutting off) part of AGP connector which provides additional power to the card. Due its low power demands it works.
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/Graphics/...00_G4mods.html
You can't do that with 9800 you've linked, because regular AGP slot does not provide enough power to feed 9800.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:35 PM   #8
minisuds7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The U.P. of Michigan
Yeah I saw the 9700 Pro on the Wikipedia article for PowerMac G4s and tried searching for one on eBay, but you seem to be right when you say they're ber rare Is there any better place to look for one, should I just try for something else or wait a little bit? If I had to I'd get a card without ADC and get an adapter off of a friend of mine.
__________________
I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. Hed be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger. -Steve
minisuds7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 03:30 PM   #9
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
There is a way to use 9600 with ADC and FX 5200 from G5. It requires soldering 28V cable from PSU directly to ADC power pins on G5 card. I had link to such mod somewhere, but I can't find it ATM. In case of 5200, which is AGP Pro too, it also requires dremeling (or cutting off) part of AGP connector which provides additional power to the card. Due its low power demands it works.
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/Graphics/...00_G4mods.html
One thing about using ADC G5 cards in an ADC G4, the ADC part no longer works. Not only are the ADC power pins removed when modifying the card, Apple changed some of the ADC pins around to make them not compatible.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:32 PM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
One thing about using ADC G5 cards in an ADC G4, the ADC part no longer works. Not only are the ADC power pins removed when modifying the card, Apple changed some of the ADC pins around to make them not compatible.
Are you 100% sure? I'll try to dig out this link where someone soldered 28V to this ADC tab and it worked (as far my memory serves me well OFC). Never tried that myself, though. I got rid my ADC displays years ago.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 08:50 PM   #11
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
I'm about 95% sure. I remember looking at the pin outs for the ADC AGP cards and noticing that there are differences between the G4 and G5 cards.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 11:58 PM   #12
minisuds7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The U.P. of Michigan
Not to get sidetracked, but one more quick question: can I temporarily use the stock aluminum heatsink with a 1.42 GHz dual CPU module? Until I find a copper one that is. Or is that just not advisable and should just wait for a copper one to show up on eBay or somewhere else?
__________________
I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. Hed be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger. -Steve
minisuds7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:35 AM   #13
ybz90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by minisuds7 View Post
Not to get sidetracked, but one more quick question: can I temporarily use the stock aluminum heatsink with a 1.42 GHz dual CPU module? Until I find a copper one that is. Or is that just not advisable and should just wait for a copper one to show up on eBay or somewhere else?
If it mounts properly, it will dissipate heat. Whether or not it is thermally capable of acceptably low stable temps is another issue, but you can always rig fans on there.
ybz90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:57 AM   #14
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Here's a page showing how to make the ADC on a 9600 card from a G5 work in a G4.
Click here
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 03:42 AM   #15
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Here's a page showing how to make the ADC on a 9600 card from a G5 work in a G4.
Click here
This is another way which I've forgotten about. And read comments: ADC works. Great link Dave H!
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:54 AM   #16
minisuds7
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The U.P. of Michigan
How much better would a GeForce4 Ti be over my stock 9000? I see a bunch of those on eBay. I did find a 9700, but it's $150. Is it worth it? (this is my hobby computer/media server, so I don't mind throwing a little money at it )
__________________
I just think he and Microsoft are a bit narrow. Hed be a broader guy if he had dropped acid once or gone off to an ashram when he was younger. -Steve
minisuds7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:02 PM   #17
Dave H
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
There are some benchmarks here. A Radeon 8500 is roughly equivalent to a 9000.
A 9700 would give you hardware acceleration of CoreImage.
The Geforce 4 and Radeon 9000 have video acceleration in OS 9.
CoreImage acceleration and OS 9 acceleration are mutually exclusive.
__________________
Borrowed Mac Mini 2011.
R.I.P. G4 DA, 1.33GHz 7455B, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800XT, Pioneer DVR-A15J, upgraded case + PSU fans.

Last edited by Dave H; Jan 18, 2013 at 01:10 PM.
Dave H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 02:13 PM   #18
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by minisuds7 View Post
I did find a 9700, but it's $150. Is it worth it? (this is my hobby computer/media server, so I don't mind throwing a little money at it )
For this price I'd buy it only if I'd have 23 Cinema HD and Cube with modded VRM For any other setup I'd just buy FireGL X3, flash it and use DVI to ADC converter.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card question rdsii64 Mac Pro 4 Jul 10, 2013 03:37 PM
Need quick help GTX Video card canadaman001 Mac Pro 6 Mar 23, 2013 12:51 AM
Quick question regarding video card upgrade? kalex Mac Pro 1 Mar 3, 2013 05:06 PM
Quick question on video cards 1,1 teameurox Mac Pro 3 Dec 24, 2012 03:35 PM
Quick Debit Card Question TSE Community Discussion 25 Jun 6, 2012 06:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC