Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:25 AM   #1
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
How well does Diablo III Mac OS X version run?

Hey Blizzard fanboys, how well does the MacOSX version of Diablo III run on the Mac? About on par with the Windows version?

Do the Mac gamers (on the D3 support forums) complain of more bugs/glitches/oversights compared to their PC counterparts? Obviously I ask this because I am not currently registered on the Diablo III forums, as I do not yet have the game. Nor do I have any active BattleNet account.

Last time I played on a BNet account was... was..... was when George Dubya Bush was still President.

And please. I'm not really asking for input whether you like this feature, or you hate that feature of Diablo III. I've already heard tons and TONS of friends say how the game implementation is sucky (e.g. like they now force you to always be logged on the internet to even play solo). Yes and yes. I'm already aware of the controversial features of the game. All I really wanna know is, is the Mac version of the game somewhat on par with the Windows version? I'm gonna buy the DVD, so I can install it either on my Mac or my PC. Just wondering if the Mac version runs fine. I have a late 2012 iMac, maxed out in hardware options.

Thanks for input.
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:35 AM   #2
JordanNZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Hey Blizzard fanboys, how well does the MacOSX version of Diablo III run on the Mac? About on par with the Windows version?

Do the Mac gamers (on the D3 support forums) complain of more bugs/glitches/oversights compared to their PC counterparts? Obviously I ask this because I am not currently registered on the Diablo III forums, as I do not yet have the game. Nor do I have any active BattleNet account.

Last time I played on a BNet account was... was..... was when George Dubya Bush was still President.

And please. I'm not really asking for input whether you like this feature, or you hate that feature of Diablo III. I've already heard tons and TONS of friends say how the game implementation is sucky (e.g. like they now force you to always be logged on the internet to even play solo). Yes and yes. I'm already aware of the controversial features of the game. All I really wanna know is, is the Mac version of the game somewhat on par with the Windows version? I'm gonna buy the DVD, so I can install it either on my Mac or my PC. Just wondering if the Mac version runs fine. I have a late 2012 iMac, maxed out in hardware options.

Thanks for input.
If you have a 2012 iMac. It will run the OSX version just fine.
You'll be happy there.
JordanNZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:53 AM   #3
Dr. McKay
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Belgium, Europe
I'm running the Starter Edition on an early 2008 iMac (2.8Ghz Core2duo, Radeon HD2600Pro 256Mb, 4Gb RAM) with everything on the lowest setting at native resolution of 1920x1200 and I must say it runs surprisingly well and still looks good...
__________________
I had been eating Apples for 15 years and I was getting a little tired of them... So all I'm eating now is fish...
Dr. McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:03 PM   #4
hovscorpion12
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Mac® OS X 10.6.8, 10.7.x or newer*
Intel® Core 2 Duo
NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT or ATI Radeon™ HD 2600 or better
2 GB RAM
12 GB available HD space
DVD-ROM (required for retail disc versions only)
Broadband** Internet connection
1024x768 minimum resolution

Or
Mac® OS X 10.7.x or newer
Intel® Core 2 Duo
2 GB RAM
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 330M or ATI Radeon™ HD 4670 or better

Note: FileVault and FileVault 2 are not supported for installation.
hovscorpion12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:52 PM   #5
fleabite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
No issues here

I played it all the way though with my 2010 21" iMac, 3.6 i5, which has only 2 cores. 512 MB Radeon HD 5670. Ran it on high settings, native resolution without a glitch. You should be fine, even with the base 2012.
fleabite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:55 PM   #6
lightz39
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
It runs very well. In my experience anyways.
__________________
15" Retina Macbook Pro 2.7/16/768
lightz39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 06:07 AM   #7
Schranke
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Denmark
on my old 2010 15" it were running ok, havent tried on my new rMBP yet since time for gameing have not been that good.
__________________
Photography sure is fun http://schrankenmuller.smugmug.com
Schranke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 05:47 PM   #8
Ovistavin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laramie, Wyoming
It runs fine on my 2008 Mac Pro running 10.6.8. I have it installed on my 2010 MacBook Air and I know it runs, but I haven't spent a lot of time with to see if there are any issues.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro, 2.8 Ghz, 6 GB RAM, Radeon 4870; iPod Touch; 2010 13" MacBook Air 4 GB RAM
Ovistavin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 11:37 PM   #9
Yamcha
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thanks to the updates Blizzard released almost all performance issues are gone on the Mac side, in fact I tried the game on both Windows 8 and Mac OSX just to make sure which gave me a smoother experience, I noticed no difference at all..

On my iMac I run it at highest settings @ 1080P without AA. But be prepared to experience some lag If you have a slow internet connection or If your downloading while playing the game, but nothing can really be done about that..
__________________
iMac 27" | Intel Core i5 3.2GHz | 8GB Memory | 1TB Hard Drive | GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB | OSX Mavericks 10.9.1 | Windows 8.1 64-Bit
Yamcha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:08 AM   #10
pukingpixels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sweden
I ran D3 on my old (now dead) 2008 24" iMac, C2D 3.06 Ghz, 4GB ram, Geforce 8800 GS 512 MB at 1920x1200 with 30 fps capped (it did run at 60 fps in a lot of places but the fps dropped to about 28-30 fps in big fights). Most settings on low except textures which I left at medium.

Managed to beat Diablo on Inferno with it. So yeah, it did run quite well.

I haven't bothered trying it on my maxed out 2012 27" iMac but I'm pretty sure it will run at +60 fps constantly with everything on the highest settings.

Last edited by pukingpixels; Jan 18, 2013 at 04:18 AM.
pukingpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 05:12 AM   #11
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Runs absolutely fine here, machine details in signature.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:38 AM   #12
shawndg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have a late 2012 27" imac with the 2GB graphics card and I run Diablo 3 with all settings turned to the highest and don't have any issues at all.
shawndg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:08 AM   #13
AcesHigh87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Glad it's running fine for all you guys; it used to be for me when there were "issues" but now that they have apparently been fixed I can't get the game to run at all. I click play in the Launcher, the splash screen comes up and then the game stops responding.

So yeah, not trying to hijack the thread just offering a warning that it's not all daisies and happiness.
__________________
21.5" iMac (Mid 2011), 2.8GHz i7, 20GB of RAM, 1TB HDD | 13" macbook (Early 2008), 2.4 GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 60GB G-Skill SSD | 16GB iPhone 5S | Apple TV | 16GB iPod nano (7th Gen)
AcesHigh87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:17 AM   #14
TheGreatWumpus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Vermont
 
Send a message via AIM to TheGreatWumpus Send a message via Yahoo to TheGreatWumpus Send a message via Skype™ to TheGreatWumpus
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcesHigh87 View Post
just offering a warning that it's not all daisies and happiness.
Clearly you missed the unicorn level...
__________________
Mac Mumble Server! Join the fun! Address: macgamecast.mumbleserverhost.com Port: 32438
27" iMac, Core i5 Quad 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD5750 1GB, 1TB Hard Drive
TheGreatWumpus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:21 PM   #15
NikkiNikk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I have the late 2012 27" iMac (i5 3,2 GHZ, 8 GB Ram, GTX680MX) and maxed out everthing in the Settings - and it works wonderful.

BUT - i have to turn vsync on to avoid tearing, anyone else have to do this?
NikkiNikk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:30 PM   #16
AndiS.
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikkiNikk View Post
I have the late 2012 27" iMac (i5 3,2 GHZ, 8 GB Ram, GTX680MX) and maxed out everthing in the Settings - and it works wonderful.

BUT - i have to turn vsync on to avoid tearing, anyone else have to do this?
Yes, I also have V-Sync on to avoid tearing, it's normal ; )

@OP: it runs well, but Windows in general yields higher FPS. In the case of Diablo III it doesn't really matter though.
AndiS. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:42 PM   #17
ncaissie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Hey Blizzard fanboys, how well does the MacOSX version of Diablo III run on the Mac? About on par with the Windows version?

Do the Mac gamers (on the D3 support forums) complain of more bugs/glitches/oversights compared to their PC counterparts? Obviously I ask this because I am not currently registered on the Diablo III forums, as I do not yet have the game. Nor do I have any active BattleNet account.

Last time I played on a BNet account was... was..... was when George Dubya Bush was still President.

And please. I'm not really asking for input whether you like this feature, or you hate that feature of Diablo III. I've already heard tons and TONS of friends say how the game implementation is sucky (e.g. like they now force you to always be logged on the internet to even play solo). Yes and yes. I'm already aware of the controversial features of the game. All I really wanna know is, is the Mac version of the game somewhat on par with the Windows version? I'm gonna buy the DVD, so I can install it either on my Mac or my PC. Just wondering if the Mac version runs fine. I have a late 2012 iMac, maxed out in hardware options.

Thanks for input.
Runs great on my 2011 MBP. Not sure how it compares and most players wouldn’t due to the fact you only need one setup. I love the game.
__________________
2011 MacBook Pro iPod touch 2G iFone 5! iPad 2 ATV 2G
ncaissie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 01:46 PM   #18
AcesHigh87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreatWumpus View Post
Clearly you missed the unicorn level...
Surprisingly no, I did not haha, I actually thought of that when writing my comment. Not as good as the cows though.
__________________
21.5" iMac (Mid 2011), 2.8GHz i7, 20GB of RAM, 1TB HDD | 13" macbook (Early 2008), 2.4 GHz C2D, 2GB RAM, 60GB G-Skill SSD | 16GB iPhone 5S | Apple TV | 16GB iPod nano (7th Gen)
AcesHigh87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:33 AM   #19
Miharu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
No way does it run as well as the Windows version. I have the 2010 iMac 27" and I get a steady 15 fps using the native resolution and v-sync. No anti-aliasing, other settings at medium or high. Granted the graphics card is bad but it definitely runs better on Windows.
Miharu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 04:11 PM   #20
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miharu View Post
No way does it run as well as the Windows version. I have the 2010 iMac 27" and I get a steady 15 fps using the native resolution and v-sync. No anti-aliasing, other settings at medium or high. Granted the graphics card is bad but it definitely runs better on Windows.
They run both the exact same for me.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Is there a way to run Diablo 1 on Intel Mac? Dookieman Mac and PC Games 12 Sep 20, 2013 12:41 AM
OS X: Diablo III and 10.6 ? Washac Mac and PC Games 3 Apr 24, 2013 11:53 AM
diablo III on rMBP? marcolino MacBook Pro 20 Jul 9, 2012 03:52 PM
Diablo III on 2010 Mac mini, what graphical settings are giving you better FPS? (OSX) alexreich Mac and PC Games 3 Jun 2, 2012 11:16 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC