Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2013, 10:25 PM   #1
Redjericho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Spoofing version as iOS 6 in order to download an app... Yeah, don't do that.

So I spoofed my app store in order to be able to download Baldur's Gate (which requires ios 6 in order to install) on my iOS 5.1.1 device (some apps just require ios 6 for trivial reasons and work just fine, I just wanted to try)

I was able to download the app, even though it only ended up crashing. (Though I have done it previously on earlier firmwares with success) At least I tried, right? Nope, the app store and itunes store can no longer connect, and I highly doubt there is a fix anywhere out there.

Don't do it unless you only plan on downloading 1 app from now until a jailbreak is out.

Last edited by Redjericho; Jan 21, 2013 at 04:12 PM.
Redjericho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 01:05 AM   #2
Grolubao
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yeah that's crap! I only found that problem once, so I'm still keeping my 5.1.1. If there isn't a Jailbreak in the horizon quite soon then I need to jump ship
Grolubao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:37 AM   #3
Krafty
macrumors 601
 
Krafty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: La La Land
I was thinking about doing it so I could download Google Maps (spoofing 5.0.1 to show 5.1.1).
__________________
Krafty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:44 AM   #4
Siggen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
I was thinking about doing it so I could download Google Maps (spoofing 5.0.1 to show 5.1.1).
It might work, It might not.
Depends on why it is labeled as 5.1.1
It might work fully, it might work partially.
It might crash on launch, it might crash on a specific feature, it might never crash.
Most likely will it crash on launch, do not install content from cydia while you are spoofed.
__________________
13" MBP 2.8Ghz i7 128GB SSD + 750GB HDD 16GB RAM OSX ML
iPhone 5 64GB Black iOS6.1 Jailbreak
iPad 2 64GB Black iOS6.1 Jailbreak
ATV3 & Samsung 55" // iOS Dev Account
Siggen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 09:20 AM   #5
labman
macrumors 604
 
labman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mich near Detroit
usually there is something in that version of IOS in order for the software to run. In most cases the dev is not trying to be a jerk by making it work on fewer ios versions. though it does take some extra effort to make it work in multiple IOS versions. Most spoofing hacks simply spoof the IOS in to stopping the alerts to update your IOS.
__________________
IP4+Hackintosh Pro Joining AT&T PM me get $25 Dev-Teams Blog My TwitterCan I JB/UL my device Click here
labman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:07 PM   #6
Redjericho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
I was thinking about doing it so I could download Google Maps (spoofing 5.0.1 to show 5.1.1).
Honestly, this might work.

I think the reason mine broke was because I was spoofing iOS 6, which completely overhauled the app store. I have done it before with success (getting an app to work on an earlier firmware than required, in fact, I think it was 5.0.1 to 5.1.1), I just do not recommend going above into the 6 range, cause it messes something up. Not just a matter of the app not working, it beaks your entire app/music stores forever.

Edit: If you do end up trying, be sure to change it back to 5.0.1 ASAP after downloading the app, because screwing around in cydia when it believes you are on a different iOS version is just asking for a restore.

Last edited by Redjericho; Jan 21, 2013 at 04:16 PM.
Redjericho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:10 PM   #7
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krafty View Post
I was thinking about doing it so I could download Google Maps (spoofing 5.0.1 to show 5.1.1).
This will probably not work. Usually only spoofing minor 5.0.0->5.0.1 iOS versions work as the APIs are mostly the same. But major iOS versions 5.0->5.1 doesn't as quite a bit changes.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 04:51 PM   #8
1984world
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Its funny this thread just came out. I tried to do this to my 4s last night and my phone went into endless loops. Spent all day reinstalling apps after re-restoring it to 5.1.1 and still have to do the rejailbreak.......
1984world is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:00 PM   #9
Krafty
macrumors 601
 
Krafty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: La La Land
I'm not going to. I really don't feel like messing up my phone.
__________________
Krafty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:10 PM   #10
Redjericho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1984world View Post
Its funny this thread just came out. I tried to do this to my 4s last night and my phone went into endless loops. Spent all day reinstalling apps after re-restoring it to 5.1.1 and still have to do the rejailbreak.......
I'm gonna be doing this later tonight, ugh. I can't survive without an app store for a month or more, and I have a solid 40+ tweaks to install and respring 1 at a time. Can't wait!
Redjericho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:32 PM   #11
Redjericho
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Woah, app store randomly fixed itself... Maybe it was the 6.1 update?

Well, it sort of fixed itself.

Only the top apps list, searching by app name, and updates section "work", but none of them have any gaphics other than buttons that say "install" and such, and they are all in the design of the iOS 6 app store, even though i'm on 5.

Edit: After downloading 1 app it reverted me back to the iOS 5 app store and now everything is fine and dandy.

Good on you Apple, you fixed my device.
Redjericho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:02 PM   #12
glsillygili
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York
i did that, had to restore
glsillygili is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:09 PM   #13
dma550
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: CT
wow, thanks for this, +cred to you for reporting it. I was a day away from doing this very same thing for the very same app on my JB ipad!
dma550 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I updated an app and don't like the update, how do I get the previous version? TH55 iPhone 7 Apr 14, 2013 11:07 AM
How to know which iOS version to download my app? mikezang iPhone/iPad Programming 7 Nov 26, 2012 08:46 AM
When you restore start as new does it download a new version of iOS? snook911 iPhone 3 Oct 15, 2012 02:42 PM
Podcasts App Version 1.1.1 play order MoncoZero iPhone and iPod touch Apps 2 Sep 25, 2012 09:14 AM
Upgrade to new version of iOS, will I have to re-download iTunes Match/iCloud music? xerenthar iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 18, 2012 09:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps