Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:19 PM   #201
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
way to go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
Thanks! I'm SOMEbody now!
just wait -- it's fun once the bonus points start piling on!

how's your machine working? When I was using my Pro for folding I also installed a temp monitor and a fan controller to manually spin my fans higher to bring the CPU temps down.

try SMC fan control and Temperature Monitor

but I don't use my Pro for folding anymore; I use the PC I built around the 2.8 4-core chip left over after the hexacore upgrade (you did that too, didn't you?)

Louis
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:58 PM   #202
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Louis Wu View Post
just wait -- it's fun once the bonus points start piling on!

how's your machine working? When I was using my Pro for folding I also installed a temp monitor and a fan controller to manually spin my fans higher to bring the CPU temps down.

try SMC fan control and Temperature Monitor

but I don't use my Pro for folding anymore; I use the PC I built around the 2.8 4-core chip left over after the hexacore upgrade (you did that too, didn't you?)

Louis
I did put a new CPU in, but I sold my original CPU to offset the cost.

It's been stable and consistent. Average CPU use is 1180%, steady fans and temps. I have Fan Control in my System Settings, which are set to maximize fans rapidly when working, and minimize fans when idle.

I'm still editing video / motion graphics while it's working, and it seems fine with it, which is coo.

Booster 1 = 3208rpm
Exhaust = 2249rpm
Expansion slot = 1531rpm
Intake = 2239rpm
Power supply = 952rpm

CPU A Tdiode = 130F
CPU A Core, rel. to ProcHot = 94F
CPU A Heatsink = 112F
System ambient = 86F
Wall thermometer in office at eye level = 74F
Outside thermometer = 2F... (I could put it outside and see where fan speeds / temps go!)
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 08:43 PM   #203
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
looks like you've got temps well under control!

I didn't have the fans set that fast and had higher CPU temps as a result. Ultimately I got tired of the jerkiness in my regular work when the Pro was folding, and since I had that chip lying around...

the upgraded machine really is a pleasure to use!

2 F in Denver? wow, it's 54 F here in Toronto! A lot of us can't do folding in the summer because of the heat... as it is, the folding rig is in the basement...

Louis
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 09:11 PM   #204
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
yeah you could put it outside! it hit 70 F today in north Alabama. i'm still folding, but got the windows open to cool things off a bit (it's overcast, so at least the sun isn't making it even hotter). but monday it'll be a high of 39 F, which is why a lot of people are sick around here.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 09:53 PM   #205
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Still trying to figure out all the settings.

For the most part, I leave it alone. I want to be able to shut my RAID box down, and to do that, I need to shut down the computer and reboot with the RAID box powered off. If I don't do it that way, I get an annoying beep. So, I decided to click "Finish" hoping that means when the WU is done, it won't start a new one. Clicking the button gives no visual indication, but I looked in the log and it has "finishing" indicated between the percents complete reports... which I think means it accepted the command.

Is Finish going to do what I think it will do, which is stop folding after the WU, and not restart until I click the Fold button?

I figure I can probably just shut down the computer, switch off my RAID, and restart... but I have like to do things neatly, and stopping/shutting down in the middle of a WU is one of those things that will make my brain tweak a tiny bit.

I hope someone here can relate to that.

Edit:
Hey, got my answer. Second WU finished, and it didn't start a new one. Coo. I can reboot and let her rip again!

More info:
The CPU A, Core Low Side (Vcore) was at 75A the whole time, then after the fold, dropped to 3A. Wow, there's some power being consumed, haha! My UPS has five power load indicators, and I'm surprised that it only goes from 1-2 bars (flickering between the two) to a solid two bars while folding. I figured the load would shoot up to three or four bars with all CPUs maxed, but maybe that's only when the GPU is also flying.
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.

Last edited by wonderspark; Jan 12, 2013 at 10:51 PM.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:24 AM   #206
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
yeah setting to finish should do what you want. though do keep an eye on your activity monitor if you finish a WU, and then continue to work on the computer for awhile without restarting. i've seen it continue to use CPU resources after stopping, but maybe it's just me.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:36 AM   #207
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
yeah setting to finish should do what you want. though do keep an eye on your activity monitor if you finish a WU, and then continue to work on the computer for awhile without restarting. i've seen it continue to use CPU resources after stopping, but maybe it's just me.
I did happen to check, and they went down to nothing. I was surprised to see zero page outs and swap use as well. I think f@h v7 for OSX is almost perfect, and when GPU use is enabled, it will be even better!
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:53 AM   #208
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
I did happen to check, and they went down to nothing. I was surprised to see zero page outs and swap use as well. I think f@h v7 for OSX is almost perfect, and when GPU use is enabled, it will be even better!
well i'm glad it's working correctly for you. it did start using resources again well after i stopped folding, and quit the program. but maybe it was a one time thing
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:52 PM   #209
wonderspark
macrumors 68030
 
wonderspark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oregon
I'm cooking with gas, now! I made the Top 20 Producers list!

I just shut down for an hour or so to give my Mac the full six month cleaning, and came back online to see my 10+ WU bonus kicked in! I'm kinda amped to see where my 24 hour points average is after a week of getting bonuses. My Estimated PPD is usually 30K+, and at one point it read 37,400 when the system was otherwise not doing anything, so I'm pretty happy with that!
__________________
Wait a second... So you're telling me anything that happens in the sky is legal, and there's a giant crime-blimp flying around this place? I don't know how I missed that.
wonderspark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 06:38 PM   #210
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
I'm cooking with gas, now! I made the Top 20 Producers list!
Way to go!!
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 08:24 PM   #211
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonderspark View Post
I'm cooking with gas, now! I made the Top 20 Producers list!

I just shut down for an hour or so to give my Mac the full six month cleaning, and came back online to see my 10+ WU bonus kicked in! I'm kinda amped to see where my 24 hour points average is after a week of getting bonuses. My Estimated PPD is usually 30K+, and at one point it read 37,400 when the system was otherwise not doing anything, so I'm pretty happy with that!
Awesome! Keep it up! This can get addicting !
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:16 PM   #212
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
An added CPU

Intel i7 Quad 920@ 2.67GHz
NVidia GeForce GTX 275
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.
LightningIceFox is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:28 PM   #213
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
Intel i7 Quad 920@ 2.67GHz
NVidia GeForce GTX 275
Those 920s can take a pounding. Crank it up to 4+
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:33 PM   #214
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Those 920s can take a pounding. Crank it up to 4+
Already set to use all cpu power possible.
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.
LightningIceFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 01:14 AM   #215
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
Already set to use all cpu power possible.
he means overclock it. is it a custom built machine, or store bought?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 09:57 AM   #216
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
he means overclock it. is it a custom built machine, or store bought?
Oh ok. It is factory built(store bought). I didn't see any settings in the BIOS to overclock it. Any suggestions?
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.
LightningIceFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:42 AM   #217
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
Oh ok. It is factory built(store bought). I didn't see any settings in the BIOS to overclock it. Any suggestions?
what brand is it? you might not be able to overclock. if it's an alienware or asus, then you might be able to (a gaming machine). but if not, then you will just have to continue to fold at stock speeds.

still, we are glad you decided to fold and join our team!

oh, and do you have a passkey? looking at your stats here it looks like you don't have one. make sure you get a passkey and then you'll start getting bonus points!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 11:51 AM   #218
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
what brand is it? you might not be able to overclock. if it's an alienware or asus, then you might be able to (a gaming machine). but if not, then you will just have to continue to fold at stock speeds.

still, we are glad you decided to fold and join our team!

oh, and do you have a passkey? looking at your stats here it looks like you don't have one. make sure you get a passkey and then you'll start getting bonus points!
HP (see signature)

I do have a passkey entered.

Edit: Looking at HP Support webpages it appears that the motherboard it uses does not support it.. that's what I get for not building my own.
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.

Last edited by LightningIceFox; Jan 19, 2013 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Added Info
LightningIceFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 03:04 PM   #219
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
HP (see signature)

I do have a passkey entered.

Edit: Looking at HP Support webpages it appears that the motherboard it uses does not support it.. that's what I get for not building my own.
ok cool. that's no problem that you can't overclock. are you using the version 7 client in windows?

you should definitely be getting more points if you have a passkey entered. have you completed 10 units with the passkey?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2013, 08:14 PM   #220
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
HP (see signature)

I do have a passkey entered.

Edit: Looking at HP Support webpages it appears that the motherboard it uses does not support it.. that's what I get for not building my own.
Yep. HP/Dell doesn't allow overclocking in their BIOS, especially from all the ones I've had/seen/used. Sounds like you need to get a new Mobo ASUS Rampage Extreme III is what I use to have and was probably the best in the day.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 10:32 AM   #221
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Currently folding on the following:
5 * Intel i7 2600k
1 * Intel i7 3770k
2 * nVidia GTX460
1 * nVidia GTX560Ti

They're not all folding for MacRumors at the moment tho - after the 100 million point push, I've redirected some back to my other teams.

I'd been toying with the idea of a quad AMD for over a year - twoodcc you might have just pushed me over the edge!
My only reservation is the long awaited GPU QRB - if a few GTX660Ti can turn in 300k ppd, I'm not sure of the sense in a new server build, plus the SuperMicro systems I've been looking at are noisy as hell. However, there could well be savings in electricity for the AMD system - time to get the calculator out!
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:45 PM   #222
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
ok cool. that's no problem that you can't overclock. are you using the version 7 client in windows?

you should definitely be getting more points if you have a passkey entered. have you completed 10 units with the passkey?
It seems that some of it might be due to my cpu clock being lowered when I lock my computer. I didn't think about that ever occurring or what windows OS started making it do that (I assume for power savings).

With it locked, the smp job went from 4 hours eta to a 20 day eta...

I am getting PPD around 9k with it at the moment. Does that sound about right or is that low?
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.
LightningIceFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:33 PM   #223
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
It seems that some of it might be due to my cpu clock being lowered when I lock my computer. I didn't think about that ever occurring or what windows OS started making it do that (I assume for power savings).

With it locked, the smp job went from 4 hours eta to a 20 day eta...

I am getting PPD around 9k with it at the moment. Does that sound about right or is that low?
My system is a Win7 machine running a Xeon W3530 4-core CPU at stock speed and breaks down like this:

CPU = approx 7-10 K ppd
EVGA GTX 550 ti 900 MHz = 25 K ppd
EVGA GTX 660 ti 1065 MHz = 36 K ppd
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:08 PM   #224
twoodcc
Thread Starter
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Currently folding on the following:
5 * Intel i7 2600k
1 * Intel i7 3770k
2 * nVidia GTX460
1 * nVidia GTX560Ti

They're not all folding for MacRumors at the moment tho - after the 100 million point push, I've redirected some back to my other teams.

I'd been toying with the idea of a quad AMD for over a year - twoodcc you might have just pushed me over the edge!
My only reservation is the long awaited GPU QRB - if a few GTX660Ti can turn in 300k ppd, I'm not sure of the sense in a new server build, plus the SuperMicro systems I've been looking at are noisy as hell. However, there could well be savings in electricity for the AMD system - time to get the calculator out!
that's quite a few systems there!

i say go for the AMD quad. i got mine used, and it's not that loud either (though it's got a ton of fans). and if i ever stop folding with it, i'll use it as my web server (and i sometimes run a ton of scripts on also)

i know what you mean about the GPU QRB. but like you said, GPUs use a lot of power and put out heat. but they are cheaper.

i think this AMD rig will be my last rig for a good while

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightningIceFox View Post
It seems that some of it might be due to my cpu clock being lowered when I lock my computer. I didn't think about that ever occurring or what windows OS started making it do that (I assume for power savings).

With it locked, the smp job went from 4 hours eta to a 20 day eta...

I am getting PPD around 9k with it at the moment. Does that sound about right or is that low?
9k for just the cpu sounds good. but it sounds low for cpu and gpu.

in windows, i would set it to never go to sleep. you can lock it, or set it to turn the display off, but not put the computer to sleep.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:27 PM   #225
LightningIceFox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mobius
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
9k for just the cpu sounds good. but it sounds low for cpu and gpu.

in windows, i would set it to never go to sleep. you can lock it, or set it to turn the display off, but not put the computer to sleep.
It is not sleeping, by the way, just locked.

Current OS:Windows 8. Power Settings: High Performance.

I think I will be changing the motherboard and downgrading back to Windows 7 sometime soon since I am getting tired of trying to find things.
__________________
Hardware/Software Computer Design is the future.
LightningIceFox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to folding - few questions COrocket Distributed Computing 21 Sep 18, 2013 09:13 PM
Folding bike / bicycle? Consultant Community Discussion 4 Jun 2, 2013 08:47 PM
Xserve for Folding phoenixsan Distributed Computing 7 Mar 31, 2013 08:27 PM
CPU Temp When Folding huntermaclean Distributed Computing 5 Mar 4, 2013 07:12 PM
It's not about hardware. It's about software that runs hardware. stu00a iPad 7 Oct 24, 2012 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC