Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2013, 09:41 PM   #1
jbigwood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Question Linux bypass the password?

when i try to install something, it always askes for a password

is it possible to bypass this?
jbigwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 12:10 AM   #2
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
It's possible, depending on which distro you're using, but you shouldn't do it. Any time you make changes to your system, you need to input your password. That's why Linux (and *nix systems in general, including OS X) are so much more secure than Windows.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:15 PM   #3
jbigwood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooby Mcdoobie View Post
It's possible, depending on which distro you're using, but you shouldn't do it. Any time you make changes to your system, you need to input your password. That's why Linux (and *nix systems in general, including OS X) are so much more secure than Windows.
All i'm trying to do is install Itunes to linux
jbigwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 07:30 PM   #4
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbigwood View Post
All i'm trying to do is install Itunes to linux
Are you using WINE or similar to emulate a Windows environment? iTunes won't natively run in Linux.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:47 PM   #5
jbigwood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooby Mcdoobie View Post
Are you using WINE or similar to emulate a Windows environment? iTunes won't natively run in Linux.
no i need the admin password to install WINE.
jbigwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 08:17 PM   #6
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbigwood View Post
no i need the admin password to install WINE.
Is your account not an admin? (If you're the only user, you have administrative privileges.)
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:20 AM   #7
drhigh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Unless you are on the root account, it will ask for a password. This is an important security feature and you should never be on root for regular use.
drhigh is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC