Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:05 PM   #1
aoitsukinosuke
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Is there a "find and delete (not replace)" option in Word?

The title pretty much says it all.

I am using Word for Mac 2011 and use the "Find and Replace" command all the time.

However, I need Word to find an array of repetitive phrases and simply delete them. Is this possible or just wishful thinking?

TIA.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:16 PM   #2
Oldmanmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I've done that in the past by leaving a space in the 'replace' field. Don't know if that would work for you tho'.
Oldmanmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 05:22 PM   #3
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldmanmac View Post
I've done that in the past by leaving a space in the 'replace' field. Don't know if that would work for you tho'.
I do that from time to time for other things, either a space or a dot.

I should have expressed myself better. I copy forum threads related to my line of work from Firefox to Word.
There are phrases like "Leave a comment" and they take up a line by themselves. After every reply in the thread, there is this phrase and I end up hundreds of lines with only this phrase. That's what I'm trying to delete. The phrase and the unnecessary line space it takes.

If I replace them with something, anything, the line still stays there.
Hope I've made myself clearer this time.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 06:47 PM   #4
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
It sounds like you are using the wrong tool. You need to remove carriage returns which is difficult to do using a word processor like Word. Yours is a job for a text editor like the free Text Wrangler.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2013, 07:15 PM   #5
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
You can use ^p to find a paragraph ending, or ^l for a line ending. So, to remove line feeds you would search for ^l and replace with , that is, replace with nothing. That function has been in MS Word since the DOS versions in the early 1990s. You'll have to experiment to find the best use of these for your requirements.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:52 AM   #6
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
It sounds like you are using the wrong tool. You need to remove carriage returns which is difficult to do using a word processor like Word. Yours is a job for a text editor like the free Text Wrangler.
MisterMe - Thanks for the suggestion. I got Text Wrangler and played with it for a while with no end result. It's definitely me being in unfamiliar territory, but I gave up in the end.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drambuie View Post
You can use ^p to find a paragraph ending, or ^l for a line ending. So, to remove line feeds you would search for ^l and replace with , that is, replace with nothing. That function has been in MS Word since the DOS versions in the early 1990s. You'll have to experiment to find the best use of these for your requirements.
drambuie - Thank you, but that's not what I'm looking for .
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:56 AM   #7
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
MisterMe - Thanks for the suggestion. I got Text Wrangler and played with it for a while with no end result. It's definitely me being in unfamiliar territory, but I gave up in the end.



drambuie - Thank you, but that's not what I'm looking for .
I'm wondering if this could be done with a Macro? It's been years since I used Word that seriously, but I will try later on.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:57 AM   #8
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
I'm wondering if this could be done with a Macro? It's been years since I used Word that seriously, but I will try later on.
Oh man. I'd be so grateful. I'll be looking forward to it. TIA.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:00 AM   #9
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
Oh man. I'd be so grateful. I'll be looking forward to it. TIA.
Take a look here..It seems we are on the right track...I don't have Word on this MBA, but do on my iMac and MBP...Have a try yourself:
http://word.mvps.org/mac/installmacro.html
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:15 AM   #10
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Hmm, I can make it work on a per document basis, but can't remember the correct term for "Global" application of a Macro.

The way you record them without actually coding is to press the record button, then perform the actions you want to achieve, then stop the recording an save the macro with an appropriate file name for use on the documents you want.

But at the moment, I'm stuck.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:31 AM   #11
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Hmm, I can make it work on a per document basis, but can't remember the correct term for "Global" application of a Macro.

The way you record them without actually coding is to press the record button, then perform the actions you want to achieve, then stop the recording an save the macro with an appropriate file name for use on the documents you want.

But at the moment, I'm stuck.
MacMan45 - Thanks for your time.

I went to your link and then clicked "Creating a macro with no programming experience using the recorder" which gave me the exact instructions as yours.

Being a complete stranger to macros, I'll fiddle around between work and see if I can do something.

If I do, I'll post it here. If not, I'll wait for you.

Thanks again. You're cool.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 02:55 AM   #12
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
The title pretty much says it all.

I am using Word for Mac 2011 and use the "Find and Replace" command all the time.

However, I need Word to find an array of repetitive phrases and simply delete them. Is this possible or just wishful thinking?

TIA.
Just use textedit...
Thessman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:11 AM   #13
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thessman View Post
Just use textedit...
Thessman - To do??? What can I do with Textedit that I can't do with Word?

I want to simply perform a Find & Delete, instead of Find & Replace.
Does Textedit have that capability? If yes, I'd appreciate it if you could direct me.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:38 AM   #14
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Maybe I didn't make my suggestion clear enough. Find and Replace is functionally identical to Find and Delete if you enter nothing into the Replace field. Everything that matches the Find criteria will disappear. If a complete line is to be deleted, and you end the Find criteria with ^l (caret+lower case L), that entire line and the space it occupies will disappear, and the rest of the document will move up one line. If you're going to end up with unneeded double spaces, enter ^l twice at the end of the Find phrase.
drambuie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:02 AM   #15
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by drambuie View Post
Maybe I didn't make my suggestion clear enough. Find and Replace is functionally identical to Find and Delete if you enter nothing into the Replace field. Everything that matches the Find criteria will disappear. If a complete line is to be deleted, and you end the Find criteria with ^l (caret+lower case L), that entire line and the space it occupies will disappear, and the rest of the document will move up one line. If you're going to end up with unneeded double spaces, enter ^l twice at the end of the Find phrase.
drambuie - Thank you. I followed yr advice and got halfway thru.

Please bear with me.
I'm trying to delete "Share" along with the line it occupies. (as you put it correctly)
I went to Edit>Find>Replace.
When I enter "share" in Find and leave Replace blank, it deletes "share" but leaves a blank line there.

But, I can't get the deleting line part to work.
If I enter "share^l" in Find, nothing happens. If I enter "share" in Find and enter "^l" in Replace, still the word is gone but the empty line is there.

Where am I going wrong?
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:20 AM   #16
MacCruiskeen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
drambuie - Thank you. I followed yr advice and got halfway thru.

Please bear with me.
I'm trying to delete "Share" along with the line it occupies. (as you put it correctly)
I went to Edit>Find>Replace.
When I enter "share" in Find and leave Replace blank, it deletes "share" but leaves a blank line there.

But, I can't get the deleting line part to work.
If I enter "share^l" in Find, nothing happens. If I enter "share" in Find and enter "^l" in Replace, still the word is gone but the empty line is there.

Where am I going wrong?
I make a guess (without seeing what you are doing) that Word is not getting that the characters you are typing are meant to be interpreted. In the F/R dialog box, click on the "more" button to see the search options, then use the "special" button to enter the symbol you want to look for--line or paragraph break.
MacCruiskeen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:24 AM   #17
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
Thessman - To do??? What can I do with Textedit that I can't do with Word?

I want to simply perform a Find & Delete, instead of Find & Replace.
Does Textedit have that capability? If yes, I'd appreciate it if you could direct me.
Open a copy of your file in textedit, press alt cmd f, enter your search criteria in the "find" field ( you can insert line breaks etc. by clicking on the little arrow beside the magnifying glass in the "Find" field ) and leave the replace field empty. Press the "all" button and you're done.
Thessman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 10:57 AM   #18
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
MacCruiskeen - I inserted ^ as a special character instead of typing. Not a change.

FYI - My Word 2011 doesn't have a More option or a special button.

Thessman - What you suggest only deletes the word, not the line itself and we've already covered that with drambuie. Thanks for your time.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:22 PM   #19
rbrian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
In TextWrangler, Search->Find... Enter "\r" to search for carriage returns, and replace with " ", without the quotes. I just tried it, and it works.
__________________
2011 11" Air i5 1.6/4/128; 2011 Mac mini; iPad mini retina 128GB; iPhone 5s 64GB; Apple TV3
rbrian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 12:49 PM   #20
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbrian View Post
In TextWrangler, Search->Find... Enter "\r" to search for carriage returns, and replace with " ", without the quotes. I just tried it, and it works.
rbrian - I wrestled with TextWrangler following MisterMe's post. Not my cup of tea.
Thanks for the suggestion.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:00 PM   #21
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
MacCruiskeen - I inserted ^ as a special character instead of typing. Not a change.

FYI - My Word 2011 doesn't have a More option or a special button.

Thessman - What you suggest only deletes the word, not the line itself and we've already covered that with drambuie. Thanks for your time.
Just copy the whole line with the word and the line break and paste it in the find field. Works for me anyway...
Thessman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:07 PM   #22
aoitsukinosuke
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thessman View Post
Just copy the whole line with the word and the line break and paste it in the find field. Works for me anyway...
Line break?

Is this what you mean? "Share ^l"

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCruiskeen View Post
I make a guess (without seeing what you are doing) that Word is not getting that the characters you are typing are meant to be interpreted. In the F/R dialog box, click on the "more" button to see the search options, then use the "special" button to enter the symbol you want to look for--line or paragraph break.
I found it.
Edit>Find>Advanced Find and Replace

But doesn't work as you thought it would.
Boy, all this help from you nice people and I can't seem to get it going.
aoitsukinosuke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 06:43 PM   #23
MacCruiskeen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post

FYI - My Word 2011 doesn't have a More option or a special button.
Sorry--my own copy is several versions old. I switched to openoffice long ago.
MacCruiskeen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 09:58 PM   #24
lucidmedia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
rbrian - I wrestled with TextWrangler following MisterMe's post. Not my cup of tea.
Thanks for the suggestion.
TextWrangler's manual has an entire chapter on GREP that will show you how to write regular expressions to find and manipulate just about anything. There are third party add-ons that extend word to support regex as well, but not free ones as far as I know.
lucidmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 12:47 AM   #25
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by aoitsukinosuke View Post
I found it.
Edit>Find>Advanced Find and Replace

But doesn't work as you thought it would.
Boy, all this help from you nice people and I can't seem to get it going.
Turn on the mode (Show all non printing characters), so your document shows all the hidden characters as a symbol, like space and return. Then it is easier to highlight and copy them into the Advanced Replace window. Just leave the "Replace with" field blank to delete, don't put a space in there or anything, just blank. I've been doing this in Word and Excel since the early 90s, almost daily. If you do this enough, you'll get used to how it works and you won't need the mode, anymore.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: need to disable "move/delete apps" option rhrony iOS 6 2 Sep 9, 2013 06:36 PM
Can find "DELETE" option on new iTunes WolverineKS iOS 6 1 Dec 15, 2012 12:51 AM
Word: Recent File "Word is unable to find the document" brentonchina Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 13, 2012 02:56 AM
Leak - Preorder Option to Enable "Find My Iphone" nostresshere iPhone 6 Sep 7, 2012 11:05 AM
DP4: "Find" option grayed out in Notes documents Krazy Bill OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 14, 2012 10:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC