Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2013, 01:56 PM   #1
taaland
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Automator Help

Hey everyone,

I have been reading a lot on here and learned a lot, being an Apple newbie. The one thing I am struggling to figure out is this. A while ago I was monkeying around with Automator, and I saved a workflow. Whenever I save anything on my desktop, it opens a new window to convert it to a JPG, or something along those lines. I am wondering how I can either disable or preferably delete this workflow so it doesn't do that anymore. I have read a few different ways but can't seem to get it. Thanks in advance.

taaland
taaland is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 03:50 PM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by taaland View Post
Hey everyone,

I have been reading a lot on here and learned a lot, being an Apple newbie. The one thing I am struggling to figure out is this. A while ago I was monkeying around with Automator, and I saved a workflow. Whenever I save anything on my desktop, it opens a new window to convert it to a JPG, or something along those lines. I am wondering how I can either disable or preferably delete this workflow so it doesn't do that anymore. I have read a few different ways but can't seem to get it. Thanks in advance.

taaland
It sounds like you made an Automator "Folder Action" attached to the Desktop folder.

Try this... click the Desktop to bring focus to the Finder, then hit shift-command-g (all three keys at once). Paste the below path into the popup box and hit enter. You should see the action you made in that folder. Just drag it to the trash.

You might need to logout and back in to make it stop running.

Code:
~/Library/Workflows/Applications/Folder Actions
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:28 PM   #3
taaland
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks so much, that worked. Still new to this Mac stuff, I really appreciate the help.
taaland is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automator sandyloo65 Mac Basics and Help 0 May 30, 2014 05:48 PM
Automator ? BigPerm310 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 12, 2014 10:59 PM
Help with Automator rei101 Mac Programming 7 Apr 4, 2014 12:58 PM
Using Automator to play audio file from within Automator made application? nobodyhome OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jan 14, 2014 03:23 PM
Automator help Ryzaminnelli Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jan 16, 2013 06:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC