Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:08 AM   #1
pacman1176
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Help, my Control key maps to my Command key

tl;dr I can't figure out how to set my control key to its default usage- it's being modified by some setting/secondary program unbeknownst to me to operate like the command key.

Hi, I've inherited a macbook air from a buddy (10.7) about a year ago, and he still has his old settings on it. I've recently found that the control button maps to the command key, rendering the control feature unusable. I would have discovered this earlier, but I didn't know how the control key was supposed to operate, so I was unaware that it was operating incorrectly. I've done a bunch of poking around to try to revert this, but I'm relatively new to mac (love it by the way).

Things I've tried include:
  • finding this menu:

    (and, the 'Ctrl maps to Command' checkbox WAS checked, unchecked it).
  • finding this menu:

    (my settings are the 'default', not as shown here..just snagged this off the interwebs)

I'm relatively sure that my buddy downloaded some secondary software to enable this mapping, I just don't know what to look for or if I'm missing anything else in the original mac settings. It's been awhile since he's used this laptop, and he doesn't remember. If it leads any hints, the caps lock key has been mapped to the escape (which I'm totally cool with).

I'd much appreciate all the help you mac geniuses can offer a new guy to the mac world.
pacman1176 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:15 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Uninstall Doublecommand and your key Maps will most likely be reset.

It install a kernel extension so if that is uninstalled I guess the keymaps are also reset.

If you do a search on Google with Doublecommand you'll find some answers there, I'll look for you too in the mean time.

http://doublecommand.sourceforge.net/

Edit:

Quote:
Removing DoubleCommand

To remove DoubleCommand from your machine, open the Terminal and paste in the following: /Library/StartupItems/DoubleCommand/uninstall.command

Last edited by justperry; Jan 22, 2013 at 09:25 AM. Reason: Typo
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:37 PM   #3
pacman1176
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Worked like a charm, thanks!
pacman1176 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC