Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 20, 2013, 05:57 PM   #1
snerkler
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Another Logic and Nord keyboard/piano question?

Hi,

I have a few questions regarding he Nord Piano 88 and Logic Pro and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Is it possible to export a MIDI track from logic pro to play back through the Nord Piano? If so how?

2) When using the Nord as a MIDI keyboard in Logic can I use the sounds/samples from the Nord Piano and record these (as midi and not just as a 'live' instrument? If so how?

3) If the answer to question 3 is yes, can I use the Nord sounds in Logic when the Nord is offline/not connected? Or at least if I've recorded a MIDI track using the logic keyboard and using the Nord sounds can I manipulate these recorded MIDI events when the Nord is offline or do I always need the Nord connected in order to get the sounds?

Cheers.
snerkler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 08:48 AM   #2
spectorga
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hi,
I'll take a shot at answering your questions because I had to get these answered myself. See inline comments.
Quote:
Originally Posted by snerkler View Post
Hi,

I have a few questions regarding he Nord Piano 88 and Logic Pro and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Is it possible to export a MIDI track from logic pro to play back through the Nord Piano? If so how? I believe so, though I'm not sure 'export' is the correct phase. You can set a midi track as an external device to play the Nord. The midi track must have the midi notes on it and tell Logic to play those notes on the Nord. Check out 'sflogicninja' on Youtube. He has many great tutorials about this stuff.

2) When using the Nord as a MIDI keyboard in Logic can I use the sounds/samples from the Nord Piano and record these (as midi and not just as a 'live' instrument? If so how? No, I don't think so. The keyboard is acting as a controller. If you want the Nord sounds, you have to record it as an audio track. I have to use the same procedure with my Casio PX-330.

3) If the answer to question 3 is yes, can I use the Nord sounds in Logic when the Nord is offline/not connected? Or at least if I've recorded a MIDI track using the logic keyboard and using the Nord sounds can I manipulate these recorded MIDI events when the Nord is offline or do I always need the Nord connected in order to get the sounds?If the keyboard is not connected, I'm not sure how Logic would ever 'see' it. Keep in mind that Logic is 'controlling the Nord and its sounds. Think of this. "Can I use my hair dryer if its not plugged in?" Probably not.

Cheers.
spectorga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 09:02 AM   #3
snerkler
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectorga View Post
Hi,
I'll take a shot at answering your questions because I had to get these answered myself. See inline comments.
Thanks for the reply, some useful info. I have set my Nord up as an external device and put midi events onto that track, but nothing played through the nord. I'll check that guy out on youtube, thanks. I did check a video out regarding this, followed it step by step and all I got was high frequency feedback

I'l keep trying
snerkler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2013, 07:54 PM   #4
spectorga
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by snerkler View Post
Thanks for the reply, some useful info. I have set my Nord up as an external device and put midi events onto that track, but nothing played through the nord. I'll check that guy out on youtube, thanks. I did check a video out regarding this, followed it step by step and all I got was high frequency feedback

I'l keep trying
Check out this link on Youtube. It will explain it and a bunch more.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iS_YS-waARU

In short, select your external midi track and make sure the Nord is selected in the port in the Inspector window. You can see how my Casio is selected here. Hope this helps.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by spectorga; Jan 22, 2013 at 08:00 PM.
spectorga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 03:29 AM   #5
snerkler
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectorga View Post
Check out this link on Youtube. It will explain it and a bunch more.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iS_YS-waARU

In short, select your external midi track and make sure the Nord is selected in the port in the Inspector window. You can see how my Casio is selected here. Hope this helps.
Thanks again, I'll check this out later and see how I get on. Will post back when I've had chance to give it a go.
snerkler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:03 PM   #6
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by snerkler View Post
Hi,

I have a few questions regarding he Nord Piano 88 and Logic Pro and any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Is it possible to export a MIDI track from logic pro to play back through the Nord Piano? If so how?

2) When using the Nord as a MIDI keyboard in Logic can I use the sounds/samples from the Nord Piano and record these (as midi and not just as a 'live' instrument? If so how?

3) If the answer to question 3 is yes, can I use the Nord sounds in Logic when the Nord is offline/not connected? Or at least if I've recorded a MIDI track using the logic keyboard and using the Nord sounds can I manipulate these recorded MIDI events when the Nord is offline or do I always need the Nord connected in order to get the sounds?

Cheers.
There actually is a way to use the Nord sounds in logic when the Nord is unplugged. But it is a LOT of work. What you do is sample the Nord. You record each key just like sampling a grand piano then you place all those samples into ESX24 in Logic.

I've seen software that will send a MIDI note and then record the audio. So you don't need to play each key this process can by automated. The end result is thousands of WAV files severe for each key plu peddle up and peddle down. Then it is all loaded into ESX24. This trick is best used on analog synths that you need to sample.

Or,... You remember the Nord uses Sampletekk sounds. so you buy a library from http://www.sampletekk.com. Actually the sounds in the library are better as I doun't think Nord uses the full set
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:16 PM   #7
snerkler
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
There actually is a way to use the Nord sounds in logic when the Nord is unplugged. But it is a LOT of work. What you do is sample the Nord. You record each key just like sampling a grand piano then you place all those samples into ESX24 in Logic.

I've seen software that will send a MIDI note and then record the audio. So you don't need to play each key this process can by automated. The end result is thousands of WAV files severe for each key plu peddle up and peddle down. Then it is all loaded into ESX24. This trick is best used on analog synths that you need to sample.

Or,... You remember the Nord uses Sampletekk sounds. so you buy a library from http://www.sampletekk.com. Actually the sounds in the library are better as I doun't think Nord uses the full set
Thanks for this. I didn't realise that Nord used sampletekk, I'll have to have a look at these. I believe Nord does use the full set, if you choose to. For each piano sound you can have full sampling (each key has it's own samples) or varying degrees of block sampling. The reason for the block sampling is that it takes up less memory and so you can have more instruments stored. I have full sampling

Edit: Do you know any programs that can send the midi then record audio, I wouldn't know where to start looking?

Last edited by snerkler; Jan 23, 2013 at 01:44 PM.
snerkler is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard or logic board problem? HELP! :( stellargirl MacBook Pro 2 Sep 6, 2013 08:32 AM
USB Piano keyboard and young child drew.sanderson Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Apr 3, 2013 05:31 PM
I want a full virtual piano keyboard XPcentric Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 7, 2013 11:46 AM
Piano sounds query for Logic Pro 9 snerkler Digital Audio 4 Dec 23, 2012 05:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC