Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:16 AM   #251
Towelie1288
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
just a heads up for people that wanna play civ 5 on the new imac late 2012 27" with 680mx i got an email from aspyr and its official civ 5 doesnt support the 680mx yet will update soon ----gave no timeframe
Towelie1288 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:36 AM   #252
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towelie1288 View Post
just a heads up for people that wanna play civ 5 on the new imac late 2012 27" with 680mx i got an email from aspyr and its official civ 5 doesnt support the 680mx yet will update soon ----gave no timeframe
Curious.... did you by any chance download your Civ5 from the Apple Mac App Store? Or was it from the Steam version? (there are differences between the two)
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:47 AM   #253
Towelie1288
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Curious.... did you by any chance download your Civ5 from the Apple Mac App Store? Or was it from the Steam version? (there are differences between the two)
i got it from steam with all expansions packs for like 15 bucks its was a great deal
Towelie1288 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:52 PM   #254
Jindra12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Curious.... did you by any chance download your Civ5 from the Apple Mac App Store? Or was it from the Steam version? (there are differences between the two)
I got it from iTune.
Jindra12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:31 PM   #255
Foxer
macrumors 65816
 
Foxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
I have a new iMac i7 with the better GPU. This replaced a 2011 iMac that was also max-ed out.

CIV V plays better on the new machine with graphic options set to the mid-range. On the old machine, I could count on the terrain become a red and white checkerboard after the game got to about the mid-point, and progressively worse as I went on. It still did this on the new machine, but to nowhere near the same extent.

I have both the Steam and Apple store versions, and had the same issues with both. (I bought the App Store version when it came out, hoping that it would resolve the problem, in fact. Obviously, it didn't.)

That said, the game is still very playable IMO on an iMac. And, as was said above, there is always the dreaded Boot Camp option.

Now if I could only find Civ 2 somewhere for OS X.
__________________
Luck is the residue of design. - Branch Rickey

"I'll buy almost anything if it is shiny and made by Apple."
Foxer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 02:11 PM   #256
Towelie1288
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxer View Post
I have a new iMac i7 with the better GPU. This replaced a 2011 iMac that was also max-ed out.

CIV V plays better on the new machine with graphic options set to the mid-range. On the old machine, I could count on the terrain become a red and white checkerboard after the game got to about the mid-point, and progressively worse as I went on. It still did this on the new machine, but to nowhere near the same extent.

I have both the Steam and Apple store versions, and had the same issues with both. (I bought the App Store version when it came out, hoping that it would resolve the problem, in fact. Obviously, it didn't.)

That said, the game is still very playable IMO on an iMac. And, as was said above, there is always the dreaded Boot Camp option.

Now if I could only find Civ 2 somewhere for OS X.


i understand what you mean but the issue isn't with the iMac , its the grapic card Civ 5 doesnt support the new 680MX on the new iMac in max settings and it sucks cause it crashes more often now
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4GHz i7, 8GB, 1TB Fusion, 680MX iPhone 5 32GB iPad 3rd generation 32GB Wi-Fi Tv 3rd generation iPod Classic 80GB Airport Express

Last edited by Towelie1288; Jan 18, 2013 at 02:18 PM.
Towelie1288 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:00 PM   #257
Jindra12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxer View Post
I have a new iMac i7 with the better GPU. This replaced a 2011 iMac that was also max-ed out.

CIV V plays better on the new machine with graphic options set to the mid-range. On the old machine, I could count on the terrain become a red and white checkerboard after the game got to about the mid-point, and progressively worse as I went on. It still did this on the new machine, but to nowhere near the same extent.

I have both the Steam and Apple store versions, and had the same issues with both. (I bought the App Store version when it came out, hoping that it would resolve the problem, in fact. Obviously, it didn't.)

That said, the game is still very playable IMO on an iMac. And, as was said above, there is always the dreaded Boot Camp option.

Now if I could only find Civ 2 somewhere for OS X.
Yeah I have same experience as the above said. I couldn't play CIV IV after I played CIV V for few days. I'm hooked to CIV V's features and artworks. I like CIV IV for quick turns.
Jindra12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Civilization 5 GreyMatter22 MacBook Air 1 Feb 19, 2014 12:49 AM
Civilization 5 Glockron MacBook Air 13 Aug 11, 2012 06:20 PM
Civilization V MBA jmfel1926 MacBook Air 3 Aug 11, 2012 06:53 AM
Civilization V vs. Steam Bug-Creator Mac and PC Games 10 Jun 9, 2012 03:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC