Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:56 PM   #1
3starNsun
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: japan
Parallels desktop 8 for Mac help

hi, im a new member here i just wanna ask about paralells desktop 8 for mac, coz there is a windows pc game that i wanna play on my mac. now my question is do i need windows os to install it to paralells desktop 8 or not.? if there is a tutorial about how to use paralells desktop 8 for mac it will help me a lot ) thank you and please help
3starNsun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 05:51 PM   #2
jrs22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
You need to purchase a copy of Windows to use with Parallels or boot camp. It can't be an upgrade version, it has to be a full install, with a product key. The Parallels web site has a lot of support information.

http://www.parallels.com/
jrs22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 06:00 PM   #3
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
To be honest if it is a 3D graphical PC game that you want to play, then you will be better off going the Bootcamp route and booting directly into Windows. A virtual machine (VM) like parallels will slow down the 3D frame rate. Also the Mac's memory will get split between the VM and you Mac. Like Parallels you will need a fully copy of Windows.
__________________
Productivity Orchard Be more productive with your Mac
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 09:11 PM   #4
3starNsun
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: japan
thank you mr.james for your advice i purchase the paralell desktop 8 already and now like you said i need a windows os.,so im going to buy it right now not the upgrade one and also i heard the word bootcamp,honestly speaking i dont know how to do it in my imac if there is a tutorial maybe i try. the windows pc games i wanna play are not 3D maybe you know this games , Sniper Ghost Warrior,Battle Field 2,Medal of Honor
3starNsun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:43 PM   #5
3starNsun
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: japan
thank you too mr. jrs22
3starNsun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 09:05 AM   #6
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3starNsun View Post
thank you mr.james for your advice i purchase the paralell desktop 8 already and now like you said i need a windows os.,so im going to buy it right now not the upgrade one and also i heard the word bootcamp,honestly speaking i dont know how to do it in my imac if there is a tutorial maybe i try. the windows pc games i wanna play are not 3D maybe you know this games , Sniper Ghost Warrior,Battle Field 2,Medal of Honor
Hi Mr 3StarNsun, all of the games that you have listed are first person perspective games using 3D graphic environments and are not going to run well under a virtual machine like Parallels. These are the types of games you should really run directly in Windows, by using Bootcamp. Use this Apple Article to get you set up with Bootcamp.
__________________
Productivity Orchard Be more productive with your Mac
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 01:06 PM   #7
mongohumor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Update Windows XP Pro within Parallels won't work...

I downloaded a trial version of parallels 8 and everything went well except for while trying to get updates for Windows XP Pro, I get this message:

"Your computer's date and time appear to be out of sync with an update certificate"

Tried the 'fix' with no success. Changed time zone and that didn't work. Can't ask Parallels support because I didn't buy the product yet. Under the 17 day trial. Not good.

Bryan.
mongohumor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 02:23 PM   #8
James Craner
macrumors 68000
 
James Craner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Your problem is not with Parallels, but Windows, as Microsoft has stopped supporting Windows XP. You have to manually download the latest service pack from Microsoft's website to get the autoupdates working again. At least that is what I needed to do when I reinstalled XP a couple of weeks ago.
__________________
Productivity Orchard Be more productive with your Mac
James Craner is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Retail Stores to Encourage Mac Business Usage with Parallels Desktop, Parallels 9 Pre-Orders Begin Popping Up MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 132 Nov 13, 2013 05:48 PM
Parallels Desktop 7 for MAC -- Costs??? slstein Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jun 27, 2012 04:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC