Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 26, 2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Mikey86uk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
iPhone 4S WiFi problem

Hi Guys

i have a 32GB iPhone 4S which has just gone out of warranty (About 2 weeks ago)

It started to feel sluggish and i had so much rubbish on there i decided to restore the phone and set it up as new a new iPhone.

Worked fine added my WiFi settings and the apps,music i wanted and it felt snappy again.

then i noticed that overtime i come home, it wasn't automatically connecting to the WiFi? Also if im home it stays connected for a few hours or so then loses the WiFi connection and i have to enter my password to reconnect again!

Also tried another restore but that didnt do anything either

Any other fixes? my iPad seems fine on the WiFi, and same goes for my girlfriends iPhone/iPad.

Many Thanks!
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 04:48 PM   #2
PNutts
macrumors 601
 
PNutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Even with the other devices seeming OK, when was the last time you power cycled your router? When things get flakey for me I reboot the router and phone.
PNutts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 06:51 AM   #3
Mikey86uk
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNutts View Post
Even with the other devices seeming OK, when was the last time you power cycled your router? When things get flakey for me I reboot the router and phone.
Thanks, tried this and it didnt work.
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 03:09 PM   #4
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Do you have "connect to wi-fi networks" on yes? This is on no as the default in iOS 6.

If so, the next time you wake your phone up, if you are not on wi-fi, try and open a web page in safari and you will get the "connect to your network" box to pop up. Do this and you should never have the problem again.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:21 PM   #5
Mikey86uk
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
Do you have "connect to wi-fi networks" on yes? This is on no as the default in iOS 6.

If so, the next time you wake your phone up, if you are not on wi-fi, try and open a web page in safari and you will get the "connect to your network" box to pop up. Do this and you should never have the problem again.
Thanks for the reply.

I cant seem to find the "Connect to WiFi networks option"

Under the WiFi settings i do have "Ask to join networks and that one is switched off, so i presume you mean that one?

Why do Apple feel the need to play around with WiFi settings is beyond me though.
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:50 PM   #6
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey86uk View Post
Under the WiFi settings i do have "Ask to join networks and that one is switched off, so i presume you mean that one?

Why do Apple feel the need to play around with WiFi settings is beyond me though.
Yes, that's the one. Sorry, I was just going by memory and wasn't actually looking at the phone.

Just change that to yes and follow the instructions that I gave you earlier and you shouldn't have the problem anymore.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:56 PM   #7
ohalixrose
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
If it's still under warranty and you have an Apple store nearby, I would take it to them. They can run diag. on it and replace the phone if it fails (it's a good idea to have it backed up to iTunes/iCloud before you go in). If it's out of warranty, Apple/Apple's authorized service centers can replace it for $199.

It's interesting to me that you didn't have issues until you did the restore.. Did it update iOS? Also, did you erase all content and settings from the phone's menu, plug into iTunes and select restore, or did you put the phone into recovery mode prior to?


Edit: Also, switching Ask to join networks to yes will do nothing but prompt you to connect, if you're wanting it to automatically connect up like it should, keep that switched to off.
ohalixrose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 12:58 PM   #8
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rearranging deck chairs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey86uk View Post
Hi Guys

Any other fixes? my iPad seems fine on the WiFi, and same goes for my girlfriends iPhone/iPad.

Many Thanks!
Have you tried deleting all the network settings and re-entering from scratch? When the usual suspects aren't the cause, sometimes it's easier to go clean-slate than spend hours tracking down some obscure little conflict.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 01:55 PM   #9
Mikey86uk
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohalixrose View Post
If it's still under warranty and you have an Apple store nearby, I would take it to them. They can run diag. on it and replace the phone if it fails (it's a good idea to have it backed up to iTunes/iCloud before you go in). If it's out of warranty, Apple/Apple's authorized service centers can replace it for $199.

It's interesting to me that you didn't have issues until you did the restore.. Did it update iOS? Also, did you erase all content and settings from the phone's menu, plug into iTunes and select restore, or did you put the phone into recovery mode prior to?


Edit: Also, switching Ask to join networks to yes will do nothing but prompt you to connect, if you're wanting it to automatically connect up like it should, keep that switched to off.
Its out of warranty, and i restored iPhone and set it up as a "New iPhone" and it already had the latest version of iOS before and after the restore.

Just updated to 6.1 so hopefully that will fix the problem.

Also, i did reset network settings, that didnt seem to work either.
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 05:49 PM   #10
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey86uk View Post
Its out of warranty, and i restored iPhone and set it up as a "New iPhone" and it already had the latest version of iOS before and after the restore.

Just updated to 6.1 so hopefully that will fix the problem.

Also, i did reset network settings, that didnt seem to work either.
Just do what I told you to do and it will fix it. Don't worry about the other stuff.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:44 PM   #11
Mikey86uk
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyx3x View Post
Just do what I told you to do and it will fix it. Don't worry about the other stuff.
Just tried that and turned my phone off and back on, and it seems to be working at the moment.

6.1 didnt fix it by the way
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:40 AM   #12
Mikey86uk
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey86uk View Post
Just tried that and turned my phone off and back on, and it seems to be working at the moment.

6.1 didnt fix it by the way
Ok it seems to work, as its reconnected to my home network as i walked threw the door, but its annoying that everytime i open an app at work etc, i keep getting asked to connect to a wifi network.

Is this really the only fix?
Mikey86uk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:22 PM   #13
andyx3x
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey86uk View Post
Ok it seems to work, as its reconnected to my home network as i walked threw the door, but its annoying that everytime i open an app at work etc, i keep getting asked to connect to a wifi network.

Is this really the only fix?
Just do the process that I told you earlier at work and you won't have the problem anymore.

You have always had to connect to a new wifi network at least once so your phone will remember it. It's always been this way.
andyx3x is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC