Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:02 PM   #1
dcjose20
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
How to transfer an existing hdd from one macbook to another macbook

HI, I purchased a late 2008 macbook unibody (silver) and also have a 2006 macbook. I upgraded the hdd on the 2006 macbook and also partitioned the harddrive and installed windows on it using boot camp. My question is this, is it possible to just swap the hdd out and have it work? Im pretty sure it might not be so my next question would be if there is a way I can copy the whole image on the hdd so that when I install it on my unibody macbook I can just restore? I hope my making sense here, I just dont want to go through the pain of having to reinstall everything. Thanks for the help.
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:04 PM   #2
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
You want to transfer the HDD in the 2006 MacBook into the unibody model? Not possible since there will be driver issues. Not to mention other software problems that will arise due to the sudden hardware change.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:09 PM   #3
dcjose20
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
You want to transfer the HDD in the 2006 MacBook into the unibody model? Not possible since there will be driver issues. Not to mention other software problems that will arise due to the sudden hardware change.
Yes, I was afraid that would be the case. So im stuck having to reinstall everything then? Oh well. My biggest concern was finding another copy of windows I could use thats why I was asking. Also, I am planning on upgrading the memory to 8gb since ive read on other threads here that it is possible. Will snow leopard recognize the full 8gb?
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:13 PM   #4
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcjose20 View Post
Yes, I was afraid that would be the case. So im stuck having to reinstall everything then? Oh well. My biggest concern was finding another copy of windows I could use thats why I was asking. Also, I am planning on upgrading the memory to 8gb since ive read on other threads here that it is possible. Will snow leopard recognize the full 8gb?
Upgrading to 8GB is possible as long as your MacBook has the correct EFI Firmware update in place. What you could do is slave the drive and place it in the Optical Bay drive. That way you can recover files from it directly and faster. Not only that, but perhaps you can allow Windows to boot from it after having done the proper driver updates (these can be done via Safe Mode with Networking).
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:20 PM   #5
dcjose20
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Upgrading to 8GB is possible as long as your MacBook has the correct EFI Firmware update in place. What you could do is slave the drive and place it in the Optical Bay drive. That way you can recover files from it directly and faster. Not only that, but perhaps you can allow Windows to boot from it after having done the proper driver updates (these can be done via Safe Mode with Networking).
Sounds good but not quite sure how I would go about doing that exactly. I can prob get another copy of windows so its not that big of a deal. Also, if I plan on using the cd drive then there wouldnt me room to have the extra hdd correct?
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:22 PM   #6
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcjose20 View Post
Sounds good but not quite sure how I would go about doing that exactly. I can prob get another copy of windows so its not that big of a deal. Also, if I plan on using the cd drive then there wouldnt me room to have the extra hdd correct?
True, but the swaping out the optical drive is a decision that should be weighed depending on your needs.

If you can get another copy of Windows, then yes it makes sense to start from scratch.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:26 PM   #7
dcjose20
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
True, but the swaping out the optical drive is a decision that should be weighed depending on your needs.

If you can get another copy of Windows, then yes it makes sense to start from scratch.
True, thanks for the quick responses. One more question for you, I see you have the same model as me, is upgrading to mountain lion worth it?
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 07:48 PM   #8
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcjose20 View Post
True, thanks for the quick responses. One more question for you, I see you have the same model as me, is upgrading to mountain lion worth it?
Depends. My Mac is slow right now because the RAM i have is not enough for all I do plus system resources needed. However, I do plan on upgrading tho which will make things much smoother.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:21 PM   #9
dcjose20
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
Depends. My Mac is slow right now because the RAM i have is not enough for all I do plus system resources needed. However, I do plan on upgrading tho which will make things much smoother.
I think it should run fine with 8GB then. I just have to look for a good deal on ram.
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 08:32 PM   #10
dcjose20
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?it...82E16820148276

Is this the same as 1067 MHz ddr3?
__________________
13" Macbook, 2.4 GHz, 250GB HDD, 2GB RAM
Iphone 3GS 32GB
dcjose20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 07:32 AM   #11
lukarak
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
You want to transfer the HDD in the 2006 MacBook into the unibody model? Not possible since there will be driver issues. Not to mention other software problems that will arise due to the sudden hardware change.
???

You can change hard drives between any two Macs (provided they both support the OS in question). Hell, you can even for example take a 13'' MBP hard drive, clone it, install a bootloader on the cloned one and run a Hackintosh (the only thing you have to install are the drivers for stuff Apple doesn't support, like Hackintosh network cards or NVIDIA graphics). I have been changing hard drives between MB 3,1, MBP 5,5 and MBP 7,1 without issues for years.

The drivers are all present in System/Library/Extensions of every OS X installation, for all Apple supported hardware.
lukarak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone MacBook (not Pro) HDD to Mid 2012 MacBook Air Azzin MacBook Pro 11 Apr 29, 2014 12:53 PM
macbook pro A1286 doesn't recognize origional hdd, hdd is good. mattg889 MacBook Pro 9 Apr 12, 2013 07:45 PM
Mountain Lion external install from one MacBook then put HDD in another MacBook paradawx72 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Feb 12, 2013 09:26 PM
Cannot run MacBook PRO HDD on MacBook Retina stefanph OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Nov 30, 2012 09:44 PM
Transfer old macbook hard drive to newer macbook syer MacBook 5 Aug 14, 2012 01:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC